No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast wasn't great. We waited ages to get seated. The toast wasn't in a rack and ended up being chewy as a result. This was a shame because everything else was great.

Reviewed by
Jane D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thr room was really nice and clean.Bar staff very friendly. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster on our second morning. Had to ask for cutlery and napkins and we are still waiting for toast even though we asked for it twice ! Couple at next table were alson unimpressed with service.

Reviewed by
susan f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pure luxury!
We stayed at The Fairmont for my husband's 40th. When we checked in, we were told that we had been upgraded to a luxury suite to help us celebrate the special occasion (I had made a note of the birthday in my reservation notes). I didn't think we would be upgraded because we had booked via LateRooms (and got a really good price) but I was wrong!
The suite was outstanding - bigger than my whole flat and pure luxury. The bed was so comfy (v important!) and it was a pity we didn't have longer to enjoy it.
The bathroom was gorgeous and I spent one whole hour in the bath tub. A rare luxury.
Service was impeccable throughout and we were made to feel very special.

Reviewed by
keli s

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Superb

Reviewed by
J Graham

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
I felt hotel lacked a bit of atmosphere. Having stayed in other Fairmont properties, this was a slight disappointment.
The spa was reasonable, although a bit on the cool side and there were quite a few used towels lying around in the shower area; before and after I used the spa/pool facilities.
I would have liked more variety of fresh fruits (berries etc) at breakfast.
Other than that the room was very comfortable and the personal service was excellent.

Reviewed by
Graeme C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The entrance, reception and bar staff are very helpful and professional, the hotel is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable. However, the Squire dining experience is unbelievably poor. We had to wait approximately 10 min to be seated, wait another 15 min to have our order taken, the waitress forgot the wine (we had to remind her after the first course was finished) The steak was not cooked correctly, however, due to the amount of time taken to this point, we ate what we were given as we were so hungry by this point. We declined to have any dessert. I observed during our meal, the tables around us were not cleared/cleaned in preparation for another diner (approximately 1 hour) and were still in that condition when we retired from the restaurant. Breakfast is also served in the Squire restaurant, again, we had to wait around 20 min to be seated (I have NEVER experienced any wait at any hotel for breakfast), and again there were tables not cleared efficiently to have a quick turn round of customer. Considering that the Fairmont is an American company, the standard of service in the restaurant was terrible, this spoiled what should (and could) have been a very enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
S Brown

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall "Decent"
Stayed in an executive suite for the night and the suite was amazing. Dined at the clubhouse also which along with the suite offered great views of the bay. However, the food was average in the clubhouse restaurant and they got my order wrong (ordered the steak and asked for no mushrooms and instead got steak with mushrooms and no potatoes).The swimming pool is very small and was full of young children. If you want a peaceful spa break as a couple this is not the place to go, similarly if you want a hotel which is suitable for children this is not the place to go either as the pool is so small. Breakfast in the atrium was good also but the atrium did not provide any atmosphere. There was a Trip Advisor reviewer at the table next to us who announced to his colleague that the breakfast reminded him of eating in a shopping centre/mall. The food was good at breakfast, but despite his obnoxious comments, this man did have a point. I would definitely stay again as the room was very comfortable, but as an overall experience and for the cost,Cameron House offers a far superior leisure/spa/dining experience for the same cost, and the spa / swimming at Cameron House, is by appointment only so although you pay for that, the room costs are less than the Fairmont so it balances out. Cameron House has far more atmospheric dining experiences (the Cameron Grill) and the food is far far superior. My fiancé took me to Cameron House for my 30th and I took her to the fairmont for hers, but if it came to it, I'd much prefer Cameron House to The Fairmont, especially if the cost was roughly the same. Moreover, Cameron House is 40 mins from Glasgow, whereas the Fairmont has nothing nearby except the town of St Andrews. It doesn't offer the experience of Cameron House, and in the event you disliked both, at least if you stayed at Cameron House you would have the attractions/bars/restaurants/nightlife/shopping of Scotland's largest city nearby, as opposed to a seaside town where every shop sells Pringle.

Reviewed by
A Miller

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a wonderful time at the fairmont, enjoyed the location and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
W BRIDGEMAN

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food in both the main restaurant and the squire not up to the hotel rating I would recommend the club house

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much ado about nothing
Service and standard of the hotel was very good but we were very disappointed with the food. We expected a higher quality and certainly not value for money. Asking for skimmed milk was like asking for gold! Staff always went to get some but more often than not, they didn't have any! Something very trivial for a supposedly high quality hotel.

Reviewed by
John B

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next