No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic venue for family get together

Reviewed by
Craig S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you Fairmont for a wonderful weekend
On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the reception staff at The Fairmont. A large, very comfortable room with sea views and great service from all members of staff. We traveled to St. Andrews by train therefore the hourly hotel courtesy bus to and from town was a great help where transport was concerned. We look forward to returning next time we are able to have a break.

Reviewed by
M Robertson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Nice hotel for a night or two, public areas starting to look a little tired and in need of refurbishment.
Our weather was lovely during our stay and some relaxed seating areas directly outside of the hotel would have been nice to take advantage of the sunshine.
Staff very professional and friendly, overall a good break.

Reviewed by
H Craig

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairmont St Andrews - perfect place.
We got a great welcome when we arrived and the friendly service was maintained over all 4 days. There was lots to praise and nothing to criticise.

Reviewed by
Cyril Scott

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last time we stayed at the Fairmont St Andrews, we dined in the restaurant in the Atrium and enjoyed it very much. This was not an option on this occasion and we found this very disappointing. The only options were bar snacks or the Italian Restaurant. A point to pass on to the Fairmont.

Reviewed by
B Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short holiday break
Accommodation excellent. really enjoyed the use of the pool and the friendliness of all the staff. Only reservation was the evening meal iwe had in the Italion restaurant where we had to wait alittle for our starter to arrive. However the quality was good. Really enjoyed the breakfast which was maybe the best hotel breakfast I have had. Highly recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Portadown, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room great, food and cleanliness not good at all
We stayed for 2 nights, the room was very nice and clean. I have to say the eating/drinking areas were very dirty, uncleaned tables dust on tables and furniture. The breakfast was lovely but the food within the restuarant wasent great.
We would think twice before going back.

Reviewed by
P Latham

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel very relaxing. Superb service.
Cant wait to stay again.

Reviewed by
Brenda S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at this hotel because we were looking for a night away at a hotel with spa facilities. The staff were helpful and welcoming at all times. The room was a good size - the bathroom was huge - and well appointed with a very comfortable bed and views over the surrounding countryside. The spa facilities were good, but the pool, jacuzzi and steam rooms were small for the size of the hotel and hence crowded. The spa staff were excellent and the massages we had are highly reccomended.
If you are looking for a subtle or boutique hotel, this is not for you; however, it ticks many boxes and has all the facilities you could need for an enjoyable, relaxing trip on the edge of a lovely town.

Reviewed by
I Ross

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Fairmont St Andrews
This has to be by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel is absolutely immaculate with not a thing out of place. The room was exceptional. The staff couldn't possibly be more helpful. And the grounds the hotel is on and the views are outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
G Wallace

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next