No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grasmere , Grasmere, LA22 9SW
The 4 Star historic Wordsworth Hotel and Spa has undergone some major refurbishments and impressive improvements. The 2 AA rosette award winning signature restaurant serves superb food and for more casual dining you can try the Dove Bistro which serves tasty food and local Ales. Most of the bed rooms have been refurbished and upgraded, all have Egyptian cotton sheet duvets, flat screen televisions, complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee facilities and en-Suite bathrooms,guests have free use of the heated swimming pool, Spa pool and Sauna. Oxley's Spa offers a range of fantastic treatments, make sure to make an appointment, the hotel has a lift and ground floor rooms for guests with special needs. The hotel is in the centre of Grasmere with wonderful views of the Village and the Fells from our 2 Acres of riverside gardens.

Picture of The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 24 needs some attention! Bathroom needs an update. Furniture in room looking shabby. Carpet needs a good clean. Overall with our room we were very disappointed!
we dined in the dove bistro which was very nice and staff were very friendly.


Reviewed by
A Hall

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stress bustin
This was my second stay at the Wordsworth and again had a fabulous break. I travelled on my own to de stress and nothing was too much trouble..fantastic spa treatments any yet again a delicious evening dinner and breakfast..didn t want to leave! Will b back.

Reviewed by
Lorrayne B

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great after upgrade
We got a good price on a room for a two night stay but it turned out to be one of the smallest rooms in the hotel on the ground floor. It was too warm with no windows to open, and the radiator made a constant loud hum. We tried to sleep but couldn't so we phoned reception who gave us an upgrade to a lovely big room facing the village. We were really pleased with this but the next day we were told the room was no longer available and we would have to move to the other tiny room next door to our first one. It's obviously a lot harder to accept a room downgrade after an upgrade. When we got back from a day out w were told it was ok and we could stay in the nice room. So, a relief in the end, but a bit of a stress. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna was very relaxing. The food in the dove bistro was lovely. The staff were generally very good and polite, handling most matters without troubling the customers.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location quality hotel
We have visited the wordsworth hotel a few years ago

Reviewed by
P Cooke

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely lovely hotel
My daughter (24) and I stayed in the Scott Suite Room 11 which was large very comfortable beautifully decorated and had a balcony. Breakfast was great even for us vegetarians. Right in the heart of the village.

Reviewed by
A Soderberberg

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wordsworth treat
The Dove Bistro served delicious food and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was very nice although the hollandaise sauce on the eggs Benedict needed to have a peppery and vinegary taste- it was a little bland.
We had the courtyard room- being the only room available. It was very clean with a very comfortable bed. However it was very hot during the night as this room only has a small window. The room however did have a fan which we had on all night.
The gardens were beautiful.
We would definitely return but would want to stay in a more luxurious room.

Reviewed by
L johnston

From barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed a family break last week. lovely location . nice room, fairly spacious. our rooms were over kitchen area ,so very warm, even with fan on. also limited view and noise consttantly from generator.
booked a good deal in advance , would have expected better. despite all that, hd a lovelytime n garden etc. would def return. mark at restaurant lovely and very efficient

Reviewed by
Lynne S

From Ayrshire, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel
I rate this hotel highly and the service was excellent. All the staff are friendly, helpful and seem to try very hard to please.
Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Arden

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place but no Gym
The hotel was lovely and grounds fantastic and peaceful, the staff were also very helpful. However booked this hotel specifically as the (laterooms) website stated it had a gym and spa. Whilst the spa was fine the gym had been recently done away with without the website being updated, which was disappointing and annoying.

Reviewed by
J Winstanley

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next