Reviews - Bishopsgate House Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Angela K

  • August 2015

Wonderful Place

I would definitely return and recommend.

Great location, food and friendly staff.

  • m cloake

  • July 2015


The room was tired with old fashioned dark wood furniture.

Bed was very comfortable. Decor was like a 60s psychedelic dream. Basin in bathroom cracked light above basin was wonky and had no toggle on its cable. I only found.

Given the cost the standard of accommodation was disappointing eg cracked basin in bathroom with wonky light above it.

  • Bill H

  • November 2014

friendly and relaxed.

  • C Roddis

  • November 2014

A extremely comfotable hotel - would definately make a return trip

  • C Dobson

  • October 2014

Home from Home

Bishopsgate was very comfortable and homely.

We were warned not to try and stroke the dog , which sometimes escapes into the hotel area, because it was likely to bite. This was part of the hotel's charm, however. I'm sure there's a book waiting to be written about it. What a character. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was huge and we had the luxury of a jacuzzi bath, ideal to relax in after a walk on the beach, even if it was slow to fill. Another bonus was the decanter of sherry. What a lovely thought. Our host was friendly, helpful and always on hand and really appears to love her hotel.


  • October 2014

First Retirement Holiday

The hotel is small and very friendly.

Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view across the main street. The restaurant was 1st Class, which meant we ate Dinner in the hotel for a majority of nights. We usually eat "out" more often to get a proper feel of our location, and the restaurants we did try were all really good.

  • Filippo Radicati di Brozolo

  • September 2014

Excellent stay at Bishopsgate Hotel

I am absolutely in love with the place.

The personnel did everything they could to make me feel at home. I stayed in two different rooms (#4 and #1) both nice and cozy. In room #1 I appreciated the extra touch of a sherry decanter for a nightcap. The owner presented me with a plate of canap├ęs that were delicious, while I was working in the common room on a business report. It was a real pleasure staying there, thanks!

  • m hall

  • September 2014

Nice friendly service, lovely clean room with a seaview,comfy bed .good selection of tea coffee.hit chocolate..

biscuits and strathmore bottled water ...generous amount of fine toiletries. Breakfast was very tasty..locally produced food...was a pleasant stay , would book there again ..central location near shops ,pubs,restaurants, pier and puffin island cruises...

  • john c

  • June 2014

Good breakfst

Car Park is very restricted,quiet difficult to park.Receptionist was rather rude and loud, when asking directions to the car park was she put her finger to her lips and told me to 'Sush', because someone was on the phone in reception.If I had not pre-booked I would have walked away there and then.

  • Deborah C

  • June 2014

lovely stay

felt welcome and partner was unwell - no problems staying in the room tea and coffee replenished daily