No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grasmere , Grasmere, LA22 9SW
The 4 Star historic Wordsworth Hotel and Spa has undergone some major refurbishments and impressive improvements. The 2 AA rosette award winning signature restaurant serves superb food and for more casual dining you can try the Dove Bistro which serves tasty food and local Ales. Most of the bed rooms have been refurbished and upgraded, all have Egyptian cotton sheet duvets, flat screen televisions, complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee facilities and en-Suite bathrooms,guests have free use of the heated swimming pool, Spa pool and Sauna. Oxley's Spa offers a range of fantastic treatments, make sure to make an appointment, the hotel has a lift and ground floor rooms for guests with special needs. The hotel is in the centre of Grasmere with wonderful views of the Village and the Fells from our 2 Acres of riverside gardens.

Picture of The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely lovely hotel
My daughter (24) and I stayed in the Scott Suite Room 11 which was large very comfortable beautifully decorated and had a balcony. Breakfast was great even for us vegetarians. Right in the heart of the village.

Reviewed by
A Soderberberg

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wordsworth treat
The Dove Bistro served delicious food and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was very nice although the hollandaise sauce on the eggs Benedict needed to have a peppery and vinegary taste- it was a little bland.
We had the courtyard room- being the only room available. It was very clean with a very comfortable bed. However it was very hot during the night as this room only has a small window. The room however did have a fan which we had on all night.
The gardens were beautiful.
We would definitely return but would want to stay in a more luxurious room.

Reviewed by
L johnston

From barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed a family break last week. lovely location . nice room, fairly spacious. our rooms were over kitchen area ,so very warm, even with fan on. also limited view and noise consttantly from generator.
booked a good deal in advance , would have expected better. despite all that, hd a lovelytime n garden etc. would def return. mark at restaurant lovely and very efficient

Reviewed by
Lynne S

From Ayrshire, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel
I rate this hotel highly and the service was excellent. All the staff are friendly, helpful and seem to try very hard to please.
Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Arden

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place but no Gym
The hotel was lovely and grounds fantastic and peaceful, the staff were also very helpful. However booked this hotel specifically as the (laterooms) website stated it had a gym and spa. Whilst the spa was fine the gym had been recently done away with without the website being updated, which was disappointing and annoying.

Reviewed by
J Winstanley

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The expensive suites are not worth the money.
No help offered with luggage to inaccessible room. One remote for 2 TV's in 2 rooms and we were told this should be adequate when we complained. No waste bin in bedroom. Low beams meant very hard to get into bed.

Reviewed by
S Levell

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small problem
No hot water in morning of our visit. Took 5 minutes of standing near shower watching cold water being wasted before I gave up.
Pity management didn't inform everybody as it was a general problem.

Reviewed by
B Evans

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful .I got the room with NO View .It looked out onto a fire escape ,Brick walls all around. Very noisy all night due to some electrical system which switched off for approx 30 seconds But then started up again for a greater length of time. It kept me awake nearly all night.There was very heavy rain as well that was beating off the metal fire escape and also very noisy.
I think I was unlucky having been given that particular room.Other than that the hotel was very nice.

Reviewed by
Philip V

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the Wentworth last weekend. The rooms lovely, the staff attentive and its situated in a great great location close to Grasmere. We could not fault the service and food and the only negative we had was that the jacuzzi didn't work

Reviewed by
Justin Powers

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be great with a little more attention to detail
I booked this weekend break at the last minute, so ending up paying a high price for the best suite. I expected "wow", and it was ok, but could be so much better. The hotel seemed a little tired and under-invested. My partner and I are keen spa users and a sauna is a key feature for us when making a booking, yet the sauna and jacuzzi were both out of order which was deeply disappointing, and no recompense was offered or suggested for this lack of amenity. The bathroom in the suite was also disappointing, a miserly supply of towels and tiny toiletries, with ghastly bright lighting that couldn't be dimmed. Perhaps my expectations were too high; for the price paid we were expecting Claridges but instead we got Holiday Inn. Still, the location is a nice setting with lovely gardens and the sun shone so we enjoyed the weekend.

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next