No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burlington Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
3 - 5 Earls Avenue , Folkestone, CT20 2HR
The Burlington Hotel is a 3 star hotel standing in its own grounds and set in Folkestone’s tranquil surroundings overlooking the English Channel. Built in the 1890’s, the hotel retains its Victorian charm whilst offering all the mod cons expected by today’s discerning traveller. Located at just a 10 minute walk from Folkestone’s town centre and 4 miles from the channel tunnel terminal, it is the ideal place to stay whether you are visiting for a short break or simply passing through. The hotel has 70 well-appointed guest rooms, some with panoramic views over the channel, with large flat screen freeview televisions with radio channels, hairdryers, telephones and tea & coffee making facilities. There is also free high-speed wifi and limited on-site car parking supplemented by on street parking with no restrictions.

The Bay Tree Grill focuses on seasonal and modern British fayre using locally and ethically sourced ingredients where possible, complimented by a comprehensive wine list and a range of after dinner liqueurs. The Martello Bar and its adjoining lounges offer fairtrade and organic hot beverages with a popular snack menu. In the evenings, the Bay Tree Bar is the ideal setting to sit back, unwind and enjoy from a selection of wines, beers or perhaps a glass of bubbly.

Folkestone has beautiful beaches, an award winning Coastal Park and picturesque green countryside’s which can be explored by car, bus, bike or on foot. The area boasts a unique heritage with Norman churches and castles at just a short drive, as well as family attractions such as Port Lympne Wild Animal Park and Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway and the creative quarter in the Old Town area of Folkestone, where local artists display their works.

Breakfast includes Continental and Full English and is charged at £10.95 pp.
Picture of Burlington Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Very pleasant experience, interesting building a short distance from sea front with adequate parking

Reviewed by
E Stewart

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
I was upgraded on arrival, which was nice. Wifi worked great and room had a bath. No sound disturbances and the sea is nearby.

Reviewed by
Shaun Attwood

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a Business Hotel
Hotel Car Park maybe holds 10 - 12 cars I would guess, needed to park on the road outside and had to search for a suitable space..
At check in was offered breakfast (on top of laterooms price) and accepted, but then found not served until 07:30 am., with a business meeting in town at 08:00 not much use, surely 07:00 would be far more appropriate for business clientele. OK, was offered continental breakfast, but not a great fan.
Room 111, possibly the smallest double room i've seen, good job on my own, two people would struggle to be in this room at the same time.
Positive side.... room was clean, tidy and comfortable bed.
No aircon, hot night, so had to sleep with open window, resulting in early wakening due to the seagulls noise.
Bathroom, despite running off gallons of water, there was no hot water for shaving or shower.
Complained at reception, on check out, with a derisory apology, but no suggestion to take a look and understand the reason for this. Assume next guest would have same problem.
Bar closed during the evening??????
Sorry guys, hugely falling short of a pleasurable stay, much improvement needed.
which has

Reviewed by
Mike L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth the money
the customer service was 100% from when we checked in early. the restaurant was fab the the service was 100% the manager worked the whole service and nothing was too much trouble. both rooms were of a high standard.

Reviewed by
Chris Barstow

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely food
Nice place to stay and the evening meal was really nice - would stay again!

Reviewed by
M Rutkowski

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good 3* grandiose Hotel
Upon arriving I had to park in the street outside the Hotel. Limited parking space, but no problem really as street spacious. Booked cheapest room, but was upgraded which made me feel welcome and really good. Double bed, just for me! Wifi worked and plenty of tea/coffee milk and sugar. Shower good and bathroom fine. Breakfast in the spacious dinning room was sufficient, but had to wait an unreasonable 20 minutes for 2 cooked eggs/kidneys and toast. Mushrooms were 'off' (not delivered that morning though I was asked if I wanted anything else. Declined. This 20 minute wait spoiled an otherwise enjoyable stay for one night, Pity!! I filled in a valuation sheet.

Reviewed by
John Stephenson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A dog friendly mini break.
Myself and my dog were made to feel very welcome. My room was clean and more than adequate for my stay. Being right next to the Leas was great for instant access to the beach and to lovely walks. I would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
jane w

From Birchington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable and clean room

Reviewed by
Nicola L

From St Albans, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was fairly small, but had everything we needed and was well decorated.

Reviewed by
M Gunner

From Weston super mare, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is full of old world charm the staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. We eat in the restaurant in the evening and I have to say the food was excellent. However, I do think breakfast could be improved it is self service which we liked. We came down 15 minutes after breakfast started and found the bacon a bit cold and so many fried eggs sitting for a long time on the hotplate most people chose to have scrambled eggs instead perhaps the chef should only cook 4 fried eggs at a time. Other than that we liked this hotel and will certainly stay again. The cost to stay here was cheaper than the Premier inn in the same area and this was better as we were near the beach as well and enjoyed our walk on the Leas.

Reviewed by
R Martin

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.