No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - City Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS QUAY , LONDONDERRY, BT48 7AS
The Premier Hotel for 2013 City of Culture, City Hotel stands
impressively on the banks of the River Foyle in the heart of the city
centre. With spectacular views of the river and Peace Bridge on one side
and the famous Guildhall on the other, our location is ideal. Just a
stroll away from the bus station, restaurants, bars and shops in the
city centre it is the perfect base from which to explore the historic
walled city of Derry and the North West.



The hotel itself is bright and spacious with luxurious rooms, great
leisure facilities, extensive conference and banqueting facilities and a
superb restaurant overlooking the river. All our rooms have flat screen
televisions, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, baths in
all rooms and WIFI access.



The health suite is complimentary for all hotel guests use, we have a
15m swimming pool and separate children's pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and
fully equipped gym.



Underground parking is available at the hotel, this is limited to 40
spaces and is on a first come, first served basis, we also offer
discount for guests parking at the multi story car park in the Quayside
shopping centre beside the hotel. Guests can also store luggage at the
hotel complimentary.



The City Hotel has unrivalled reputation for service, winners in
Receptionist of the Year Awards, for the last four years and 2012 Irish
Restaurant awards for Customer Service
Picture of City Hotel, LONDONDERRY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service as always- stay here frequently as guaranteed great service

Reviewed by
Liz Kelly

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room, very convenient location!
We normally stay in bed and breakfasts while traveling, but decided to stay in the City Hotel because of the lower late-rooms price. We were very happy with our decision. The room was big, clean and had a wonderful view. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect for seeing the city and for getting to and from the bus station without a car. We had a great weekend!

Reviewed by
Deborah M

From Goshen, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was fine but breakfast not great. cooked food was cold and that was at 8 30

Reviewed by
teresa g

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Difficult absolutely no leeway to cancel in unforeseen circumstances.
As my business colleague had fallen ill ,I attempted to cancel my booking but this was denied and I would have to pay the full amount.Disappointing.I found the Hotel central,clean and staff helpful .Breakfast at £8.50 was extra .....a typical 'chain hotel' human relations are kept to a bare minimum.

Reviewed by
mark l

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, great value for money

Reviewed by
p hill

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great buzz and busy reception as all hotels should have. Friendly staff. Splendid rooms. Excellent food and breakfast. Excellent location. Parking. Room service available. Staff going beyond the call of duty. No noise entering the bedroom. The city Hotel is known for its good food that many other hotels do not enjoy since the explosion of exccellent restaruants.

Reviewed by
F Lynch

From Lifford, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
we originally booked as a couple but had to take our 11 month old baby last mintue which was not a problem with the hotel staff which were very friendly and helpfull. great time will be booking again very soon

Reviewed by
D HARRISON

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
this hotel was clean and tidy and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, unfortunately both my husband and I found the bed extremely uncomfortable leaving us with sore backs the next day. The room was also very hot, uncomfortably so, and leaving the window open did not appear to help. All in all we were not able to enjoy a good nights sleep. Also very disappointing was the cooked buffet breakfast, not only did it not look appetising it tasted as bad as it looked, neither myself nor my husband were able to eat it and had to settle for toast.

Reviewed by
m hart

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

derry city hotel
Stayed a few times now and like the other times we thoroughly enjoyed our stay,room,staff and service second to none,would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
E Marshall

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A family of 23 people, the range - a nine year- old granddaughter to a 77 year-old grandfather.
Most of my extended family have stayed at least once in the City Hotel and I have stayed there on five occasions.It is usually easy to find an area of weakness in a large hotel but in this occasion I am defeated.From the hotel porter who met us at the entrance through the reception staff,the bar and restaurant staff and on to the morning room-staff ,this is a first-class operation.I had been unwell on my previous stay in January and had required considerable help from the hotel staff.Not only had I received dedicated assistance but on my return, four months later, the hotel manager came to see me in the restaurant to enquire after my current well-being,really do I need to say more.

Reviewed by
john Nelis

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next