Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5

Kingask, St Andrews, KY16 8PN

Price From 243.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Devine

  • April 2015

My favourite hotel

Great hotel, been before and took my dog this time.

Love it that it's dog friendly and everyone loves the dogs. Rooms are lovely and breakfast in the morning was great. Will definitely be back again!!

  • derek m

  • April 2015

clenliness

we stayed one night in one of the luxury rooms, which upon entering the room, at first glance was a lovely nice room, just felt for the price paid of £228, you would expect it to be spotless, but it was clear to see as soon as we entered the room the dust was clearly visable on top of the headboard, window cill, and the table in the room was dirty, however we did find the bed extremly comfortable, although we did have an issue getting to sleep, due to the nosiy air conditioning in the adjacant room being on all night.

  • P Rogan

  • April 2015

Excellent, great for a 2 day getaway

We booked a 2 night getaway for our 20th Anniversary..

on booking advised the hotel it was our anniversary weekend. On check-in, we were greeted with a welcome "Happy Anniversary". The room had complimentary chocolates which was a nice touch. Location -- If you like Golf, then St Andrews is great, not much shopping prospects, plenty of bars and restaurants. Food- A little disappointed with Dinner, although breakfast was fantastic, plenty of options for everyone. Facilities - Tried to book a spa session as soon as we checked-in, unfortunately they were full so no way to comment, again a little disappointed but I suppose if you want a Spa treatment, best to book prior to arrival. These are just some of my comments, all in all a great place, great service and relaxing.

  • HEATHER HARPER

  • March 2015

Fantastic, staff very helpful. room excellent.

Great value for money.

Room was upgraded and lovely touch of chocolates left for my birthday

  • wiliam Mcghie

  • March 2015

Disappointed

It's been a few years since we were last at here, but we were slightly disappointed.

We wanted to use the spa facilites but we only had one robe in the room. I called reception and was told one would be sent to our room. After waiting about 30 minutes we went down and changed in the spa... We went down for dinner in the Squire Dining area and shown to a table for 2 situated almost in the dark... We had difficulty in reading the menu. The food was good and the service was very good. We then made our way to the Rock and Soindle bar where there was no bar person so my husband had to go to the other bar which was very busy & the staff seemed to be a little overwhelmed. Breakfast in the morning was varied and I chose full Scottish breakfast from the buffet... It was Luke warm.. Not enjoyable.

Again though the staff and service was very good. Over all not too impressed... As they say it takes years to build a reputation and seconds to ruin.

I think they need to have a good look at the finer details and improve to remain a 5 star hotel.

  • Lynsay M

  • March 2015

Excellent treat

We had a lovely night's stay at the Fairmont as a treat for our anniversary.

The staff on reception were very welcoming and the staff at breakfast were very helpful and friendly. We were treated no differently by staff despite paying a cheaper rate. We paid the extra for breakfast and it was well worth it, the buffet was lovely with a wide selection and all very hot even towards the end of service. The chef is also available to cook fresh if requested. We stayed in a superior room which was very clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and accommodating staff when we requested an extra pillow. We didn't use the spa or gym on this occasion nor did we eat in the hotel in the evening but both seemed busy. Overall an excellent stay and would return again for a special occasion or treat.

  • Karen G

  • March 2015

Lovely hotel, breakfast service not the best

I really like this hotel.

It has a nice, luxurious feel. The doorman was very attentive as were the reception staff. However I have stayed here 3 times now, and two out if the three stays I've had to ask a waiter for tea/coffee at breakfast. Incidentally, on this visit, the same staff member who failed to notice me at breakfast also knocked on my door to check my mini bar when I had the privacy sign on display. This is a little poor for a hotel of this class. Other than this, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.

  • Yvonne Craig

  • February 2015

Fairmont St Andrews

Would have been better value if breakfast was included.

  • R Burns

  • February 2015

Disappointing Italian food

Room was lovely, clean and spacious.

We got upgraded from an Atrium view to a Fairmont view rom on arrival. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very disappointed with the food we had in the Italian. Very bland, the only thing we could taste in our starters and mains was salt. The food was served and taken away too quickly and we felt as though we were being rushed out.

  • s brawley

  • January 2015

Weekend break