Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Mudford Hotels > The Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Main Street Yeovil, Yeovil, BA21 5TF
The Half Moon Inn and Country Lodge is pleasantly situated in the small village of Mudford just 2 miles from Yeovil and Penmill train station. The pub has been painstakingly and lovingly restored to the original rustic nature and surroundings of the 17th Century Inn, creating a special atmosphere. The Half Moon is one of 30 pubs in Somerset to feature in the 'Good Beer Guide' 05/06/07/08 and also the '06 'Good Food Guide'. Our characterful beamed bar has a good selection of real ales straight from the barrel, and a wide choice of wines and spirits. Our snack and main menus offer a wide variety of home cooked food, with fresh specials every day and traditional roast on Sunday. The Inn has a spacious cobbled courtyard with tables and chairs in the Spring and Summer months, and is ideal for relaxing and enjoying a long Summer's evening.
Picture of The Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great find.
We made a late decision to travel to Somerset to visit friends & decided to stay 2 nights in pub style accommodation so we could relax & enjoy a few drinks in the evenings. We hit it lucky with the Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge. The food was excellent, very large portions, good quality & very well cooked. The service was the best I have experienced of late. Once you place an order at the bar your place mats, cutlery & sauces arrive within a couple of minutes followed by the piping hot food within a very acceptable time. What I was impressed with was the way staff delivered your food with a smile on their face & then looked for any plates etc. they could clear on their way back. Also as soon as any table was vacated one of the staff spotted it & came along with the spray cleaner & a cloth so the table was immediately cleaned & ready for another customer to sit at.
Well done Half Moon, you have got your organization spot on.

Reviewed by
Terry B

From Denmead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would like cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
Paul Donarte

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff and Good food
Stayed for 2 nights, booked a single room and had a double en suite. Nice size room with a comfy bed. Had food on second night which was lovely. Bar staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay again when next working in Yeovil. Price could have included breakfast though.

Reviewed by
Peter Hodge

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed was extremely hard, my wife banged her head twice on the TV which was placed just above the dressing table.

Reviewed by
Tony E

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Friendly people, great food for a good price and a lovely, clean and tidy room. Great value for money!

Reviewed by
Andre H

From Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy accommodation.Friendly Staff.Good Value
Cooked Breakfast could be a good idea

Reviewed by
Ray Brewin

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, quiet with character.
Stayed for two nights. Both of which were a good comfortable night's sleep. I chose the smaller room but still plenty of space to work on my laptop and sit down with a cuppa.
I'm expecting more work in the same area and will book here again.

Reviewed by
zane h

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and service
Downside. Room was in a courtyard where smokers gathered. Tv wall mounted in way of mirror. Upsides great friendly staff good food. Definitely come back again

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Many thanks for the stay; nice location, very comfortable bed, very quiet, good with very friendly and helpful staff. See you again next time work brings me into the Yeovilton area Tony.

Reviewed by
darren h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation
Good price accommodation, very good food (too much, no room for the dessert I had eyed up), good cider. What more do you want?

Reviewed by
Ray H

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next