Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie Hotels > Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Links Parade , Carnoustie, DD7 7JE
Scotland`s premier luxury golfing and leisure destination is the ideal venue for golf days, corporate events or relaxing short breaks. Popular with non golfers too, Carnoustie offers luxurious leisure facilities and the chance to explore local castles, distilleries and the superb local countryside. Visitors can enjoy some of the most stunning views in Scotland as well as some of the most stimulating golfing experiences in the world.

The Carnoustie Championship 18- hole course is recognised as one of the top three courses in the country and was the proud host of The Open in 2007. The hotel is located adjoining the first tee and 18th green and there are two other challenging links courses nearby-The Burnside Course and Buddon Links. (There are also 200 other golf courses within a two -hour drive including St. Andrews.)

Walkers and anglers, as well as golfers, are in their element here and our friendly staff are always on hand to offer help and advice to make sure that you make the most of your stay.
Picture of Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel, Carnoustie at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 187 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but nice
Stayed here for a night. The hotel was a little tired looking but everything was very clean. The pool area was really nice and was opened till 9 at night which was good as we got to use it when we came in from dinner. We only had breakfast which was included in our price as the food was v.expensive we went to the kinlock arms for our dinner so yummy and good value for the money. The breakfast was good as there wasn't enough aka you only got one of each hot item but the pastrys were tasty

Reviewed by
E Davidson

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay, couple of niggles
We enjoyed our stay, room was a good size for a family. Pool was great. Breakfast was good could have had a few cereal options for kids. The couple of niggles were the cold changing rooms at the pool and a few too many errors on the billing.

Reviewed by
Karin T

From Glenfarg, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankfully the staff made the stay ok. Just ok.
Booked the hotel for a Valentine's/ Birthday relaxing break away. The staff were very helpful and the attitude of the bar staff encouraged us to have lunch upon arrival. Salad was good, curry was clearly microwaved however the staff were very accommodating and offered a free round in turn for not being able to provide a better lunch at short notice.
The main reason I booked the hotel was for the spa, sauna, steam, gym and swimming pool. The changing rooms were an absolute disgrace and it took a full blown argument between India of the regular 'locals' and the attendant before they considered resolving it. The resolution was to give the females changing area a quick wipe as there wasn't enough female attendants to assist. This meant two young lads wiping down the floor while females changed in the same room, my fiancé being one of them. Now the lads were clearly embarrassed and couldn't have been more apologetic but this shouldn't happen.
Further to this the gym is too small for the demand placed upon it by the 'local' regulars and guests. Don't expect to get on any machines. This leaves the swimming pool, steam room, sauna and spa pool. The sauna wasn't working and the receptionists advised its been "grubbed" for a while. The steam room is sub par and doesn't produce enough steam for an adult to feel the effect. The spa pool was a strange one, one minute too warm, then too cold, each time a different result. Finally the pool which is ok..... If it wasn't full of all the people who couldn't get on equipment in the gym, or in the sauna or disappointed with the steam room. In short it was an obstacle course.
The food was excellent although the breakfast was limited and one morning we had to wait 40 mins to be seated for breakfast. To be fair to the hotel they do warn about this and advise alternative breakfast times. It wasn't an issue for us as we weren't in a rush, the receptionist arranged for a later check out as a contingency for running late at breakfast. The staff, reception, cleaning, bar and restaurant are some of the most pleasant and accommodating where reasonable possible people I've met in any hotel.
The location is second to none especially if you enjoy nice long walks, golf and beaches. It's a lovely town with wonderful folk. The hotel itself needs an upgrade but is full of good people doing great work. I should stress that the cleanliness issue was only with the gym, swimming pool area. Our room was very clean, perhaps in need of updating as it only had one plug socket free meaning the kettle has to be sat on the floor to be boiled.

Reviewed by
Gordon Dick

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carnoustie hotel
Hotel décor looks a bit dated but room clean and good size (although would have preferred a view of the golf course). 10/10 for their bar staff would have just about finished our drinks and they would come over and ask if we would like another one. Didn't have to go to the bar ourselves at all. Nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
G Whyte

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel
Very over rated, tired looking room and smelly, very low standard food. Special breakfast was cold, over cook. Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
vera m

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value Break
Spotted this break on Late Rooms website and could not believe the value for money it offered. Comfortable room and awesome breakfast in a very relaxing environment. Thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

Reviewed by
A McGregor

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

carnoustie
Hotel clean just a bit tired looking. Bed was really comfortable though and room warm. At check in staff person didnt explain anything about spa or breakfast. Breakfast was fine but cooked plate was a bit burnt. Would stay here again for the value aspect

Reviewed by
Paul Christian Hastie

From dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2night break
Excellent hotel,warm and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Robert G

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf Hotel you dont need to a golfer to enjoy it.
Only drawback was being unable to get a table in the dining room due to tables being set aside for a hotel offer.

Reviewed by
E McKenna

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa - a Bespoke Hotel
Great hotel very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Bar meal at night was very good also.

Reviewed by
Aileen H

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next