No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Dumfries

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Crichton, Bankend Road,Dumfries & Galloway, Dumfries, DG1 4ZZ
Welcome to Holiday Inn Dumfries, your accommodation choice for Southern Scotland. Only 1 mile away from the largest town of Southern Scotland, Holiday Inn Dumfries boasts a beautiful setting in the picturesque Crichton Estate giving fabulous views of Dumfries & Galloway. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. Holiday Inn Dumfries is ideal for business travellers, with 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the South of Scotland and only 90 minutes away from Edinburgh and Glasgow. From streams to summits and forests to shores, the landscape in Dumfries & Galloway is naturally inspiring, influencing the region’s history, culture and everyday life. After a busy day, relax in our stylish refurbished restaurant Wheeler's of St James's by Marco Pierre White and as well as our extensive A la carte menu, choose from a daily and Sunday set menu offering something to suit all appetites and pockets, including children. Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Dumfries.
Picture of Holiday Inn Dumfries, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does a Family Funeral count as Leisure?
more options for reason for trip might be a good idea!
Comfortable, quiet night after long drive up from S. Coast.
Lovely shower, with a seat and non-slip base, and well -fitting door.
good location on the edge of Dumfries.
Very nice restaurant - damask table cloths and napkins, friendly service, charming waitress - Lynne.
Friendly helpful reception, though they had run out of disposable razors and I had left one behind!
Helpful, too, when husband inadvertently left a jumper in the room on departure.
And they even organised sunshine for both days!

Reviewed by
Brenda A

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart, comfortable and outstanding customer service
I stayed at this hotel for one night in late October 2014. It is situated in a beautiful part of Dumfries on the Crichton estate that is well worth a wander after breakfast if you have time. It was an ad hoc booking and I arrived late but the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The room itself was very pleasant: clean, modern/contemporary in design and spacious. The only problem (for me) was that because the room was designated 'disability' accommodation, it had a green night light that I found quite distracting for my sleep. Because of the disability provisions, there was no way to turn this off. When I raised the matter the following morning, the manager offered to refund my night's stay, which was a great gesture and far more than I was expecting. Obviously, this issue only affects rooms for disabled guests and I am sure the other accommodation, furnished and fitted to the same standard, would be fine. I travel all over the world and have BA Gold and Hilton Diamond status and this hotel was on a par with the best customer service I have found anywhere in 2014. Exceptional and greatly appreciated.

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked a twin room n the Top Floor and was given a double room on the Second Floor.
The sockets near the kettle did not work - reported when I left.

ManagementResponse

Dear Chic Wilson, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are sorry for the confusion with regards to the room allocation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Connie, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Chic Wilson

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay at the new Holiday Inn , Lovely staff & would do anything for you . Very impressed .
After booking the weekend back in May when it was still under the Aston management I was very impressed by the reviews , however latkey it was taken over my the. Hoilday Inn & seen some bad reviews so I didn't know what to expect . On arrival my partner & I where early so we were welcomed in to the Bar area to have a drink when then got a complementary drink when it got to 2 pm. Our room was beautiful & very clean . Very quiet surroundings & setting , grounds where beautiful but couldn't help the weather . Our meal was lovely on the Friday night & the waiter Ben was fantastic at his job , so friendly & always willing to help so pleasant &' professional a great asset to the hotel . He brought us room survive with a smile that evening . The following morning at breakfast we were greeted by a very pleasant Irish Man Andrew the Manager , who again so pleasant &'professional would do anything to accommodate us . The breakfast was lovely & a huge buffet variety . By the Sunday I was saddened to leave , will be booking for next October . This is a lovely beautiful hotel & was able to view the executive room before we left which was stunning . I would give this a 4/5 star hotel especially who it came to the staff . So give this hotel a chance . Wondeful weekend . Thanks again Andrew & Ben ;))))) see you next year Susan & Gary

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Currie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Had a fabulous stay. Visited a lot of hotels in my time , this has to be the best I've experienced . Highly recommend this fantastic venue,.

Reviewed by
A J

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Booked last minute. Got exec suite for £110 inc breakfast for 4 which I thought was great value. Location on Crichton estate lovely. Orig building. Lovely. Modern extension is ugly but nice internally. They need to sort out aircon in rooms as unbearably hot but I think this is in hand. Restaurant was fine and overall good stay

Reviewed by
M Weaver

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and a good business meeting room / facilities

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good weekend
clean pleasant

Reviewed by
d bennett

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great getaway totally relaxing
Really enjoyed our stay the staff were very attentive and pleasant, the accommodation was great as was the food, we had a great wee break and time to recharge the batteries.

Reviewed by
elizabeth mcneill

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
The hotel itself was very clean , staff where very helpful. But it was the surroundings / university grounds that would keep us coming back again . Beautiful old buildings to look out at while you enjoy a very tasty meal in wheelers restaurant

Reviewed by
j curry

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next