No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very spacious accommodation. Tranquil atmosphere - excellent for a relaxing break.

Reviewed by
C Gallagher

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel, surprisingly good value
My wife and I decided to spend a night in St. Andrews to break up our trip home up north, and the Fairmont leapt out from the search page. We hadn't realised the Dunhill Golf was on at the time, but apart from the odd golfer and the competition check-in desk, you'd be hard pushed to realise that only a couple of miles down the road there was a major competition underway. The room was superb, spacious and modern with the finest quality of finish, and the meal in the main restaurant was wonderful, with 3 courses, wine and after dinner drinks for both of us only around £100. I'll definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
Innes G

From Isle of Lewis, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise
The room was much larger than we had anticipated and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and although busy the staff in the dining room were especially good.
Given that St Andrews is usually a very busy place this felt very peaceful. Perhaps they could have a late shuttle bus to accommodate clients who would like to have dinner in the centre of town.

Reviewed by
Sue H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel as you would except from a five star, bid pricey.
Would go again ,but only if occasion was right and any deals.

Reviewed by
T Easton

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was not impressed
We called the hotel a week before the stay to say had a wedding and ask if our room could be ready for 12pm we were told yes, the day of the stay we called in the morning and then an hour before we arrived to check we could definitly get into our room the lady we spoke to said she would have a room ready for us, when we arrived we had to get ready in the spa in separate areas extremely disappointing!

Reviewed by
N Mackay

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, brilliant staff, 5 star hotel.
Staff were friendly and welcoming, outstanding views of St Andrews though it is a little ways out of town but regular shuttle services run to and from town. Beds were extremely comfortable and room was lovely. Close to golf, with some great coastal walks nearby too. Spa, bar and hotel facilities were excellent.

Reviewed by
Elaine M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the third time we have stayed at the Fairmont and it was as lovely as ever!
The Fairmont never fails to please. Between the lovely setting, the decor, friendly staff and excellent facilities you an ensure a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Laura G

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel, well worth a visit. Excellent facilities. Staff are amazing too!!
Fabulous hotel, stayed there quite a number of times. Everything about the hotel is just great, location included. The weather was just the best it could be as well, which also added to the trip. Would loved to have stayed longer!!.

Reviewed by
barbara entwistle

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5star hotel 1star service needs more Scottish hospillity

Reviewed by
Bryce Meek

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel amazing location over looking st andrews bay golfer dream.
On arrival at hotel @ 4pm the room wasn't ready,asked to go to the bar had have a drink not complementary went back to reception at 5pm room not ready,told it would be 5 minute this time it was only 5 minutes asked for my luggage told it would be in the room had to call at 5.45 to have it sent to the room. from then onwards amazing just have to sort out check-in procedure

Reviewed by
Sandy McConnell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next