Reviews - Durham Castle

4

Palace Green, Durham, DH1 3RW

Price From 208.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kenneth V

  • July 2015

Unique location at best price

Great location, clean and neat rooms.

Very good breakfast.

  • Julie Q

  • July 2015

Great setting

Best view in Durham.

Such an atmospheric setting. Lots of steps to the room so you need to be used to climbing steps. Keeps you fit.

  • Yvonne M

  • July 2015

Durham Castle

An excellent stay.

Would visit again.

  • Lynda O

  • July 2015

Get what you pay for

A very basic shower prone to flooding.

No tv, radio tempermental but hey you are in a castle and enjoy the experience.

  • Pauline A

  • April 2015

Durham Castle

A rather special place to stay.

I was glad that I only had a small suitcase, as there are no lifts. I counted 106 steps between the front door and my room in the castle keep. Tasty breakfast in the Great Hall. Relatively early check-out (10 am), but this meant that I had time for the Castle Tour.

  • Paul T

  • April 2015

Great experience

Just waking up opposite the beautiful cathedral and being in the castle was such an amazing experiece I loved it.

There's no lifts, and I was at the very top but this adds to the fun. No wifi, but your staying in a castle so who cares. There's no televisions in the rooms either but again it doesn't matter. Clean nice shared bathroom. You do feel like your renting a students room while they're not at uni a little but it's just a very lovely place. Clean and warm and a fabulous experience. Bring ear plugs, walls are really thin between rooms.

  • Valerie H

  • November 2014

an excellent stay in the castle

  • B Wilson

  • October 2014

Unique B&B opportunity

I very much enjoyed my stay at Durham Castle--how often do you have the opportunity to overnight in a castle keep.

On the downside, there are many many steps involved to ascend to the rooms (about which they do give prominent notice). I strained my back a bit, hauling my suitcase up the stairs. I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone in poor physical condition; on the other hand, I found it absolutely worth the effort. The breakfasts in the Great Hall were wonderful--excellent food and the opportunity to meet other interesting people staying there--not surprisingly, many of them are history buffs also!!

  • Robin Holz

  • September 2014

Durham Castle University lodging

We stayed in the building called "The Keep".

My husband and I stayed in the double ensuite room, and our daughter stayed in one of the single rooms with shared bath. Both rooms were comfortable and very clean, and suited our needs perfectly. at the time we visited (mid September), there were hardly any other guests there, so my daughter pretty much had the bathroom to herself. The rate included a breakfast buffet served in the Great Hall. The breakfast was not cooked to order, however they did offer quite a variety of hot and cold foods, and you can't beat the location.

Durham is a beautiful city, and has a nice small town feel when walking around the market square. Everyone that we encountered at the castle and the cathedral, and in town was very nice. We even got a free tour of the castle (included in our room rate). Durham Castle is quite stunning, as well. We arrived by train, and although the castle is a relatively short walk from the train station, it is rather hilly. I would recommend taking the bus from the train station if you are traveling with luggage. The bus drops you off directly at the castle.

The only other thing that I will mention is that there is no elevator, so if you have trouble with steps, this wouldn't be a good place. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely return again!

  • Barbara B

  • September 2014

Room itself quite basic.

Wonderful, atmospheric location fully compensated for shortcomings in actual accommodation. Breakfast food OK but again, dining in Hall was a great experience. Went on an excellent tour of the Castle after breakfast led by a witty and knowledgeable post-graduate student and this beautifully completed a memorable stay.