No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Dumfries

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Crichton Bankend Road, Dumfries, DG1 4ZZ
Welcome to Holiday Inn Dumfries , your accommodation choice for Southern Scotland. Situated only 1 mile away from the largest town of Southern Scotland, Holiday Inn Dumfries is within the picturesque Crichton Estate giving fabulous views of Dumfries & Galloway . Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. Holiday Inn Dumfries is ideal for business travellers, with 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the South of Scotland and only 90 minutes away from Edinburgh and Glasgow . From streams to summits and forests to shores, the landscape in Dumfries & Galloway is naturally inspiring, influencing the region’s history, culture and everyday life. After a busy day, relax in our stylish refurbished restaurant Wheeler's of St Jame's by Marco Pierre White and as well as our extensive “A la carte” menu, choose from a daily and Sunday set menu offering something to suit all appetites and pockets, including children. Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Dumfries.
Picture of Holiday Inn Dumfries, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Had a fabulous stay. Visited a lot of hotels in my time , this has to be the best I've experienced . Highly recommend this fantastic venue,.

Reviewed by
A J

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Booked last minute. Got exec suite for £110 inc breakfast for 4 which I thought was great value. Location on Crichton estate lovely. Orig building. Lovely. Modern extension is ugly but nice internally. They need to sort out aircon in rooms as unbearably hot but I think this is in hand. Restaurant was fine and overall good stay

Reviewed by
M Weaver

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and a good business meeting room / facilities

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good weekend
clean pleasant

Reviewed by
d bennett

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great getaway totally relaxing
Really enjoyed our stay the staff were very attentive and pleasant, the accommodation was great as was the food, we had a great wee break and time to recharge the batteries.

Reviewed by
elizabeth mcneill

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
The hotel itself was very clean , staff where very helpful. But it was the surroundings / university grounds that would keep us coming back again . Beautiful old buildings to look out at while you enjoy a very tasty meal in wheelers restaurant

Reviewed by
j curry

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel in Nice Surroundings
A little better than your standard Holiday Inn and set in the beautiful Crichton estate. Clean room, decent shower, reasonable wifi, nice breakfast and very helpful and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round good. Superb location for hospital.
Looked for hotel due to Mother being rushed to Dumfries Royal Infirmary. Found this hotel. It is in a superb location for the hospital only a mile or so along the road from it. Staff are friendly but I also think you have to be friendly to them as well. Room is adequate. Bed quite comfortable. We booked originally for one night but ended up staying for 4. The reception staff were very helpful in the respect. Domestic staff cheerful and couldn't have helped more. They gave us a fan due to the heatwave when we were there. Bar and dining staff polite and only to keen to help us.

Reviewed by
Stephen Bell

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is fine but we were unaware this had changed to a Holiday Inn. Marco Pierre White was fantastic. Only thing spoiled stay was Sunday morning breakfast which could only have been described as chaos! Not enough staff, too slow turnaround. You would think that if the hotel was full then some extra staff wouldn't have gone a miss. Disappointing to end the stay like that as that's unfortunately what now sticks in our mind

Reviewed by
Julie B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, would highly recommend
The hotel was lovely. Set in beautiful grounds on a quiet road. The room was modern and very comfortable and the bed is one of the best hotel beds I have ever slept in.

Reviewed by
gary bjorck

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next