Reviews - City Hotel



Price From 147.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Nugent

  • November 2015

Will use City Hotel again

Hotel was very clean & modern, room was very spacious (twin room) and comfortable.

Bar prices are reasonable and not inflated as can be the case with hotels.

  • m mcgrinder

  • July 2015

Felt a bit cheated

I stayed at the city hotel with my mum who is 80yrs old, on checking in we were told that the hotel will have a live band playing later to which I asked if we will be able to hear it from our room as we were tired and really needed sleep, the receptionist assured me that I wouldn't hear the music as my room is on the third floor!!......well I could hear the music from my room so couldn't sleep until the band stopped which was very late, when I mentioned this the next day to a different receptionist she apologised and said in future if we stay ask to have our room on a different floor, I tried to explain to her that when I checked in I did query if I would be able to hear the music and was told no, I should have been told the truth on the night especially as I told them that both my mum and I were tired! not very happy and just felt lied to.

  • May R

  • July 2015

City Hotel

Staff very helpful and friendly.

Excellent location. Bathroom a little tired, very poor lighting. Room comfortable.

  • Kyle W

  • June 2015

Nice but not for the price.

I booked this hotel for my girlfriends birthday and what I will say is that is was well located right beside the foyle river and if you were to get the right room it would have been a nice but if you like me who overpaid for a room that looks at a wall for a view in the morning you will not be so impressed.

The lobby at night become its on nightclub so if you are needing anything from reception you may prepare yourself you talk very loud and end up loosing your voice in the morning.

The breakfast in the morning was average. Buffet so you just grab what you want but again for the price I paid would have expected a bit better quality of food.

We used the fitness suite while we were there but only the jacuzzi and steam room because you have to wear a swimming cap for the pool and they just don't suit me.

Also be aware that you are not allowed to bring your own alachol into this hotel your only allow to consume what you buy in the hotel and if you do bring your own they will confiscate it and return on your departure.

Overall if I was to rate the hotel out 10 it would be a 6

  • jennifer m

  • May 2015

City Hotel

Great hotel.

Very central for getting about derry.

  • J Rushworth

  • April 2015

Great city break

Excellent all round hotel

  • M Patrick

  • April 2015

Great Hotel

Service was very good & staff were very friendly.

Was welcomed & problem with stairs/lift was dealt with very well by the staff. Room was very spacious & comfortable. Would recommend this hotel

  • e cunningham

  • April 2015

You won't have a quiet weekend

Hotel is the typical nice standard hotel.

Staff were lovely. We went Easter weekend so I can't review for other weekends, but I did find the facilities didn't match the amount of people staying in the hotel. Every night the lounge had music which is great if you expect that. nowhere on the website does it say that music will be in the lounge. So if you expect to be able to relax and sit in the hotel lounge on an evening you may not, couldn't get a seat for the amount of people. The breakfast food area is very small and to many staff racing around cleaning tables in a panic for the next arrivals.

  • J Lad

  • April 2015

Second visit was ok could have been better

I booked two nights at the city hotel to visit friends, i struggled to park at the hotel on both nights due to limited spaces and felt this was a let down as have previously stayed at the hotel during a festival when derry was busier and i managed to park.

The gym has dated equipment which was a bit mismatched could do with a refurb. The food I ordered for room service was standard and I wasn't impressed when my room was cleaned the following morning and there was lettuce stuck to the coffee table when i returned. The hotel is nice and the rooms comfortable, in a good location.

  • p browne

  • April 2015

City hotel Derry

Lovely hotel staff, very nice food and fab.

Well worth a visit.