No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collingwood College

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
COLLINGWOOD COLLEGE, SOUTH ROAD , DURHAM, DH1 3LT
Whether you are planning a week stay or a short break, Collingwood College, one of Durham University's colleges, is the ideal base for your visit to the North East. The accommodation is value for money, with rooms available to suit all budgets. Collingwood is located one mile from the centre of Durham. All rooms are situated within the college and offer a peaceful setting.

There is a variety of accommodation, with over 200 en-suite rooms available, each with a private shower, toilet and hand basin, built-in wardrobe and tea/coffee making facilities and radio alarm clocks. Sixteen of these en-suite rooms are twin occupancy and a further nine are adapted for wheelchair users.

For guests requiring easy access ground floor rooms in en-suite rooms are available on request.

All rooms have bed linen (duvets) and towels provided in all rooms throughout your stay, with the rooms are serviced daily.

Accommodation is available during University vacations, which are around Easter and throughout July, August and September.

Collingwood College does not accept guests under 16 years of age unless they stay in the same room as a responsible adult.
Picture of Collingwood College, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking for the Great North Run. An excellent value for money base for the event. Attentive and friendly staff, clean and value for money accommodation. Would certainly book again

Reviewed by
Howard S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Would have liked the choice of cooked breakfast on Sunday morning.
The room was well equipped and clean.
Overall felt it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
jean m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain accommodation
Having lived in university halls myself, I had pretty low expectations for Collingwood College but I was pleasantly surprised at the room and facilities. I certainly wasn't expecting a complimentary bag of toiletries or a full selection of hot drinks and a pack of biscuits! This is a great way of staying in a popular city at a bargain price. If you're used to luxury, it's not for you, but if you're happy with a comfy bed in a basic but clean room, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Next time I want to go to a university city in holiday time, I will certainly look for uni halls again.

Reviewed by
V Roberts

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and informative staff . Clean rooms , if a little sparse . Stay on B&B basis , breakfast ok , however as a Vegetarian , not much choice . Will return

Reviewed by
Brian Lawton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Collingwood College
I stayed at the college during Easter holidays and thought the accommodation was excellent; the porters were very helpful, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the location was lovely. My only complaint would be that the room was a bit too light at night due to the bright lighting outside - thicker curtains could have fixed this.

Reviewed by
Laura T

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like being a student at college again
A clean, friendly good value place to stay.
Well placed for visiting town, countryside and coast.

Reviewed by
A COGAN

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming staff and good location

Reviewed by
Antony R

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for the Great North Run
The facilities were first class and exactly as advertised. The room was an en-suite student accomodation and was more than adequate. It was clean and tidy and as described and the staff on site were most helpful. The price was quite steep but it was the Great North Run so prices everywhere are expensive the night before the run!

Reviewed by
Paul F

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall I would say collingwood college is decent value for money at the end I'ts not the hilton but you getWhat you pay for . So if your looking for somewere to get your head down for the night then I would advise anybody stay but if you want somewere with a bit more luxury then I wudnt advise you book a room at collingwood but luxury comes at a price so will say again you get what you pay for , the only thing I would say the corridors and place looks a bit worn out so a lick of paint doesn't cost much and think that would make a difference

Reviewed by
justin h

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job
It was just what was required, a 10 min walk to town, clean a little tiered but very reasonable, must be up and out before ten or charged again but was no problem for me as going to cricket Ashes.

Reviewed by
J Dixon

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next