Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews


Kingask, St Andrews, KY16 8PN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (64)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alison G

  • April 2014

Fairmont review

great hotel in great surroundings and next to lovely vibrant StAndrews!!

  • J Cleland

  • April 2014

Fabulous location, but the food on offer was a bit disappointing.

For the money I paid I expected five star accomodation, and to a large degree it was.

The room was decorated to a high standard, and the public rooms were impressive. The breakfast was first rate,. The view from the Clubhouse was stunning, however apart from the starter the rest of the meal was average. It was the same in the Italian restaurant, but to that I would add that the meal we had was overpriced for what we got. I mean, £9 for a starter that only contained three prawns. However that notwithstanding I did like the Fairmont and should I win the lotto in the future, I would like to return.

  • Joanna S

  • April 2014


Book it you will love it.

  • Frank M

  • April 2014

For golfers

A very enjoyable stay.

After a round of golf on the Old Course. One night was not enough!

  • Diane O

  • February 2014

Have stayed at the the Fairmont quite a few times - love it.

Never disappointed. Staff friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Robert Fellows

  • February 2014

Nice hotel

A nice hotel with great views of St Andrew's Bay


  • January 2014

Fairmont review

I must stress that my wife and myself had a very enjoyable two night stay.

The accommodation was excellent the facilities from the hotel room, pool, gym, personnel service and restaurant and reading areas were again all excellent. The one area of improvement which was a common fault that we experienced during our stay was the food should have been served at a higher temperature. The warmed plates should have been far hotter whereas they were only partially warm . Seems a small complaint as the food was well presented and well cooked, the lack of heat did diminish the enjoyment of the meal. We did not make this an area of discussion with staff as we did enjoy the personal service and the overall relaxing experience which would have been compromised if I had raised it as an issue.

  • will smith

  • January 2014

I just keep going back, fantastic

great hotel and great location, i just love St Andrews and when you have young kids the St Andrews Bay is just great.

Brilliant hotel, family freindly and cant wait to go again

  • Amanda B

  • January 2014

Positive Experience!

Spent one night here near the end of January.

Got a pretty good deal on the room, just a basic room but it was lovely. Amazing bathroom, great bed and plenty of room. Front desk agent was really nice when we checked in. We ate in the pub, food was ok, and service not great, but there was only one person working the bar and waiting on tables so he appeared to have his hands full. Cocktails were tasy but expensive. Would definitely stay there again, just wouldn't eat at the hotel..

  • Linda F

  • January 2014

Very underwhelmed

Started off with having to park my car on the grass verge as the car park was full.

Rooms and service were fab. Evening meal just average!. Had to ask three times for a pot of tea at breakfast before I got one that was warm enough to drink. Queued for breakfast. Bacon like leather. Didn't feel like a five star hotel to me.