No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haigs Hotel & Mckee's Brasserie

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
273 Kenilworth Road,Balsall Common, Coventry, CV7 7EL
Haigs Hotel is ideally located in the Midlands area for both NEC visitors and those who wish to visit the local delights of the Warwickshire countryside including famous towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Warwick. As a privately owned hotel our guests are assured of comfort and hospitality from our friendly and dedicated team. And what better way to end a busy day than to relax and enjoy a meal in our restaurant, Mckees Brasserie, which offers Modern, British cuisine in a relaxed setting.
Picture of Haigs Hotel & Mckee's Brasserie, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend
The Staff was very friendly but this place is in a need of redecoration.. badly. The reception and dining room are ok but the rooms are poorly decorated, the shower was very old and water pressure poor as well, the darkest light ever in the bathroom, everything in room is old and hasn't been changed for years. If you are looking for the cheapest hotel and don't worry about the quality of the room then you're fine. I would not book again but for less demanding folk looking for a one night stand it will do.

Reviewed by
Aga M

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget accommodation and a comfortable stay
When we arrived the accommodation looked rather grotty from the exterior. However the interior was somewhat better. The lady on reception was friendly and welcoming although I did have sympathy for her as she seemed extremely busy serving both at the reception and the bar. Our room was pleasant enough although I did note a mouldy damp stain in one corner of the bedroom which had clearly been painted over. This did not bother us too much as we were only using the room to sleep and not stay in during the day. Overall the price reflected the quality of the accommodation which I must add was purchased via a Groupon. I do not fel that I would pay the full price next time.

Reviewed by
k kaur

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at Haigs hotel April 2014
This hotel is perfect for us when visiting family nearby. Room comfortable and quiet. Bathroom has tub, shower and quality bath towels. Dinner very good. Continental breakfast included in price. Excellent value for money. Will continue to book this hotel when in this area.

Reviewed by
Aase Dunckley

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mattress had seen better days
Shower very weak
Staff very helpful
Breakfast excellent
For the price, good value

Reviewed by
Anna M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Greeted with smiles at reception and shown directly to room. The room was clean with bottled water, tea and coffee and biscuits. Large chunky bath towels. £38.00 to include full english breakfastwhat a deal. Had two course evening meal, a la carte. Buy two course for £18.00 get another two course free! We both had crab fish cakes and rack of lamb, it was lovely. No complaints and I would recommend this to anyone.

Reviewed by
Michael K

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful service.

Reviewed by
Jasmine F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay for what you get
Clean, the bed in room20 needs new matress, bathroom tiled floor needs grouting and bath sealant sorting, breakfast hours need extending, especially on a Sat/Sun, 9.30am finish is too early.£38 is cheap but anything else would be too expensive!

Reviewed by
sean O

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This time we stayed in room 15 which was quiet being at the side of the building. Bathroom adequate with very large soft towels; much appreciated. Dinner very good. Staff friendly and obliging. Most certainly continue staying here when visiting family nearby.

Reviewed by
A Dunckley

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad Nailcote Hall was full ....
Had a lovely overnight stay here on Saturday, attending a Hen Party being held at Nailcote Hall which was full at the time. Glad I cam across Haigh Hotel, very friendly and helpful front of house staff, room comfortable and clean, and a lovely full english breakfast the next morning. Could not fault my stay and so very cheap. A big thank you.

Reviewed by
Diane Kincaid

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
all areas of the hotel grubby, and shabby , spider webs dangling in the dining area with big spider,window frames filthy Stair well looked like it was never cleaned. Big problem trying to turn taps on and then off unable to turn cold tap off on shower at all one day. Area between wall and taps on the bath brown orange colour not nice.All mirrors were cloudy and unclean. Pillows were flat, old and poor quality uncomfortable .Lighting in bathroom very dim can't see to put make up on or floss teeth properly. everything in room needed freshening up horrid smell in room ALL the time maybe stale paint maybe stale cigarettes. Food very poor quality on ordering evening meal, chips were unpalatable, lamb was tough, brie and red onion tart in fact was a stale cold poor quality quiche! Crockery old and marked, teapot lid cracked with black lines ugh! cutlery marked all felt dirty nothing was clean gritty feeling to all crockery. all these things need to be addressed and improved i hope this was helpful

Reviewed by
Trish J

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next