No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durham Castle

4Visit England Assessed Campus Ratings explained
Palace Green , Durham, DH1 3RW
Durham Castle dates from the 11th century and is part of a World Heritage Site and has an excellent central location adjacent to Durham Cathedral in the centre of the city. The Castle is one of the colleges of Durham University and offers can offer accommodation during University vacations. A wide variety of comfortable bedrooms is available, ranging from standard rooms with shared facilities to magnificent state rooms, which are available throughout the year

A full English breakfast is included and will be served of our medieval Great Hall. In addition to this, at anytime during your stay, you are welcome to join one of our public guided tours on a complimentary basis.
Picture of Durham Castle, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham Castle University lodging
We stayed in the building called "The Keep". My husband and I stayed in the double ensuite room, and our daughter stayed in one of the single rooms with shared bath. Both rooms were comfortable and very clean, and suited our needs perfectly! at the time we visited (mid September), there were hardly any other guests there, so my daughter pretty much had the bathroom to herself. The rate included a breakfast buffet served in the Great Hall! The breakfast was not cooked to order, however they did offer quite a variety of hot and cold foods, and you can't beat the location!
Durham is a beautiful city, and has a nice small town feel when walking around the market square. Everyone that we encountered at the castle and the cathedral, and in town was very nice. We even got a free tour of the castle (included in our room rate). Durham Castle is quite stunning, as well!
We arrived by train, and although the castle is a relatively short walk from the train station, it is rather hilly. I would recommend taking the bus from the train station if you are traveling with luggage. The bus drops you off directly at the castle.
The only other thing that I will mention is that there is no elevator, so if you have trouble with steps, this wouldn't be a good place.
We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely return again!

Reviewed by
Robin Holz

From New Windsor, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room itself quite basic. Wonderful, atmospheric location fully compensated for shortcomings in actual accommodation. Breakfast food OK but again, dining in Hall was a great experience. Went on an excellent tour of the Castle after breakfast led by a witty and knowledgeable post-graduate student and this beautifully completed a memorable stay.

Reviewed by
Barbara B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the castle
Place was spot on wonderful the only thing that let it down was I wasn't comfy with bars on the windows what if the was a fire. I couldnt get out the door as I was 87 steps to my room once I was in. I stayed in coz I've bad legs and back, so a tv in the room would of been nice. there wasn't even a radio. it would of been nice to have a view of the river or town as we were so high up but you cant have it all but a true breath taking place. very friendly staff would defo go back if they get tv in the rooms.

Reviewed by
B Ashley

From Newbiggin by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxed break spent in the amazing Castle Keep in the beautiful city of Durham.
Unique and never to be forgotten experience. Highly recommend the free Castle tour.

Reviewed by
A Wilkinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an excellent stay in the castle

Reviewed by
Valerie H

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was basic and clean, it was a bit of a trek to the toilet and shower.

Reviewed by
M Goodwin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent student digs
It might only be student accommodation but I found it quite sufficient for my needs. The room was cosy with a comfortable bed (blanket provided in the cupboard), a washbasin was built into the cupboard unit so you only had to leave your room to shower and use the toilet which is shared with 4/6 other rooms but it was so quiet that I only ever saw one other person in there. The desk was well-lit with a handy socket for a laptop. The linen and towels were of good quality and the toiletry freebies / complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits added a nice touch. The views of the surrounding countryside were stunning from my room in the Keep which I requested when booking. Apparently there was a wedding reception in the Great Hall, however the thick castle walls ensured that no noise escaped and I was lucky enough to be serenaded by the cathedral bells for a couple of hours during the evening which added to the atmosphere (bell-practice details on cathedral website). Breakfast was self-service and eaten in the Great Hall, a very interesting venue in which to enjoy as many courses as you cared for although as other reviewers have noted it is best to get downstairs as soon as they start serving (8am on this occasion) as the cooked food can dry out under the hot-plates. This was my only quibble as the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I will look to arrange future business trips to coincide with the university holidays so that I can repeat this enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Bury St Edmunds, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean enough but definitely over priced.
The room was clean, nice view over the courtyard but run down, definitely not worth the £95 fee, I'd say it's more like a £40 room. Decent if you just want somewhere to put your head down but the accommodation sounds better than it actually is.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel style rooms at Hotel prices
We chose to stay a night Durham Castle after a wedding reception held there. The castle and grounds are truly beautiful and we expected the room to be the same. We were very disappointed indeed. The room was very clean and of a reasonable size, but at best very basic, with cheap melamine furniture and soft furnishings that seem they haven't been updated since the 70's. Not old and rustic fitting with setting, but cheap and nasty. Our two main issues were with the heating and the plumbing. When we first entered the room my partner and were immediately hit with how cold it was. After a quick look at the radiators i couldn't see a way to turn up the heating. After asking the very disinterested young man with his feet up on the desk at reception if there was a way to adjust the heating, he said "uh dunno you'll have to ask a porter" . Very helpful. When we eventually managed to track down a porter we were told " We don't really put the heating on when the students aren't here, and we weren't expecting the weather to change". When pressed if there was anything we could do make the room warmer he said he could get us an extra blanket, which really was no help at all. The room was so cold that night both my partner and I couldn't sleep a wink, we both lay there shivering on the rock hard bed. To make matters worse, our room seemed to have the plumbing for the entire building running through the ceiling meaning the constant sound of gushing water overhead made sleep an impossibility.
We were later told that the rooms are let most of the year as student digs, and that's exactly what you get. You really do feel like you are just crashing out at a student digs.
If we'd paid £30-£40 for the night we'd have accepted you get what you pay for and not been to bothered. But for £100 a night, we'd at least expect a decent bed, and a warm, quiet room. Instead we got the worst nights sleep of our lives. After speaking to two other couples that stayed that night they both told the same story of a shivery sleepless night and I know one pair complained to reception.
I must say the wedding reception itself and event staff were magnificent, they made for a truly memorable day, sadly the accommodation made for a painfully unforgettable night.

Reviewed by
a harding

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exciting Adventure.
Felt proud to stay in the Keep of Durham Castle.It was so exciting,interesting and atmospheric.Like something from Harry Potter.
Woderful!

Reviewed by
M King

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next