No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westmorland Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Near Orton , Penrith, CA10 3SB
Whether you are planning a weekend break to explore the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Northumberland or looking for a place to break your journey on the way to or from Scotland, choose the Westmorland Hotel - an individual Lake District hotel with a stunning and convenient location. This family owned, AA 3 star hotel offers 50 ensuite bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms, contemporary design and natural materials. The award winning restaurant, with an AA Rosette serves delicious menus featuring only the freshest ingredients and the best local produce. Add to this spectacular mountain views, water falls and a comfortable lounge with log fire and WiFi broadband and you have the ideal location only minutes from the M6 motorway (between J38 & J39). The Westmorland Hotel also offers business professionals superb facilities for hosting corporate events, and is the perfect venue for your wedding day.
Picture of Westmorland Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
We used the Hotel as a base for the Lakes but were not sure what it would be like. We need not have worried, we were welcomed with big smiles and a warm friendly atmosphere. On the way to our room we passed a lovely lounge with a large roaring log fire, just brilliant. Our room was excellent, very clean and and adequate. The Dining room overlooked a stretch of running water with ducks swimming around, and a self help breakfast was first class. Our seven very enjoyable days there left us relaxed and rested. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Len Bethell

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lone traveller
Booked ahead thankgoodness as this is a popular hotel.The staff are friendly and helpful.My bedroom was clean and tastefully decorated.I enjoyed my evening meal very much,and had an excellent breakfast.I booked to stay on my return journey,and enjoyed my stay.Will return to this hotel again when am travelling southwards,and highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
G Cameron

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
You wouldn't think you were staying at a services! The location was perfect for our purposes, as we're we doing the Total Warrior event at Shap but I can imagine it being a good location for a lot of the attractions in the lakes. We ate in their restaurant, and whist arguably a little on the price side (perhaps because you'd have to drive to get to anywhere else) it was good quality food. I would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
L Griffiths

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More than 3 stars
We have stayed at 4 star hotels that were not of this quality. From the moment we arrived the customer service we received from every member of staff was excellent.
The room was spacious , comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a great nights sleep as was totally silent, normally you hear some noise from other rooms but you wouldn't have known there were other guests round about.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the quality of the food was better than we had eaten at a so called gourmet evening earlier in our holiday.
Breakfast was also really good with excellent service and quality ingredients.
Finally the check out procedure was very fast and efficient and the reception staff were very pleasant and friendly.
We are already planning a return visit to the hotel in a couple months time.

Reviewed by
Abigail C

From Erskine, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent hotel, more than excellent food and very accommodating staff

Reviewed by
ROBERT ISETON

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High Quality & Good Value
Used this hotel as a convenient stop over to break up a car journey down M74/M6. Did not arrive till quite late but check in was friendly and efficient. The room was a good size and very comfortable.
1st class full English breakfast over looking beautiful countryside.
The special made this a very goo d choice and great value for our money.
Will definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Brian Nisbet

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite enjoyed my stay. The hotel was easy to find and very comfortable. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant food was fairly expensive but good portions and very tasty.

Reviewed by
M Lancelott

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent independent hotel.

Reviewed by
Victoria A

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast menu very good,staff very attentive and helpful.
Lounge menu food a little disappointing but our stay was enjoyable and we would use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
George M

From Southport, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views
Tucked away behind the services the hotel is quiet, and has amazing outlooks. A lovely log fire in the main lounge adds to the atmosphere. Friendly staff, warm welcome.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Cowes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next