No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairmont St Andrews

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, St Andrews, KY16 8PN
Highlighting the best in Scottish resorts, Fairmont St Andrews is set within a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting which makes it an unforgettable destination.

The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with extravagant luxury and elegance. The resort boasts two world renowned golf courses ‘The Torrance’ and ‘The Kittocks’ which have been selected to host the Final Open Qualifier in 2010 and the Scottish Senior Open 2010 and 2011.

Fairmont St Andrews has also won several awards including Hotel of the Year, 2009 by Hotel Review Scotland and was voted 18th in Condé Nast travellers readers’ poll in the World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts. The resort facilities are also exquisite with a stunning spa and six unique dining experiences that guarantee that your stay will become a treasured memory

Following a £17million refurbishment in 2009, Fairmont St Andrews unveiled 209 sumptuous, elegantly furnished bedrooms and luxury suites featuring warm colour palates and local design features.

Kittocks Den, our seductive and relaxing lobby bar, has been refurbished with stylish sofas and rich interior furnishings - a perfect place to lounge in. This complements our recently opened lively sports-themed bar, The Rock and Spindle, with pool table, darts and LCD televisions.

Awards won by the resort include...

*'International Resort Hotel of the Year, 2009', Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards
*World Travel Awards – Best Scottish Golf Resort & Spa 2010
*'Golf Resort of the Year, 2008 & 2010', Golf Tourism Scotland Awards
*Placed 18th in the 'World’s Top 100 Golf Resorts’, Condé Nast Traveler readers Poll
*Fairmont St Andrews’ Torrance Course is proud to host the ‘Cleveland Golf/Srixon Scottish Seniors Open 2011’. The Fairmont St Andrews Torrance Course was also privileged to be selected for ‘Final Qualifying for the Open Championship 2010’.
*Esperante restaurant, recipient of ‘Silver Gourmet’ status by Eat Scotland, Visit Scotland’s national food quality assurance scheme.
*Fairmont St Andrews’ green initiatives awarded the 'Best Non-Waste Management Sector Initiative' 2008 by the Waste *Recycling Group at the prestigious Scottish Waste and Resources Conference Awards
*Fairmont St Andrews recipient of 2008 Kingdom FM ‘Green Company of the Year Award’ 2008 for environmental practices
Picture of Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great mini break
Lovely hotel and service, wished I could have stayed longer

Reviewed by
R Harrold

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury one night stay
We stayed for one night to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Check in (from 3pm) was easy and we arrived to find chocolates in our room as an anniversary touch. The staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge gave us detailed information on the Fife Coastal Path as we wanted to have a walk to the shore. We ate at The Clubhouse and it was of a high standard accompanied by amazing sunset views on a spectacularly sunny evening (we were lucky with the weather). The noon check out gave us time to use the pool facilities in the morning which were sizeable (allowing for a proper swim) & relatively quiet. Our only gripe would be no free wifi, our room had complementary plug in but we thought that wifi would be more important in this day and age.

Reviewed by
Aileen S

From Newport on Tay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Day stay at Fairmont St Andrews
An absolutely fantastic experience, a dream place and somewhere out of reality.

Reviewed by
T Ferguson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay, staff could not be more helpful. The staff in the spa seemed a bit disinterested and I waited over 15mins for someone to come to the desk.

Reviewed by
A Raeper

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was fab, loved everything about it, wished we had stayed longer though.

Reviewed by
Nicola McHolm

From Larkhall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
The bedroom and bathroom are a good size and well equipped with in-room complimentary coffee and teas. Staff are very friendly and helpful, check-in and check-out was very quick. We have stayed at this hotel several times now and enjoyed every visit.

Reviewed by
david h

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Silver anniversary celebration at the fairmont
Having notified the hotel that this was a special occassion we were treated exceptionally well on our arrival with a glass of champagne to greet us. The only disappointment was the room type reserved via late rooms "luxury" which is not a valid Fairmont type and caused some confusion having paid more than the deluxe room, however the hotel once again came good and ensured our fairmont view room had a view of the bay. A welcome card and chocolates were provided in our room to mark our anniversary which was a nice touch. Dinner in the clubhouse restaurant was excellent Jan our server was suberb and looked after us very well.

Reviewed by
W Grace

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and style in all areas
Large, comfortable and stylish bedrooms. Large, bathroom facilities with a hefty helping of luxury. Our room stated a view of the atrium which was exactly that, a view of the atrium structure, didn't affect our stay as we didn't book for the view.
Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast.
Disappointing that so many places. (Starbucks, McDonalds etc) now offer free wifi that hotels still charge guests
Restaurant food was very good but beer and wine prices aren't exactly reasonable which is unfortunate.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay the setting Is outstanding but it wasn't a bargain.
Would be happy to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sue A

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel, very helpful staff
We arrived before noon for a local wedding and were able to check in to our room after a very short wait. Concierge service and valet parking was great and saved our some valuable minutes. All in all it was a wonderful stay, quality of room was excellent, staff went out of their way to accommodate us and we had a lovely breakfast to finish off the stay.

Reviewed by
Anne R

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary break
My husband and I loved our stay.The hotel and it's staff are lovely and so helpful.Will definately be back.

Reviewed by
L Wild

From Tillicoultry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next