No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wifi
I think that this facility should be offered for free. It is at most hotels of this calibre. £ 9.00 is excessive

Reviewed by
Dominique D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were excellent and very friendly at all times
The room was very nice and had everything you would need. The only thing I was disappointed in was if you wanted wifi, you had to pay 9.95 a day !!
Most hotels wifi is free.

Reviewed by
E Lane

From Kirkliston, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need more cleaners
Disappointed to see butts in the drive at the entrance on Sat evening when we arrived were still there when we left on Sun lunchtime
The stairs between 0 and 1st floors needed vacuumed.
The overflow for the water in the gym hadn't been emptied for weeks and was a mysterious color

Reviewed by
Frank Tooley

From Juniper Green, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If only!
I have stayed at the Fairmont often over the last 7 years mainly on business organised at the hotel, however on this occasion we were staying overnight for a business meeting in Dundee early the next morning. On arrival staff were very welcoming and service in the bar as the usual high standard.
However, we went for breakfast at 7.10am and were shown to a table and told that a waiter would be over to ask for tea/coffee a d toast. Despite o my three tables being occupied the waiter wandered around talking to another member of staff before coming over to us 15 minutes later. Given that we were required to be in Dundee at 8.30 a quick breakfast was required. Even if this was not the case waiting 15 minutes at this time in the morning would be unacceptable. It was as if the wAiter knew we're ware siting but simply wanted us to wait!

Reviewed by
David McMillan

From Cardross, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but room for improvement
The hotel itself was impressive but for the cost of our stay we were not informed of the availability of the leisure facilities or offered a brochure for the spa. We were also disappointed at not having clean cups in our room. Our bathroom sink plug was broken but this issue was swiftly seen to. Overall we enjoyed our stay as the hotel and setting was beautiful but felt it was overpriced on this occasion

Reviewed by
M Allan

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
My wife and I took a group of family and friends away for the weekend and enjoyed a great stay. Customer service was really great especially the door man who was chatty and funny. Only down points would be the quality of the bar food wouldn't be 5* and the little jam pots at breakfast had already been used. Nothing major that would put me off spending my money to come back again though.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in February 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Andrews Stay
The hotel, staff and the food were all excellent, the transfer into town was very handy. the spa area very clean, the lockers were mostly locked or broken though

Reviewed by
Graeme A

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Break at the Fairmont
We had a lovely relaxing break at the Fairmont Hotel, St Andrews with friendly and helpful staff who made it the best time we've had in a very long time

Reviewed by
Joan Kilpatrick

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at Fairmont
The hotel is very welcoming with a big open fire as soon as you go in. The staff are very friendly and professional. The room was very spacious and had 2 double beds in it. We would have preferred 1 king but the hotel was full so we couldn't change. There were a lot of kids in the hotel. It was half term and there were a lot of special activities for kids and families. I think this would be a real attraction if you had kids, but we don't and we'd gone away for a romantic valentines weekend so it wasn't really our cup of tea! We both got sick...nothing to do with the hotel though, just a bug so we were a bit miserable! The breakfast was very nice and had lots of choice. The minibar in the room was well stocked but we would have appreciated some still water instead of all the spirits! Lovely bathrobes in the bathroom, but no slippers which was a bit disappointing. We planned to use the spa but we didn't feel well enough so we can't review that.

Reviewed by
E Carlisle

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
we had a fantastic night at the Fairmount and will definately be going back, the food, staff, room and leisure facilities were all superb!

Reviewed by
debbie mcquoid

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next