No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendorgal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lusty Glaze Road Porth, Newquay, TR7 3AD
Glendorgal is refreshingly different, set in 17 acres of private headland overlooking the tumbling waves of the Atlantic and providing guests with magnificent views of the beautiful North Cornish coastline. Guests can enjoy a small and intimate ‘boutique’ style hotel steeped in history. With 26 bedrooms which are stylishly decorated with a beach theme running throughout, many of the bedrooms enjoy views across Porth Beach and the coastline. These views can also be enjoyed whilst relaxing in the conservatory of the Watermark Brasserie and Bar which offers delicious food and wine. The Glendorgal fulfils every dream of the perfect Cornish holiday.

All 26 En-suite bedrooms are stylishly decorated equipped with all modern facilities, using the beach as inspiration from the names of the bedrooms to the colours of the linen and furnishings. Many of the bedrooms have stunning views of the Cornish coastline which enables guests to relax and unwind.

Glendorgal also features a heated swimming pool and a fitness room. There is also a fitness centre, and private on-site parking is available.


After enjoying the crystal clear waters of the Cornish coastline and Porth Beach, why not unwind in the comfort of the Watermark Brasserie and Bar which is the perfect spot in which to enjoy a delicious meal. Watch the sunset as you dine in style and indulge in the menu that caters for all tastes, with seafood as a speciality and wherever possible are locally sourced.

Newquay is the UK’s surf capital hosting many high profile national and international surfing competitions, as well as surfing there are many other adrenaline-charged sports available. For those who prefer a more relaxed and idyllic break there are beautiful gardens, museums, galleries and Cornish heritage to enjoy. Places of interest such as Newquay Zoo, Blue Reef Aquarium and the Eden Project are just a few of the attractions to be enjoyed by all.

Please note, single sex parties (ie "Hen/Stag" Parties) are not accepted. The hotel reserves the right to ask any such parties to vacate the property.
Picture of Glendorgal Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prices have gone up. Parts of the hotel are beginning to look a little tired.
This was a good hotel for the price, but I am not sure it is now worth the £78 I was charged for a single person. Staff were friendly. My biggest issues were a rusty radiator, and the hallway carpets were pretty grubby, and I would not expect that for the money. It does have great views from the dining room and good location to a beach.

Reviewed by
Peter A

From Draycott Cerne , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average hotel in beautiful location

Reviewed by
emilia k

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
Certainly would have been upset if I had paid the hotel asking price of £168 for one night. Even the £80 paid via laterooms.com was over the odds for this hotel which was once a really good hotel. Room was clean, reception staff almost none existent.

Reviewed by
D Brearley

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing place to stay with the excitement of Newquay on the doorstep!
Before staying at this hotel I perused many different websites and reviews in order to generate an image of what to expect and having now stayed at this hotel I am shocked at the number of bad reviews that this hotel has received.
Myself and my partner were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived at this hotel to the minute we left. We stayed for three nights in a sea view room that was nothing short of very good quality. Overall the room was spacious, tidy and inviting, the bed was comfortable, the en-suite was clean, and the view was beautiful. The rooms were cleaned everyday and our towels, bins etc. were changed also.
On our last night we dined in the hotel's restaurant (which also has a beautiful view) and were very impressed with the quality of our meal and the value for money of both food and drinks. My only criticism here is that we felt that the bar worker was very nervous and may have been new to the job so was rather slow, however the food server offered a very good level of service.
The hotel is away from any main roads or busy nightlife and is flanked by two beautiful beaches and as a result we had three peaceful and undisturbed nights sleep. With that being said it is also only a stone's throw from Newquay town center so if (like us) you like having a wander and some lively nightlife then it is only a 5-10 minute walk away.
Overall I think this is a lovely hotel in a perfect location for both couples and families who seek a comfortable and relaxing place to stay with all the excitement of Newquay on their doorstep!

Reviewed by
Nikki S

From Mexborough, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Views of Porth Bay were stunning, but not worth £90 per night for room only. Could not believe that the charge for breakfast was £12 if you only wanted cereal! Full English only consisted of one sausage, one piece of bacon, one egg, one hash brown, 1/2 tomato & a mushroom. The evening meals were very limited for choice but the quality was generally good, that was until we ordered a side order of bread to go with the fish & chips at a cost of £2.95, first issue was that it did not arrive with the meal but about 5 minutes after we had started eating, when it did arrive it consisted of 2 slices of medium cut sliced loaf & 2 small packs of butter (approx £0.10 of bread & £0.05 of butter), it was stale & one slice had mildew on the top corner! This was not eaten & when the waitress came to the table to ask if all was ok with the meal she was politely told no on two counts, firstly the cost far exceeded what was served up in relation to the side order & also that there was mildew on what had been served! She was horrified, apologised and offered to change it, to which the reply was NO! We would not return to this hotel unless it was updated & the charges were set at a rate of a 3 star hotel. I have since stayed at a 4 star hotel for 2 nights, breakfast & evening meal (£29 allowed for evening meal ) plus 3 rounds of golf, free use of swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room & fitness gym all for the sum of £200 (2nights room only at the Glendorgal)

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location!
We only stayed here one night so did not make full use of the amenities but it was clean and comfortable and spacious. It was a very warm night so the fan was not adequate for the room and I did not want to open windows as these looked directly out onto a path to the self catering accomodation so security would have been an issue but otherwise lovely. The location was amazing and we spent a lovely morning exploring the beach right by the hotel and headland at Porth. There is a lovely cafe just off the beach on the hotel side of the bay where we had breakfast in the sun. The tide does come in quickly so be warned that you may not be able to access the steps to the hotel from the beach at anything but low tide! Lovely friendly receptionist. Would recommend for a visit and stay

Reviewed by
S Simpson

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very average poor value for money hotel
Fantastic location but poorly run hotel in serious need of some TLC. At the price it should be better than the average 'coach party hotel' it feels like. The hotel was lucky that laterooms.com got back to me before other hotels I emailed

Reviewed by
R Furniss

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
Room had very limited view. Toilet seat broken. Room temperature control very poor (sweltering all night). Room not cleaned at all next day, towels not changed, cups left dirty, no tea, coffee or milk replenished in room. Menu in restaurant very limited. Meant to be gourmet, but short list of choices included two types of burger !

Reviewed by
t burton

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Easter Stay for 2 nights
Our second stay in this hotel. Ground floor room, generous size, ground floor - had large patio window, so at night impossible to get any other ventilation into the room unless you leave the patio door open which may be a problem in warm weather. Clean and comfy but slight musty smell - probably a problem with a water leak from the shower base - the silicone seal was missing from the tiled shower floor. Nevertheless great value, crisp bed linen soft white towels changed daily. Well decorated room. Did not sample food. Great location.

Reviewed by
steven a

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's okey
Stayed 4 years ago when it had clearly been decorated or maybe just the room I stayed in. I really enjoyed my stay then. This time was average I bad to say. Seemed dated and unmaintained. Furntiure chipped and old. Carpets dirty and stained. Rooms are very spacious and bathrooms are fine. I think you could do a lot worse but the place needs money spending on it to make it a top resort. The views and settings are second to none which can't be detracted from the place. If it's a safe environment you will have this 100%. Just a shame as I expected just a little bit more

Reviewed by
A Willis

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next