No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Dumfries

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Crichton, Bankend Road,Dumfries & Galloway, Dumfries, DG1 4ZZ
Welcome to Holiday Inn Dumfries, your accommodation choice for Southern Scotland. Only 1 mile away from the largest town of Southern Scotland, Holiday Inn Dumfries boasts a beautiful setting in the picturesque Crichton Estate giving fabulous views of Dumfries & Galloway. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. Holiday Inn Dumfries is ideal for business travellers, with 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the South of Scotland and only 90 minutes away from Edinburgh and Glasgow. From streams to summits and forests to shores, the landscape in Dumfries & Galloway is naturally inspiring, influencing the region’s history, culture and everyday life. After a busy day, relax in our stylish refurbished restaurant Wheeler's of St James's by Marco Pierre White and as well as our extensive A la carte menu, choose from a daily and Sunday set menu offering something to suit all appetites and pockets, including children. Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Dumfries.
Picture of Holiday Inn Dumfries, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel in Nice Surroundings
A little better than your standard Holiday Inn and set in the beautiful Crichton estate. Clean room, decent shower, reasonable wifi, nice breakfast and very helpful and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round good. Superb location for hospital.
Looked for hotel due to Mother being rushed to Dumfries Royal Infirmary. Found this hotel. It is in a superb location for the hospital only a mile or so along the road from it. Staff are friendly but I also think you have to be friendly to them as well. Room is adequate. Bed quite comfortable. We booked originally for one night but ended up staying for 4. The reception staff were very helpful in the respect. Domestic staff cheerful and couldn't have helped more. They gave us a fan due to the heatwave when we were there. Bar and dining staff polite and only to keen to help us.

Reviewed by
Stephen Bell

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is fine but we were unaware this had changed to a Holiday Inn. Marco Pierre White was fantastic. Only thing spoiled stay was Sunday morning breakfast which could only have been described as chaos! Not enough staff, too slow turnaround. You would think that if the hotel was full then some extra staff wouldn't have gone a miss. Disappointing to end the stay like that as that's unfortunately what now sticks in our mind

Reviewed by
Julie B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, would highly recommend
The hotel was lovely. Set in beautiful grounds on a quiet road. The room was modern and very comfortable and the bed is one of the best hotel beds I have ever slept in.

Reviewed by
gary bjorck

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Hotel and Restaurant food very good. Room excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Points off for lack of attention to detail in Restaurant i.e. wrong wine brought to table and correct bottle decorked in kitchen. Forgot to offer bread rolls. Had to ask for cutlery, condiments, at evening meal and cutlery at breakfast. Bill was incorrect but rectified. Staff seemed somewhat harrassed in restaurant. However, we enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Reviewed by
Evelyn B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
stayed 2 nights..............room 111 had a problem with bathroom exctractor fan "on" continuously,
had difficulty sleeping.
however when we talked to reception the following morning, we were offerred room 110 just opposite the corridor.
second night no problem sleeping. excellent hot buffet breakfast both mornings.

Reviewed by
George Crossley

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Lovely location, great value, nice quality and spacious room. A little disappointed with food in the MPW Wheelers restaurant. Lounge bar snack was great though

Reviewed by
s meyrick

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money. Hotel is in a great location.

Reviewed by
John D

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A "quality" hotel in Dumfries who can't heat the rooms
I booked this as a treat for my wife as our normal hotel was fully booked. I paid extra for an executive room and the first offered was behind reception and next to the lifts so we would get little peace. I asked to be moved and we were placed on the 2nd floor in a room which was not cleaned and was freezing. Again complained and they cleaned the room and placed a small electric heater in the room which took the edge off the temprature. I spoke to people in the dining room and Bar and discovered this was a common issue in many rooms and one guest indicated this had been ongoing for 7 months as he was a regular guset in the hotel. In addition both my wife and I have come home and now have serious upset stomachs which may be related or may not be related to the hotel. All in all a very disapointing weekend away.

ManagementResponse

Dear D Jardine, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry if the room accommodation, cleanliness and level of service received did not meet your standards. Rest assured that we take all comments seriously so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve. Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. Sincerely, Charisse, IHG Care

Reviewed by
D Jardine

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvelous!
Difficult to find in the dark! Not well sign posted! But worth finding!

Reviewed by
james m

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next