No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Osborne Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13-15 Osborne Road, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AE
The Osborne Hotel is a licensed 22 bedroom hotel with a 2 star rating from Visit Britain. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne with it's world renowned night life. Being situated in the pleasant suburb of Jesmond, guests enjoy the best of both worlds. We are only 5 minutes walk from Jesmond Dene with its beautiful scenery and lovely walks but only a short drive from vibrant Newcastle City Centre. The breathtaking North East Coast is also a great attraction and only 20 minutes by Metro.

All rooms are ensuite with colour television, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons on request. All prices are inclusive of a full english breafast and VAT.

Situated within the hotel we can also offer you the pleasure of dining in our superb 80-seater Italian restaurant, Spago, where we can provide anything from a tasty snack to a full a la carte meal.

Thinking of that special occasion? We can cater for all manner of events from birthdays to weddings and from business lunches to funeral teas.
Picture of Osborne Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Osborne Hotel
Convenient, clean, comfortable, friendly, good value, no hassles, good wifi, would recommend without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Russell George

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nice, shower quite big, etc. Staff were helpful, hotel decor attractive. Internet access is only available at the reception & rooms at top of the building are up 3 flights of stairs so check where your room is first if you have any problems with stairs - no offer of help with suitcase

Reviewed by
Sue W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic comfort, value for money, good location
Stayed here whilst moving daughter into Jesmond house for uni. Well located and not too noisy on Osborne Road strangely. Parking very very limited but extremely friendly owner of Colts restaurant situated at the back allowed us to leave car in his car park. We went in for a drink to show our appreciation and got 10% discount on food. Well worth a visit. Would stay at Osborne Hotel again as good value. Breakfast very basic but did the trick.

Reviewed by
P B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The staff were very friendly polite and very good manner when dealt at reception the room was nice with TV deck and complement tea and coffee , the breakfast lounge and breakfast will have to give 6 stars in the near furture will come with my wife .

Reviewed by
Mohammed Ishaq

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Excellent location for what i needed,receptionist very helpful and friendly helped out with car parking breakfast was good,restaurant next door was very good,got a good night sleep room on main road but not much road or street noise all in all good place

Reviewed by
peter g

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in a nice part if the city
I stayed for 2 nights and found every member if staff to be helpful snd friendly. I had a room on the very top floor which was OK a bit on the small side. The bed was very soft and the main problem was the heat - the room had a huge window which acted like a greenhouse, even though I left the curtains shut, the cleaner must have opened them. The room was too hot to sleep in. There is a metro rail line close by that is noisy when you have to sleep with the window open too. Got a good recommendation for dinner in first night at a nearby steak place. Breakfast which is include was good too. Overall the hotel room was a a bit too basic for my taste but adequate. Would stay again but maybe pay more for a better grade room.

Reviewed by
Dean B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff shame about the room
lock for door sticky, window not shut properly so noise all night, however staff very frendly and efficent

Reviewed by
N Hartley

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Value for money. I'd def there again.
If you want The Ritz, then pay for the Ritz!!!! This is a good little 'no frills' Hotel. Well done you!!!

Reviewed by
Robert M

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming staff.

Reviewed by
D McCall

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing value for money
I needed to spend a night in Newcastle for an appointment the next. I have never been to the city and knew nowhere so had to take pot luck with the hotel based on price and distance from appointment.
I was very surprised, the hotel was in Jesmond which is a vital area with loads of facilities within walking distance.
The hotel was immaculately clean, everything worked, reception area comfortable and staff extremely helpful. For what I paid I was impressed and intend to go again later in the year with my partner for a look around Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next