Reviews - Ormonde House Hotel


Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, SO43 7BT

Price From 177.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Lynne H

  • November 2015

Cosy and well-situated

On the edge of Lyndhurst village, the New Forest is right on the doorstep.

The hotel is comfortable and the room we had - a superior, with whirlpool bath - was well-appointed. Traffic on the main road made it a little noisy at times, however. The mini fridge was weld, as was the fresh milk. Breakfast was extremely good. We also had dinner one evening; good food (if a little too salty for our taste) and reasonable value for money. There is no lift, and very steep stairs.

  • a harrison

  • August 2015


Would certainly visit again they were very friendly and helpful

  • C Potts

  • May 2015

A friendly hotel

Ormonde House was very doggy friendly, accommodating me in the bar for dinner so my dog could keep me company.

The staff were helpful and the facilities were good for a small hotel. Treats and towels were provided at the door for dogs. You can walk out into the Forest from the doorstep and town is a couple of minutes walk away. The atmosphere was relaxing and I felt completely comfortable being on my own. I ate at the hotel and found the food to be good with plenty of choice.

  • C Grennan

  • April 2015

Gem of the New Forest

The convenience of the hotel is fantastic because you can leave your car at the hotel and walk (not 10 mins) into Lyndhurst and enjoy a meal and drink without the worry of driving back.

The hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. There is a wonderful selection for breakfast which is very tasty and well presented and although we didn't stay for dinner the menu looked very good. We will definitely be coming back.

  • alex m

  • March 2015

Great service, great food, great location.

  • K Clark

  • March 2015

Home from Home

we found this hotel on the laterooms site and even though we were not looking for a hotel that took in dogs we were so pleased when my husband asked the hotel staff if this was a possibility and they said it was and that we could add the dog to our booking for an extra fee of just £6.00 per night we were delighted.

The staff made us and our dog feel very welcome. The little extras that they provided for the dogs stay such as dog biscuits, doggie bags, towels and covers for the dog to lay on if you wanted them to sleep on the bed with you or to cover the furniture made such a difference. The bedroom was very clean and the bed comfortable and even though there was several other dogs staying there was no disturbance during the night or any time you were in the hotel. My husband and I had a very relaxing and enjoyable 3 night stay with our springer spaniel. We would go back and stay again and would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a nice place to stay with their dog(s). The restaurant was the only place they would not allow dogs to be in. The breakfast each morning was delicious and plenty of variety and quantity of food cooked as you required. The meals in the evening were very good and excellent value for money.

  • Ian davis

  • March 2015

A great place to relax

The lovely town of Lyndhurst was 5 mins walk with lots of great places to eat, drink, hike and cycle.

The hotel staff were attentive, the breakfast was wonderful and the hotel was cosy. I will be going back.

  • Alan S

  • February 2015

Ornonde House Hotel

We were given a suite which was excellent with a kitchen area for our dogs.

  • g luxford

  • January 2015

hotel very good

the room food and service were brilliant we enjoyed it that much we are going back

  • Celso Abreu

  • October 2014

Great place

Wonderful hotel, decor reminds you of the 80s but it is very clean, wonderful service and the breakfast is amazing.

Rooms are spacious and airy.