No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lichfield House

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
30 Waterloo Street , Brighton, BN3 1AN
Lichfield House is a grade II listed Georgian Town House situated in a quiet street just off the seafront within the fashionable area of historic Brunswick. Just a 10 minute walk from the centre of Brighton, Lichfield House is close to shops, restaurants, conference centres and local places of interest. Each of our 9 colourful rooms has been individually decorated to reflect the relaxed spirit of Brighton, combining beautiful original features of the house with modern comfort. Those looking for stylish, cosy and hip accommodation at competative prices will find the place most appealing.
NON SMOKING THROUGHOUT.

Breakfast is optional in our Restaurant Little Portugal, just across the road.

Open from 7.30am- 9.30am and during the weekends or bank holidays from 8.30am-10.00am.
Must be pre-booked.Bookable on arrival or by contacting reception on the day prior to requirement.

Adults ( from 12 years)- £6.50 each
Children ( from 3-11 years) - £3.25 each
Infants (from 0-3) - free.

You can choose from variety of English/Continental breakfasts.

Picture of Lichfield House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were great and accommodating, the room was basic but clean and bright and comfortable

Reviewed by
Josephine R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price. Clean, comfortable, close to the centre of town and seafront.

Reviewed by
A Lincoln

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort in style
Great location, very quiet on top floor. Very clean and spacious and for the price, great value for money. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S HUTCHINSON

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely homely room, very helpful staff.
I was on the top floor and couldnt get signal for the wifi, but apart from that it was lovely.

Reviewed by
R Donovan

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't go back. Definitely not a 4* hotel.
Although we got a good midweek deal on this room, it was in no way, shape or form 4*... the automated system which apparently gives you more freedom to come and go didn't work when we arrived so we had to be let in. There is no reception and unfortunately the owners speak very broken English which meant communication and questions were difficult. The room was fine; comfy bed, nice bathroom. However, there was so much noise from the thin walls/corridors/drains/outside that it cancelled the good points out. We had a TV and tea, coffee and dressing gowns provided which was nice, but the shower was dirty and my boyfriend found one of those plastic milk coffee lids IN the bed. The next morning, we wanted to leave our rucksacks behind reception for the day - you would think in a 4* hotel this wouldn't be a problem. We were told we could leave it in the room we had just checked out of until 5pm, 'although new guests are coming at 2pm so they might just leave it in the corridor or something'. The alternative they gave us was to leave our bags in the downstairs hallway, right by the public door... erm? The lack of reception and incredibly poor customer service, combined with the completely inaccurate 4* rating (3 at best is what I'd give it), means we will not be returning again.

Reviewed by
Florence A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best start...
Having arrived at Litchfield House at 14:00 the time we had been told we were able to check in we are told that our room had not yet been prepared and would be another 30 minutes which ended up me and my partner carting around our suitcase waiting for the room to be ready. The room itself was very nicely designed and cosy however anytime anyone in the house flushed the toilet because of us being on the ground floor we could hear the water rushing through the pipes in our on suite bathroom. Overall a good stay but not the best of starts to our trip away. Finally the only staff we saw was the cleaner and when we were unsure about checking in and out there was nobody who we could ask about it.

Reviewed by
Kayleigh E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhat impersonal. We never really saw anyone. On arrival we spoke to a voice over the intercom which directed us to our room where we would find a key and a code to let us back into the property. On departure we just left the key in the room. Accomodation was fine - smallish room with very comfy bed. Nice welcome features of complimentary water and chocolates.

Reviewed by
Mary W

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation nice and clean. bad smell coming from drain in wet room, had to go out and buy a air freshener.

Reviewed by
Damien M

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Very nice and cozy room.

Reviewed by
M Czerwinska

From , England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adaleigh
Bit of a mix up with the entrance intercom, toilet had a permanent aroma of poo and didn't know how to use the WiFi. Apart from this it was a enjoyable stay in a brilliant location!

Reviewed by
Simon

From sudbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next