No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Hotel Gleneagles

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Asheldon Road , Torquay, TQ1 2QS
One Of The highest rated 3 star hotel in Torquay.

The hotel that inspired the famous TV masterpiece BBC Sit-com Fawlty Towers, hotel Gleneagles attracts custom from all over the world. Situated overlooking Ansteys Cove with stunning views across to Sidmouth.
All 41 bedrooms have private Balconies or Patios many with sea views. The majority of the hotel bedrooms have been re carpeted, many have been redecorated and internal bedroom decorations are being updated to provide more guest comfort.
Lift access to most rooms. Restaurant has covers for up to 100, a lounge bar, outdoor pool and south facing sun terrace, delightful conservatory overlooking garden and Bay.
The hotel even boasts it own private path way to Anstey's cove.
A short stroll to the Marina and several local attractions. A warm and welcoming hotel offering good service and good value.
Picture of Best Western Hotel Gleneagles, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good return visit
Nice big room but decor tired. Bathroom too small to dry yourself after shower. Shower soaked bathroom floor when used had to dry in bed room and use towels to dry floor.

Reviewed by
Roy S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff at the hotel were genuinely friendly and helpful. The communal areas of the hotel were spotless, unfortunately the room was not. The toilet had not been flushed, there were cobwebs behind the curtains and pelmets, lots of dust in corners and behind the headboard was very dusty. I asked for a twin room and got two beds pushed together and the springs could be felt through the mattress. The mattress was badly stained.

Reviewed by
s cooke

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely airy room
After checking in, the walk through the corridor was a bit off-putting. The narrow passageway had a scruffy carpet and the decorating was a sombre grey. The room however was a very pleasant surprise. Clean, bright and airy. Overall and nice place to stay - just wish the evening restaurant opening hours were a bit longer as we would have liked to eat earlier than 7 pm. But, the food and service was good and the dining location very pleasant.

Reviewed by
S Miskin

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
Lovely Hotel with swimming pool - but dark because of surrounding trees. Had lovely room with balcony. Bathroom shower didn't work - either red hot or cold. Moved to another lovely room - shower still rubbish. Breakfast hot buffet hit and miss with available items but service excellent. Evening menu limited but a lovely pub just up the road - The Kents. Our second visit, so probably won't reurn again

Reviewed by
james m

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid

Reviewed by
W Ashton

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality time
Having forgot to renew our passports we decided on a short break Monday to Thursday to the "English Riviera". Having read decent reviews we booked the hotel which initially stated no sea view. What a pleasant surprise when we given the room named Seaspray which had a wonderful view over Ansteys Cove part of Babbacombe Bay. The room was large and clean with a decent balcony. The staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast (included) covered all appetites, great. There are a few shops and a local pub (Kents) close by and be prepared for steep walks when you venture out - great for pumping the heart. The only downsides were the terribly creaky floorboards all over the hotel and the mobile phone reception in our room which was at best poor or at worse non existent but the view made up for this. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely go back, thanks in part to all the staff who were so friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed by
c flowers

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms very tired and in need of attention

Reviewed by
Dave D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
a room with a lovely view, pleased to get the view at short notice, bed nice and large , asked for extra tea and milk at reception and was provided some. Restaurant views great and service speedy

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very High Standard of Deco and Cleanliness
I booked two single rooms for a single night stay for a dive trip and at a very good B&B rate through late rooms. I was massively impressed by the interior finish. Very modern, stylish, clean and good quality throughout the hotel. Nice lounge/bar area. Dining area looking over the bay. Bedroom was small but totally adequate and comfortable.
The only thing I saw that was below par was the swimming area. The pool looked great but the surrounding area needed a good sweep. Maybe because it was early season and the pool wasn't being used it had been ignored a little but as it is very visible from the breakfast room it would be worth some attention for appearances sake.
We decided to eat in the hotel as it was late when we got there. Food was good rather than excellent and very prompt.
Very friendly and cheery staff.
At the advertised full room rate I would say this wouldn't disappoint. At the rate we paid it was a genuine bargain, If you are used to business hotels/4* this shouldn't disappoint as a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
I visited Torquay to meet with a supplier and stayed at the BW Gleneagles for two nights. The cost of the room and the location of the hotel were the reasons I booked in to stay. The room was perfectly set up and the bed was comfortable. The room had a balcony and whilst the outside of the windows and door could have done with a wipe down, the room was very clean.
The buffet breakfast is one of the best I've had!

Reviewed by
P Carroll

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next