No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
My wife and I took a group of family and friends away for the weekend and enjoyed a great stay. Customer service was really great especially the door man who was chatty and funny. Only down points would be the quality of the bar food wouldn't be 5* and the little jam pots at breakfast had already been used. Nothing major that would put me off spending my money to come back again though.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in February 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but room for improvement
The hotel itself was impressive but for the cost of our stay we were not informed of the availability of the leisure facilities or offered a brochure for the spa. We were also disappointed at not having clean cups in our room. Our bathroom sink plug was broken but this issue was swiftly seen to. Overall we enjoyed our stay as the hotel and setting was beautiful but felt it was overpriced on this occasion

Reviewed by
M Allan

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Break at the Fairmont
We had a lovely relaxing break at the Fairmont Hotel, St Andrews with friendly and helpful staff who made it the best time we've had in a very long time

Reviewed by
Joan Kilpatrick

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at Fairmont
The hotel is very welcoming with a big open fire as soon as you go in. The staff are very friendly and professional. The room was very spacious and had 2 double beds in it. We would have preferred 1 king but the hotel was full so we couldn't change. There were a lot of kids in the hotel. It was half term and there were a lot of special activities for kids and families. I think this would be a real attraction if you had kids, but we don't and we'd gone away for a romantic valentines weekend so it wasn't really our cup of tea! We both got sick...nothing to do with the hotel though, just a bug so we were a bit miserable! The breakfast was very nice and had lots of choice. The minibar in the room was well stocked but we would have appreciated some still water instead of all the spirits! Lovely bathrobes in the bathroom, but no slippers which was a bit disappointing. We planned to use the spa but we didn't feel well enough so we can't review that.

Reviewed by
E Carlisle

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
we had a fantastic night at the Fairmount and will definately be going back, the food, staff, room and leisure facilities were all superb!

Reviewed by
debbie mcquoid

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good quality hotel.
I booked the Fairmont as a surprise anniversary break for my girlfriend. When we arrived the staff were incredibly helpful and what you would expect for a 5 star hotel. Our room was a really good size and looked out onto the golf course. I was looking forward to a swim, jacuzzi and steam room but unfortunatly the jacuzzi was off. After reading previous reviews this is not the first time this has been the case. The hotel ran a courteousy bus into st andrews centre every hour up to 6pm which was really helpful. The breakfast was a good standard for a buffet and overall we enjoyed our stay with the staff being the main plus point.

Reviewed by
J Robertson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had booked a double room ie with a double bed and got a room with 2 very small beds in it !
As I am over six feet the beds were to small and in the morning after saying to the staff at the desk she told us there is no rooms in this hotel with just one bed in it and these beds are all queen size I am sorry but we have a queen size bed and it is much bigger and also the room with to singal beds were £20 less so overall this was not good for a 5 star hotel.

Reviewed by
George Crawford

From Cunbernauld, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairmont St Andrews
I have stayed at this 5 star hotel a couple of times and always have a lovely time. The only criticism is that unfortunately the steam room and jacuzzi were not working and in fact, the steam room was not working when I was there two years ago. This is disappointing when you are treating yourself to stay in luxury accommodation but I would still highly recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
V Mcallister

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly Disappointing.
Concierges very efficient, friendly and helpful. They spoiled our dog too. All hotel staff were very manner-able and immaculate. The only problem that we had were the evening meals. On Thurs night we ate in "Kittocks Den", the bar nearest the front door. My food was fine, however my partner's soup; whilst tasty was cold. He then had fish and chips. The breaded haddock was solid and overcooked verging on burnt. Friday night we dined in the Squire restaurant. Again, service was excellent. My partner's food was fine, however his soup was again not very warm, and the chips I had were old, cold and full of oil. I did get a replacement - waiting staff were very kind about it, however the chips that arrived were undercooked. Due to this we got free desserts, which was nice, but would have been nicer to have a hot meal of freshly prepared food. My partner was getting annoyed as he could see the chefs "working" in the kitchen and they seemed to be not taking things seriously. Others had problems with their food last night. Breakfast was lovely but I could have re-soled my boots with the bacon.
“Room was fine. We travelled with our dog and there was plenty of space for his crate. The pet charge of £20 for him to stay, supplied us with bowls and a crate mat which is useless (no padding). A proper dog bed should be supplied for this money. Room was on the ground handy for having the dog. Air Conditioning was noisy and my partner slept with earplugs in. Didn't experience that the last time we stayed.”
£9.95 for 24hrs of Wifi I thought was a bit silly as most places are free.
I feel bad writing such a negative review. We so enjoyed our stay last july for my friend's daughter's wedding. It appears that the Chefs may be ruining what was an excellent hotel.
I have previously told others about this place, and have recommended it. However I will not be doing it again.

Reviewed by
S McCracken

From Scotland
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disppointing
Lots of little disappointments which individually were not a problem but all together made us leave a little disappointed. For example, beds and pillows very uncomfortable, fridge actually heated items, bedroom floor covered in crumbs when we arrived, waited 40mins for a drink which tasted watery, milk in breakfast room off.........the list goes on. All small issues but not what is expected from a hotel priced as they are.
On a positive, all the staff we encountered were excellent and could not be faulted

Reviewed by
J Steel

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next