No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blyth Hotel

2AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road , Southwold, IP18 6AY
Voted in the Telegraph Newspaper Top 10 Boutique Hotels in England (March 2009)! A delightfully refurbished family run hotel just 5 minutes walk from Southwold's famous colourful beach huts or the town centre. Interior has been fully re-styled by Laura Ashley and Hudson Reed. Lovely relaxed dining offering simplistic english cuisine with a modern twist. A bright, fresh approach for this beautiful edwardian hotel. Minimum 2 night stay over weekend periods and mostly a minimum 3 night stay over easter weekend and bank holiday weekends - please call reception to check availability as these terms can be waived if the hotel has late availability. Single night stays at weekends are subject to availability and are released nearer to the date.FINALISTS IN EADT SUFFOLK FOOD AWARDS 2008 BEST RESTAURANT 2 YEARS RUNNING!
AA 2 STAR SMALL HOTEL 85% MERIT SCORE!

Please note that pets are allowed in some of our rooms at a charge of £5.00 per night. Please contact the Hotel in advance to confirm your room allows pets. Slip beds are charged at £20.00 per child age 12 and under including breakfast.

Deposits -
Your Credit / Debit card will be charged £50.00 as a non-refundable deposit to guarantee your room reservation. Please note if more than one room is booked £50.00 per room will be taken. Your deposit will be subtracted from your final bill on departure. All Deposits paid are non-refundable. If cancellation is necessary outside fo the 48 hour notice period, we will happily transfer your deposit to an alternative date of stay although we cannot guarantee the same laterooms room rate agreed at the time of the original booking.

Cancellations -

If cancellation is necessary with less than 48 hours in advance, you will be charged one night's accommodation rate per room booked.
The 48 hour notice period starts at 2pm, 2 days before you are due to check in.

The Hotel reserves the right to charge your nominated Credit / Debit Card, provided at the time of booking, for cancellations made in breach of the Hotel's policy without any additional consent being required.
In the unfortunate event that you cut your break short due to unforeseen circumstances, then management reserve the right to charge you for the remainder of your stay. The charge will be applied to your credit / debit card without prior consent being required.

Picture of Blyth Hotel, Southwold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovely stay at the Blyth
We love staying here and were extremely pleased to be able to book the Southwold Room at a great rate via Late Rooms. As always, friendly staff, Adnams beer and good food led to a very happy stay. Only one thing niggled this time - our room wasn't made up on our 2nd day as we had taken our key out with us and there wasn't a spare. We had to ask a couple of times for clean cups for our room for our cup of tea the next morning.

Reviewed by
V Campbell

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

But Southwold is expensive
A Wednesday night in October and Southwold was pretty quiet, and yet still £79 for a room the size of a postage stamp. To be fair to The Blythe, they were cheaper than most and the service was friendly and welcoming. The 8am start for breakfast is a little late for anyone needing to be at work the next day but at least they agreed to do me a bacon butty.

Reviewed by
JOHN D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
I often stay at this hotel when I visit Southwold it is very central and within esy walk of the sea and town. The staff are polite and friendly and very helpful.
I thought the breakfast arrangements had improved and the quality of food is good would recommend the Dingley Dell pork sausages.

Reviewed by
E Breen

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel just a bit dated
stayed for one night in the southwold suite which after reading all the feedback was very much looking forward to it
it is a lovely room apart from could do with a very good clean the cobwebs were out of this world even on the lamps on the bedside table and the curtains don't close and bathroom windows don't close

Reviewed by
stacey h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little small, but food was excellent! All in all value for money.

Reviewed by
Helen H

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic accommodation in a good location

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Nice large room

Reviewed by
Allan Gamble

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal hotel to stay close to golf club and shops

Reviewed by
Barbara M

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was poor shower head not clean and air vent fall of dust.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay at the Blyth
On our arrival we were kept waiting at reception while the receptionist was on the phone, our room was very small and claustrophobic with a single wardrobe that wouldnt shut.
The windows would not shut they were still old cast iron ones one was even cracked.The electric socket had a two way adapter plugged in which i considered dangerous. the shower took me twenty minutes to get any hot water, this together with poor breakfast ensures i will not be returning to the Blyth.

Reviewed by
I ATHERSYCH

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next