No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

2Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-3 Bath Street , Aberdeen, AB11 6BJ
Dating back to 1879, the Royal Hotel provides an unprecedented location in the heart of Aberdeen city centre, close to Rail and Bus Stations and Ferry Terminal to Northern Isles. Shops, entertainment centres and many attractions all within walking distance. Comfortable, privately owned 2 Star hotel with friendly staff.

Serves snacks and meals in Cafe Royal from 10.00am - 9.00pm daily, home cooked to order, majority with fresh Scottish ingredients.

Limited Car Parking is available - not bookable. The entire hotel is a No Smoking establishment.

The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival.

Due to our central location there can be an element of external noise.
Picture of Royal Hotel, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Temperature
The high temperature on the third floor posed a problem, but the electric fan in the room dealt with the very high temperatures

Reviewed by
Kenneth G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for budget
Great location, nice staff, nice bar and breakfast. Big room and comfortable but run down. Good value in an expensive city and perfect location

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Tallaght, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean,warm, central room and hotel

Reviewed by
B Barnett

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good quality hotel close to station and shops. Although it has a lift and great location, not really suitable if you are in a wheelchair as it is on a hill and a cobbled road. Great value for meals in the bar.

Reviewed by
carol t

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic hotel
The hotel was in the centre of Aberdeen and aware this city is very expensive to live in which was reflected in price of hotel compared to standard of hotel. It was the cheapest accomodation around. It was basic but fulfilled my needs well, however be aware there are clubs around with loud music etc.

Reviewed by
S Rakhra

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My home from home.
Good for the price.

Reviewed by
T Avis

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient Central Location
Although not the biggest or the grandest of hotels in Aberdeen the Royal Hotel is situated very conveniently close to the city centre, and is only a few minutes walk from both train and bus stations.
The hotel is very reasonably priced by Aberdeen standards, especially considering its location. The price includes breakfast which is available from 6.00am.
When I first entered the building I noticed that the communal areas such as bar, stairways, corridors and reception had seen better days and was concerned that the room would be the same; however I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the room was in very good condition, and in the week that I stayed there, was kept scrupulously clean.
It would have been nice if wi-fi was included in the price of the room. It wasn't expensive ( £1 or 3 hours, £3 for 12 hours or £5 for 5 days), but why not just stick an extra £1 on the cost of the room and include wireless internet in the price?
The only thing I didn't like at all, but in fairness it is something that is outside of the control of the management, was that the road outside of the hotel was incredibly noisy on occasions - there is a night club round the corner from the hotel and at chucking out time I was awoken by the sound of revelers on the street, and some time later by the sound of the bar staff disposing of all the empties in the wheelie bins out on the street.

Reviewed by
Matthew S

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired, poor hotel
Disappointing stay. Last minute booking. Poor standard of room. Wireless very patch, and TV constantly crackled. Probably was nice once, but in severe need of refurbishment. Food surprisingly good though.

Reviewed by
Tom D

From Edenbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Finding accommodation in Aberdeen is quite hard and expensive but as the saying goes "you get what you pay for" the room I stayed in seemed like it was more for contractors although the food in the bar/restaurant was excellent.

Reviewed by
Denis M

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms could do with being refurbised, loose fittings in bathroom

Reviewed by
dave c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next