No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Dumfries

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Crichton Bankend Road, Dumfries, DG1 4ZZ
Welcome to Holiday Inn Dumfries , your accommodation choice for Southern Scotland. Situated only 1 mile away from the largest town of Southern Scotland, Holiday Inn Dumfries is within the picturesque Crichton Estate giving fabulous views of Dumfries & Galloway . Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. Holiday Inn Dumfries is ideal for business travellers, with 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the South of Scotland and only 90 minutes away from Edinburgh and Glasgow . From streams to summits and forests to shores, the landscape in Dumfries & Galloway is naturally inspiring, influencing the region’s history, culture and everyday life. After a busy day, relax in our stylish refurbished restaurant Wheeler's of St Jame's by Marco Pierre White and as well as our extensive “A la carte” menu, choose from a daily and Sunday set menu offering something to suit all appetites and pockets, including children. Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Dumfries.
Picture of Holiday Inn Dumfries, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money. Hotel is in a great location.

Reviewed by
John D

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A "quality" hotel in Dumfries who can't heat the rooms
I booked this as a treat for my wife as our normal hotel was fully booked. I paid extra for an executive room and the first offered was behind reception and next to the lifts so we would get little peace. I asked to be moved and we were placed on the 2nd floor in a room which was not cleaned and was freezing. Again complained and they cleaned the room and placed a small electric heater in the room which took the edge off the temprature. I spoke to people in the dining room and Bar and discovered this was a common issue in many rooms and one guest indicated this had been ongoing for 7 months as he was a regular guset in the hotel. In addition both my wife and I have come home and now have serious upset stomachs which may be related or may not be related to the hotel. All in all a very disapointing weekend away.

Reviewed by
D Jardine

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvelous!
Difficult to find in the dark! Not well sign posted! But worth finding!

Reviewed by
james m

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel BUT freezing cold room
Had it not been for the fact that the room was freezing everything would have been 5 star. After the event we spoke to friends who had also been there and had experienced the same thing where heating system did not work but staff provided convector heater Surely if rooms are booked in advance room temperature could be checked and maintained. Staff were excellent. I might recommend it to friends but would stress that they phone before arriving to check room temp !!!!!

Reviewed by
m currie

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
We stayed here for a wedding we attended, and upon arival we were kindly upgraded FOC to a more superior room than I had originally booked - this was a great start.
The room was clean and tidy and we'll presented and the bathroom was spotless.
We had a great night sleep and the cooked breakfast was lovely along with great service.
The hotel exceeded our expectations.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant
Eating/Seating area could be more brighter & friendly

Reviewed by
G Tinkler

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel - very clean and comfortable. Nice quiet location in a beautiful estate. Excellent breakfast. No complaints.

Reviewed by
Sandra G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aston Hotel
Excellent hotel !

Reviewed by
JO N

From KILBIRNIE, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very much like a premier inn
There is no doubt that The Aston is situated in the most amazing grounds and provided enviable access to both the Crighton Church and Eastbrooke Hall if you are attending a wedding at either of these venues. However, the hotel itself is very mediocre. The rooms are a good size and have tea and coffee making facilities but there are no biscuits and only one type of tea (Builders Brew) in the room. The standard rooms only offer a very 'compact' shower rooms, if you wish or need to use a bath, you are obliged to upgrade and pay the premium for a 'Deluxe' room. The bed is indeed, as advertised a super king-size, but sadly on our visit the sheets in the bed were just too small for the bed and the duvet actually left a inch round the sides od the top sheet visible when as it perched on the bed.
Yes, an excellent place to stay for its handiness to a church and reception venue if you have the delight of being invited to one in the Crighton estate, but in the opinion of the writer, not worth the costly £100+ a night charge for the limited facilities in the room.

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Excellent hgotel in a great location

Reviewed by
W Anderson

From Armagh, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next