No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rosslea Hall Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Rhu , Loch Lomond, G84 8NF
Overlooking the Firth of Clyde in the picturesque village of Rhu, close to Helensburgh, Rosslea Hall Hotel really makes the most of its stunning
setting. This beautiful corner of Scotland is a great place to relax with family and friends - and its romantic setting makes Rosslea Hall Hotel in Rhu simply perfect for a couples getaway. For the business traveller our accommodation offers a professional level of service with all the amenities you will need whilst away from the office offering free Wifi and parking for all of our guests.

Whilst here guests can take advantage of our award winning restaurant offering a variety of dishes made with fine local produce, followed by a
night cap in our recently refurbished lounge bar.

Only a forty minute drive from Glasgow and 20 minutes from Loch Lomond means that our guests can enjoy a variety of Scotlands main Attractions
during their stay!
Picture of Rosslea Hall Hotel, Loch Lomond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Situation
This hotel is friendly and staff attentive. Room was lovely but food could be better value for money.
Portions on the small side. Otherwise and really great stay. Would go again.

Reviewed by
Susan Hayes

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unhappy
We were very disappointed with some aspects of the room, first of all the bed, which on first impressions was huge and as expected, however after testing it out for comfort i discovered a hard ridge down the middle, on further inspection we discovered its was two mattresses and two bases put together this was very uncomfortable also the mattresses were as hard as rock.
My husband reported it to reception and we were offered another room with a standard double bed but the room was also smaller, and as we expected a superior room we stuck with the one allocated, this did without a doubt spoil a romantic weekend, neither my husband or myself were able to sleep close together and may as well been in single beds
The toilet had two flush option and neither worked very well, the standard of complimentary shampoo and body wash was poor, no conditioner was provided.
The bell which i believe was from a near by church chimed every hour and 15 minutes i hardly slept a wink, the only reason my husband was able to sleep slightly better was due ti a six hour drive to the location.
The hotel had a restaurant and bar food, as we didn’t want a la carte we opted for the bar food which we both made the mistake of going for the special which was a three course meal for a very good price however the portions were so small it was ridiculous, we didn’t complain for the simple reason the food itself was good, so how can one say possible complain about the size of the meal? please be aware neither my husband or myself are big eaters, but this portions was a joke, the same has to be said for the breakfast, we noticed people going up to the buffet for extra. the toast and cooked breakfast on offer was very small, one small slice of toast, not a normal standard slice, one tiny sausage, one slice of bacon just the lean bit half a small tomato, again nice food but very small
portions.
I would never have paid the hotel rates, let alone the late room price, i am still suffering from back pain form the rock hard bed
so all in all very a very expensive waste of money
In conclusion if you like hard beds with a ridge in the middle because they don’t offer a genuine king size bed, are not to bothered how long you spend in the bathroom trying to flush the toilet, and eat like a sparrow, and deaf so the constant chiming bells day and night won’t be an issue then this is the place for you.

Reviewed by
Pamela S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel staff very friendly and efficient

Reviewed by
J Barrett

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Location & Brilliant Customer Service!
Room had comfortable beds overlooking River Clyde with sailing boats etc constantly on parade! This is an ideal wedding venue with large function and conference rooms leading out onto a garden terrace. Our warm, friendly welcome from Debbie on Reception was echoed by Emma who looked after us with drinks on the terrace.
In our room (12) I found the bathroom mirror above the basin was in shadow so difficult to put on makeup as the ceiling spot was too far away.
Our evening meal was served but had been brought to us by mistake so there was a 45minute wait for our food which was tasty when it arrived, though beef done in treacle will not be to everyone's taste! At breakfast my black pudding slices were so thin they were like rubber and totally uneatable.
The Manager Don McGregor immediately took action and we were fully refunded for both dinner and breakfast. Overall a pleasant peaceful stay and I will be returning!

Reviewed by
Fiona S

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The staff were all friendly, we were impressed with the rooms which were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very good and there was a wide choice available.

Reviewed by
c ashton

From Hindhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not 4 Star ... just average
Don't come with a heavy suitcase, there's no lift. Don't expect everything on the breakfast menu to be actually available, they ran out of brown bread, mushrooms and haggis in the short time we were there. Can it be so difficult to order enough of the food that you use every day? The church clock across the road chimes every quarter of an hour so that you will always know what time it is even when it's dark: a thoughtful touch. Then, when you finally get to sleep there's somebody who gets up at six and makes a lot of noise before coming to sit outside your window and have loud conversations, possibly one of the breakfast staff? It was OK, just.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Wonderful break. Staff fantastic, nothing too much trouble even to them getting a surprise cake for hubby and singing to him!! Beautiful hotel. Thank you.
Eileen x

Reviewed by
E Riley

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on the road
this is a very good hotel the only comment I would make was in checking in it was anything but a warm greeting it looked as if it was to much trouble to her it did not make you fell welcome the rest of the staff where very good the bar food was good

Reviewed by
matt c

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a most relaxing break
This was a late booking at this hotel and we were not disappointed from check in to check out all staff were very pleasant and was no trouble for them to have a conversation with customers, could not fault room in any way clean and very warm,food we had in hotel was of good quality and plenty of it, will certainly return in future.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
Very nice hotel set in lovely surroundings. Would look splendid in the summer. Ask for a sea view if you can. Great welcome and easy check in/out. Very happy with the quality of the room. Biggest bed we have ever slept in. Great place to wind down and relax in.

Reviewed by
r wilson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next