No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southpark House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Quarry Road,Locharbriggs , Dumfries, DG1 1FA
Renowned as one of the finest in Dumfries, this 5 star hospitality establishment enjoys an impressive and peaceful location on the edge of town, yet only 5 minutes drive from the bustling market town centre hosting many fine restaurants, coffee and wine bars.
Panoramic views over the 3 valleys, free transport provided into restaurants if required for the tired and travel weary guests! ample private and secure parking, separate guests kitchen, with full laundry facilities, Free Wi-Fi internet in all rooms, and free usage of the Internet Station. Southpark hosts a guest lounge with open log fire, Sky tv etc for colder evenings. With easy access from all major routes, come and enjoy your stay at Southpark House, and experience our silent and often deserted country roads, offering unspoilt equanimity balanced with unequalled views and rare wildlife. We welcome you to Southpark House, where we have everything you have at home and more!

Picture of Southpark House, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be staying here again.
Spent 1 night at Southpark House, and have nothing bad to say about it. Great room, comfy bed, excellent facilities, beautiful view, friendly owners and the list could go on.

Reviewed by
j ball

From South Shields, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to go back!
Having read the reviews for South park, and not having been to Dumfries before, we took a chance, and weren't disappointed! lovely location, great welcome, beds to get lost in, and a breakfast that'll see youtthrough to dinner. Being a chef, you tend to be a bit critical of other's cooking, but couldn't fault it one bit. A good selection of cereals, yogurts, fruits and a really good cooked selection. A high point of our stay, and worthy of praise. All in all a nice weekend made better by staying here. Would highly recommend, especially if you are on a tight budget.

Reviewed by
M lukins

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay for a weekend away.
Lovely owners. Wonderful scenes of Dumfries from room. Brilliant breakfast and service was brilliant. Can not wait to go back again soon.

Reviewed by
B Jones

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southpark a lovely secret in the South of Scotland.
Greeted with a helpful and inviting smile, after long journey from Anglesey and a unplanned stay in Scotland. We had not eaten and it was late in the day. Advised of a local Restaurant which we must say was a excellent choice, as the food was wonderful. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable and clean. A good nights sleep was had by us both. Breakfast was pre ordered for the following morning for a specific time and was well cooked and plenty of it. Nothing was to much for Ewan and his family. Though our stay was short and sweet we would recommend Southpark to all.

Reviewed by
David Mackenzie

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home!
Ewan made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and the guest room was immaculate and very peaceful. The owner (Ewan) was hilarious-reminiscent of Mrs Browns Boys! Dumfries very own in fact! Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
K Mcardle

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent family stop over in Dumfries
Used this as a stop over on the way to Scottish Highlands. Ewan, the landlord was an excellent host and his small family run hotel was very enjoyable. The family en-suite room was well fitted and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The highlight of our stay was the excellent breakfast in the hotel's light and airy conservatory and Ewan's warm welcome.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
Perfect B&B experience, couldn't ask for more :-)

Reviewed by
Nick T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic find.
Excellent overnight stop between Cairnryan and home. We have already recommended it. Welcoming, comfortable, well equipped, fine satisfying breakfast, quiet with good views. What more could we ask?

Reviewed by
Norman b

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room size of single room with double bed. Very cramped and little storage space

ManagementResponse

We try our best to please every guest and these were no exception. However, they were primarily unhappy with our limited choice from our breakfast menu! With 11 different cereals, porridge, various fresh yogurts, 5 fruit juice types, and an exhaustive selection from our fresh cooked menu, including Solway Smoked Salmon topped with free range farm eggs, cooked your choice, we are advised this is far beyond the choice available in many top hotels!! These guests reserved a smaller less expensive room, but they could have upgraded on the day to one of our larger rooms (free of charge) had they advised us they were unhappy at the time!! The Hotel Inspector actually stayed in same room 3 weeks earlier, and was impressed with this refurbished room. They also awarded us with "Taste our best Scotland" for our excellent choice of fresh local high quality produce!!

Reviewed by
MARGARET PREECE

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little treasure hidden on the outskirts of Dumfries
We needed an overnight stay near Dumfries and found this little gem the night before on late rooms. The accommodation was lovely and clean, plenty of coffee, tea etc in your room and beautiful views over the countryside. Our host was great fun and full of local information. We had a lovely stay and would definitely come back and have already recommended to all our friends and family. Thank you for the warm welcome you definitely deserve all your awards!.

Reviewed by
P Cairney

From Forres, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next