Reviews - Holiday Inn DUMFRIES


The Crichton, Bankend Road,Dumfries & Galloway, Dumfries, DG1 4ZZ

Price From 125.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Susan D

  • October 2014

Fantastic stay at the new Holiday Inn , Lovely staff & would do anything for you . Very impressed .

After booking the weekend back in May when it was still under the Aston management I was very impressed by the reviews , however latkey it was taken over my the.

Hoilday Inn & seen some bad reviews so I didn't know what to expect . On arrival my partner & I where early so we were welcomed in to the Bar area to have a drink when then got a complementary drink when it got to 2 pm. Our room was beautiful & very clean . Very quiet surroundings & setting , grounds where beautiful but couldn't help the weather . Our meal was lovely on the Friday night & the waiter Ben was fantastic at his job , so friendly & always willing to help so pleasant &' professional a great asset to the hotel . He brought us room survive with a smile that evening . The following morning at breakfast we were greeted by a very pleasant Irish Man Andrew the Manager , who again so pleasant &'professional would do anything to accommodate us . The breakfast was lovely & a huge buffet variety . By the Sunday I was saddened to leave , will be booking for next October . This is a lovely beautiful hotel & was able to view the executive room before we left which was stunning . I would give this a 4/5 star hotel especially who it came to the staff . So give this hotel a chance . Wondeful weekend . Thanks again Andrew & Ben ;))))) see you next year Susan & Gary

  • A J

  • September 2014

Great experience

Had a fabulous stay.

Visited a lot of hotels in my time , this has to be the best I've experienced . Highly recommend this fantastic venue,.

  • M Weaver

  • August 2014

Good value

Booked last minute.

Got exec suite for £110 inc breakfast for 4 which I thought was great value. Location on Crichton estate lovely. Orig building. Lovely. Modern extension is ugly but nice internally. They need to sort out aircon in rooms as unbearably hot but I think this is in hand. Restaurant was fine and overall good stay

  • Andrew B

  • August 2014

Excellent customer service and a good business meeting room / facilities

  • j curry

  • August 2014


The hotel itself was very clean , staff where very helpful.

But it was the surroundings / university grounds that would keep us coming back again . Beautiful old buildings to look out at while you enjoy a very tasty meal in wheelers restaurant

  • d bennett

  • August 2014

very good weekend

clean pleasant

  • elizabeth mcneill

  • August 2014

great getaway totally relaxing

Really enjoyed our stay the staff were very attentive and pleasant, the accommodation was great as was the food, we had a great wee break and time to recharge the batteries.

  • Stephen Bell

  • July 2014

All round good. Superb location for hospital.

Looked for hotel due to Mother being rushed to Dumfries Royal Infirmary.

Found this hotel. It is in a superb location for the hospital only a mile or so along the road from it. Staff are friendly but I also think you have to be friendly to them as well. Room is adequate. Bed quite comfortable. We booked originally for one night but ended up staying for 4. The reception staff were very helpful in the respect. Domestic staff cheerful and couldn't have helped more. They gave us a fan due to the heatwave when we were there. Bar and dining staff polite and only to keen to help us.

  • Andrew C

  • July 2014

Nice Hotel in Nice Surroundings

A little better than your standard Holiday Inn and set in the beautiful Crichton estate.

Clean room, decent shower, reasonable wifi, nice breakfast and very helpful and pleasant staff

  • Julie B

  • June 2014

Hotel is fine but we were unaware this had changed to a Holiday Inn.

Marco Pierre White was fantastic. Only thing spoiled stay was Sunday morning breakfast which could only have been described as chaos. Not enough staff, too slow turnaround. You would think that if the hotel was full then some extra staff wouldn't have gone a miss. Disappointing to end the stay like that as that's unfortunately what now sticks in our mind