No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Willowsmere

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Ambleside Road , Windermere, LA23 1ES

"The Willowsmere is an imposing Lakeland slate building dating back to around 1850, originally a gentleman's residence it is now the friendliest
place to stay in Windermere! We pride ourselves on our warm welcome, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast menu. The Willowsmere is
tastefully decorated to a high standard and includes the luxuries you would expect if staying in a fine English hotel.

The Guesthouse has 13 bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities and all recently refurbished including new luxury pocket sprung beds and those little extras that make your stay a pleasant and relaxing one.

There are 2 lounges for guests to use and a large landscaped secluded garden where you can enjoy a drink from the well-stocked cellar or from the honesty bar or from our extensive whisky selection. Both lounges and all bedrooms
have free WiFi access.

The Willowsmere has a large off road car park, and is centrally located; 8 minutes walk from Windermere centre and train station and about the same from the tranquil shores of Lake Windermere.

The building is of course non-smoking but we do have smoking areas outside.

REGRETFULLY WE CANNOT ACCEPT PETS NOR CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS OLD.

PLEASE NOTE OUR RECEPTION CLOSES AT 8PM WITHOUT PRIOR ARRANGEMENT.


Picture of The Willowsmere, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
My wife a I stayed for 6 days, excellent hosts, excellent accommodation and excellent breakfast, home from home......

Reviewed by
Mark Glanfield

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Willowsmere - a real gem
A lovely friendly guet house, worth a stay.

Reviewed by
Michael Halpin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accomodation will definitely be back

Reviewed by
Elaine Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay would go again

Reviewed by
L Turrell

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant
Was given pot of tea on arrival,very welcoming.Anthony,Jason and all the Staff are so helpful and go that extra mile.Breakfast is beautifully cooked and what a choice,if you go out hungry then it's your own fault.My room was lovely, from the quality bed linen on the comfy bed to the fluffy white towels and the complimentary tray, all kept immaculate by a lovely little lady.Quality,Quality.Hope to return someday

Reviewed by
C Doling

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review of excellent holiday accomadation
my female was taken ill on second day and help was very good at breakfast but we had to go home sadly but will consider going back again

Reviewed by
BRIAN P

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really great place to stay
Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly and offered a cup of tea. Anthony -the owner- was helpful in giving info regarding where to eat etc. we were just sorry that we only stayed the one night! The room / bed were extremely comfortable and easy to find.

Reviewed by
Maureen Oliver

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Fab hotel. Spotlessly clean with a nice breakfast. Hosts were great - very friendly. Our only negative comment - Decor and furniture a little old and tired, could do with a facelift.

Reviewed by
R Burgess

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over the Top
This is a fabulous place. The friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts was outstanding. The breakfast was a full one and you had a choice of many first-rate meals. It is a great place to go hiking from and to return to.
Felt like home. Would definitely return tomorrow!!!

Reviewed by
L Jung

From Missouri, England
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got to give it a go!
Very warm welcome including a hot drink!
Very clean and with tasteful decor.
Excellent friendly staff/ owners.
Food is fantastic and service matched.
Rooms cleaned daily.
Very well situated for a nice walk to Windermere or Bowness.
Cheap taxi to town on lazy day!
We are planning our return already.

Reviewed by
Dale Maughan

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next