No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Watermead Guest House

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
83 High Street, Chard, TA20 1QT
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner.

Watermead is a friendly, family run Guest House where a warm welcome awaits you. An elegant Victorian villa located at the top of the High Street, but in a quiet position set back some 50 metres along our own private driveway.
Within our 9 comfortable bedrooms we offer a wide range of high quality bed and breakfast accommodation, suitable for both short and longer stays for either business or leisure.

All bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, flat screen digital television, toiletries, hairdryer, alarm clock radio and central heating.

Our large private car park is directly in front of the house and has ample space for up to 12 vehicles. The shops, inns, restaurants and amenities of the town are just a short stroll away.

Freshly cooked, hearty English breakfast (or vegetarian/lighter options) made with locally sourced produce are served in our light and spacious dining room with conservatory overlooking the garden.

The historic town of Chard is an ideal base for exploring the many delights of Somerset, Devon and Dorset or for breaking the long journey to Cornwall. The Jurassic Coastline (for the keen fossil hunter!) and the ever-popular
River Cottage are both within a scenic 25 minute drive.
Picture of Watermead Guest House, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Warm welcome from Trudy & David.( and George the dog!) Very good at providing helpful info on area and things to do.
More like staying with friends than in a B&B.
Only slightly adverse comment - need extractor in bathroom/shower. Room 2, not sure about others

Reviewed by
Michael P

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very accommodating and helpful. Friendly welcome. Good food. Ideal for family.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oki
Very good for a short stay, owners very welcome, breakfast outstanding. Just go and try it.

Reviewed by
mario s

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five star quality
Excellent guest house! Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with a delicious breakfast too. A perfect over night treat. Thank you very much.

Reviewed by
Graham Corfe

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would come again
Excellent nights stay only booked at short notice. The hosts were welcoming and gave us lots of hints of where to eat and where to park when visiting Lyme Regis. The room was clean and a comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent weekend at the Watermead Guest House.
Lovely guest house with good parking. Very friendly owners and excellent breakfasts.
Chard Museum is almost opposite and is very well worth a visit.
And you can enjoy a fine walk around Chard reservoir and nature reserve, and watch the birds from a hide on a pier built out into the reservoir.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Were immediately made welcome on arrival with a tray of tea taken sitting in the garden. Homemade biscuits were always available. (Sorry we did eat quite a few!)
Breakfast, taken in the dining room was delicious, using locally sourced produce. Choice was good and varied and the presentation excellent.
The only downside was that the bathroom was a little small.
We will certainly return again in the future.

Reviewed by
eileen m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.

Reviewed by
chris p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable experience
we really enyoyed our stay .Everyone was prpared to go the extra mile to make our stay superb

Reviewed by
janet c

From DERBY, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful and tranquil
I was so pleased with everything about this beautiful guest house.The owners were so accomodating and helpful.

Reviewed by
katrina M

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next