No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grasmere , Grasmere, LA22 9SW
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay.
Picture of The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely trip away
Really enjoyed our stay at the Wordsworth hotel. Excellent value for money and lovely and cosy (especially as we arrived in the snow!) facilities all great, food beautiful. Would definitely recommend!

Reviewed by
Louise R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we/were given the bath was so high I could not use it so we were moved to a smaller room which was very poor. The lady on reception was not very helpful. There was no one to help with luggage we were told where the lift was. My husband who should not be carrying bags had to deal with them and as he is going up to 80. We have stayed in other hotels in Grasmere and never had a problem.

Reviewed by
G Waring

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful little country hotel right in the centre of Grasmere
Ideal location, lovely open fire in the reception area and top class breakfast in the morning. Complete with a beautiful snowy view as we awoke to a white covering. Lovely relaxation area which is open until late so perfect for a swim and jacuzzi before bed.

Reviewed by
Emma G

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service provided by all staff.
The hotel takes centre stage, within the village of grassmere. Excellent location. Greeting on arrival at the hotel most welcoming. I can not praise the staff of this hotel enough, they provided great service, responding promptly to any request made. And the food what can I say, superb breakfast through to dinner the standard never slipped. Some of the hotel looks a little tired, but I felt it was part of the charm. Very clean throughout. Will definitely recommend people to visit.

Reviewed by
A Gougazian

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem
lovely quality hotel booked same day so we were really pleased with our choice
Didn't eat on evening at hotel but had a drink and Scot who served us was really friendly
Roaring fire in reception was really welcoming
Love it we will be back - soon !

Reviewed by
Susan C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Grasmere, unlike Daffodil Hotel
A birthday treat to Grasmere. The hotel was a lovely building with pleasant grounds set in the middle of the village and with a river-side walk accessed from the car park.
The local paper shop sells card sized walk guides and we chose Alcock Tarn Friday and Grasmere Lake Saturday.
Saw our first red squirrel.
Overall the Hotel was excellent.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 24 needs some attention! Bathroom needs an update. Furniture in room looking shabby. Carpet needs a good clean. Overall with our room we were very disappointed!
we dined in the dove bistro which was very nice and staff were very friendly.


Reviewed by
A Hall

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stress bustin
This was my second stay at the Wordsworth and again had a fabulous break. I travelled on my own to de stress and nothing was too much trouble..fantastic spa treatments any yet again a delicious evening dinner and breakfast..didn t want to leave! Will b back.

Reviewed by
Lorrayne B

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great after upgrade
We got a good price on a room for a two night stay but it turned out to be one of the smallest rooms in the hotel on the ground floor. It was too warm with no windows to open, and the radiator made a constant loud hum. We tried to sleep but couldn't so we phoned reception who gave us an upgrade to a lovely big room facing the village. We were really pleased with this but the next day we were told the room was no longer available and we would have to move to the other tiny room next door to our first one. It's obviously a lot harder to accept a room downgrade after an upgrade. When we got back from a day out w were told it was ok and we could stay in the nice room. So, a relief in the end, but a bit of a stress. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna was very relaxing. The food in the dove bistro was lovely. The staff were generally very good and polite, handling most matters without troubling the customers.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next