No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel, well worth a visit. Excellent facilities. Staff are amazing too!!
Fabulous hotel, stayed there quite a number of times. Everything about the hotel is just great, location included. The weather was just the best it could be as well, which also added to the trip. Would loved to have stayed longer!!.

Reviewed by
barbara entwistle

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5star hotel 1star service needs more Scottish hospillity

Reviewed by
Bryce Meek

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Main restaurant service very poor at times. On the evening of Monday 14th July we were told we could not book for 8pm and had to attend at 7.45 pm. The first course took 40 minutes to arrive.
Buffet breakfast at 9 am was poorly serviced and ordered toast never arrived.
Hotel was otherwise excellent. The fine dining restaurant is closed on Mondays.
We would recommend the hotel but not the main dining room for meals.

Reviewed by
b williams

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel amazing location over looking st andrews bay golfer dream.
On arrival at hotel @ 4pm the room wasn't ready,asked to go to the bar had have a drink not complementary went back to reception at 5pm room not ready,told it would be 5 minute this time it was only 5 minutes asked for my luggage told it would be in the room had to call at 5.45 to have it sent to the room. from then onwards amazing just have to sort out check-in procedure

Reviewed by
Sandy McConnell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accomodation
excellant

Reviewed by
g lithgow

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needed a valued rest and that was what we got

Reviewed by
J Colgan

From Scotland
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful hotel in a magnificent setting made for a very enjoyable break. The only negative was breakfast, hot buffet and tea were a bit cold.

Reviewed by
A Maclean

From Alness, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast wasn't great. We waited ages to get seated. The toast wasn't in a rack and ended up being chewy as a result. This was a shame because everything else was great.

Reviewed by
Jane D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thr room was really nice and clean.Bar staff very friendly. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster on our second morning. Had to ask for cutlery and napkins and we are still waiting for toast even though we asked for it twice ! Couple at next table were alson unimpressed with service.

Reviewed by
susan f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pure luxury!
We stayed at The Fairmont for my husband's 40th. When we checked in, we were told that we had been upgraded to a luxury suite to help us celebrate the special occasion (I had made a note of the birthday in my reservation notes). I didn't think we would be upgraded because we had booked via LateRooms (and got a really good price) but I was wrong!
The suite was outstanding - bigger than my whole flat and pure luxury. The bed was so comfy (v important!) and it was a pity we didn't have longer to enjoy it.
The bathroom was gorgeous and I spent one whole hour in the bath tub. A rare luxury.
Service was impeccable throughout and we were made to feel very special.

Reviewed by
keli s

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next