No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ormonde House Hotel

3AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Southampton Road , Lyndhurst, SO43 7BT
Ormonde House Hotel is set just 5 mins walk from Lyndhurst, the centre of the New Forest and is opposite the open heathland. Dogs are most welcome.
Superior bedrooms have zip and link superking/Queen beds, sofas, all with bath/shower, some with single or double whirpool bath. Rooms are available on the ground, First and Second floor.Second floor rooms have sloping beamed ceilings... The Restaurant enjoys a reputation for its home made bread and puddings and offers freshly prepared local fare. Wide selection available at breakfast and served till 10 on Sat and Sun.Bike storage available.
High Tripadvisor reviews no 1 in Lyndhurst 2009 / 2010

A minimum of 2 days is requested over all weekends.
Picture of Ormonde House Hotel, Lyndhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely 2-night stay
Lovely little hotel and friendly staff. We ate in the hotel one evening (part of a special deal package) and it was most enjoyable. Good choice at breakfast. Nice and close to walk into Lyndhurst. Cons would be the creaky floorboards, which could be noisy, especially other guests at night & in the morning. But no real complaints and would choose to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Ormonde hotel and facilities was perfect for a weekend break, and good value for money, with quality food and alot of variety for breakfast and fresh products for dinner. The staff were very approachable and helpful and the location of the hotel was only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Lyndhurst.

Reviewed by
V Webber

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One nighter
Good all-round hotel with very pleasant and obliging staff. The evening meal was excellent and good value and the wine list not too bad, either. Early check-in (2.30 pm onwards) will be helpful for those who like time to settle in before walking (do please walk!) the ten minutes into Lyndhurst if you want to try the eateries there. Breakfast is all you could want, unless you are VERY hard to please. On checking out we were asked if we could suggest any improvements to the room facilities (as opposed to "Everything all right?") and we couldn't think of anything - a good indication of the quality. Minor criticism - the hotel was a bit too warm, but that's purely subjective, innit?

Reviewed by
S B

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value.
A nice hotel with pleasant staff and superb breakfast, the only criticism is that our bed sheet had blood on it and although clean its not what you want to see, we also found a hair in the bed and the bedroom needed a serious dusting.
I would still stay here again, they just need to improve their standard of cleanliness

Reviewed by
steven j

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Forest retreat
Homely, local and good atmosphere. Road busy outside but rooms are well sound proofed. With windows closed during the busiest of times it's not a problem at all. During the night it's dead quiet. Stylish and well equipped rooms.

Reviewed by
Jan J

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late rooms deal
Excellent value at the late rooms discounted rate of £89 for 2 people for 2 nights B&B. Friendly staff, very clean room.

Reviewed by
P Cassey

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Local hotel for business purposes
I stayed at this hotel with my wife as I had business in Southampton. We arrived very late Sunday night to find a nice note on the door indicating where my room was. The stay was pleasant, the room was modern and warm. The food was excellent and the staff very accommodating for a business customer. Breakfast could be booked early and evening meals had various sittings. All in all an excellent week. I highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Moore

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 3 nights and had a really nice experience, the staff were excellent and the hotel was very clean and comfy, breakfast was also excellent with alot of choice, we would highly recommend and would stay here again when we are in the area, many thanks for a great stay.

Reviewed by
a knight

From Peacehaven, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room excellent food very good location excellent have stayed in big named hotels elsewhere and not had as good experience we had here

Reviewed by
david morse

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
A lovely stay in a very clean hotel, close to the town and forest

Reviewed by
Jonathan S

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next