No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short holiday break
Accommodation excellent. really enjoyed the use of the pool and the friendliness of all the staff. Only reservation was the evening meal iwe had in the Italion restaurant where we had to wait alittle for our starter to arrive. However the quality was good. Really enjoyed the breakfast which was maybe the best hotel breakfast I have had. Highly recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Portadown, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room great, food and cleanliness not good at all
We stayed for 2 nights, the room was very nice and clean. I have to say the eating/drinking areas were very dirty, uncleaned tables dust on tables and furniture. The breakfast was lovely but the food within the restuarant wasent great.
We would think twice before going back.

Reviewed by
P Latham

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel very relaxing. Superb service.
Cant wait to stay again.

Reviewed by
Brenda S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at this hotel because we were looking for a night away at a hotel with spa facilities. The staff were helpful and welcoming at all times. The room was a good size - the bathroom was huge - and well appointed with a very comfortable bed and views over the surrounding countryside. The spa facilities were good, but the pool, jacuzzi and steam rooms were small for the size of the hotel and hence crowded. The spa staff were excellent and the massages we had are highly reccomended.
If you are looking for a subtle or boutique hotel, this is not for you; however, it ticks many boxes and has all the facilities you could need for an enjoyable, relaxing trip on the edge of a lovely town.

Reviewed by
I Ross

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Fairmont St Andrews
This has to be by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel is absolutely immaculate with not a thing out of place. The room was exceptional. The staff couldn't possibly be more helpful. And the grounds the hotel is on and the views are outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
G Wallace

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredible Views!
Not a great welcome feeling!had to ask for everything-slippers,laundry bag,soap,no welcome fruit in the room,did not get the room I wanted.Truly not a Fairmont kind of stay!

Reviewed by
M Burman

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great mini break
Lovely hotel and service, wished I could have stayed longer

Reviewed by
R Harrold

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury one night stay
We stayed for one night to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Check in (from 3pm) was easy and we arrived to find chocolates in our room as an anniversary touch. The staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge gave us detailed information on the Fife Coastal Path as we wanted to have a walk to the shore. We ate at The Clubhouse and it was of a high standard accompanied by amazing sunset views on a spectacularly sunny evening (we were lucky with the weather). The noon check out gave us time to use the pool facilities in the morning which were sizeable (allowing for a proper swim) & relatively quiet. Our only gripe would be no free wifi, our room had complementary plug in but we thought that wifi would be more important in this day and age.

Reviewed by
Aileen S

From Newport on Tay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Day stay at Fairmont St Andrews
An absolutely fantastic experience, a dream place and somewhere out of reality.

Reviewed by
T Ferguson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay, staff could not be more helpful. The staff in the spa seemed a bit disinterested and I waited over 15mins for someone to come to the desk.

Reviewed by
A Raeper

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next