Grasmere House Hotel

3

70 Harnham Road, Salisbury, SP2 8JN

Price From 168.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Pasparakis

  • September 2013

Lovely hotel with a couple of faults

I thoroghly enjoyed my stay at the Grasmere hotel.

The room was lovely with a little back door that led onto the ample gardens. I was disappointed not to be able to have a bath as the water did not get hot enough and went cold midway through a shower. The bed was enormous and super comfortable. I found the staff a little rude when we left. Overall though I would reccomend.

  • Ricki G

  • August 2013

Loud

A lovely looking hotel-perfect for wedding receptions.

If you are not attending said wedding, then I would advise you to avoid it like the plague, (and any other hotel north of the river for a good couple of miles) How the local residents put up with the noise is beyond me. The rooms are tired but clean, but avoid room 15-directly above the conservatory, it is very small and the 'bathroom' is in the wardrobe. If you stand at the sink and bend over whilst brushing your teeth, your bum hits the door.

I have stayed in better B&B's.

  • S Uddin

  • August 2013

suprisingly central location!

Family and I had lovely short stay at this surprisingly central Salisbury hotel which seemed like a countryside hotel due to view of river and cathedral.

Staff were friendly, room was a good size for family, breakfast was good and the price was reasonable. We also ate out at a lovely Thai restaurant Thai Sarocha (15min walk).

  • L Daniels

  • August 2013

Weddings booked

There were weddings booked two out of the three night stay and we were unable to use both bar and restaurant the noise was also an issue on these nights we would not have booked if we had known this in advance.

  • Fiona G

  • August 2013

Beautiful plum tart with a stunning view to match.

The memory of eating a beautiful plum tart in great friendly staff and guest company, overlooking the gardens and pastoral cathedral scene, remains an experience that stands out of all the hotels I visited over different countries during the summer period.

Miss it!

  • Anna C

  • July 2013

Lovely place to stay

The hotel was really lovely, the view from my window was magnificent with the cathedral.

Bed was comfy and everything in the room was what I needed while I was there. Breakfast selection was very good, I only had one evening meal and that was excellent - I had the slow cooked blade of beef and it was so tender and delicious. The only thing I would make a comment on is that there were a few bits with the bathroom that could be dealt with - broken tile on floor, discoloured toilet brush, towels are bit thin (but I took my own just in case). I would come here again though as it provided me with an excellent base within walking distance of the cathedral etc...

  • Janet W

  • July 2013

midweek Stay

Hotel within walking distance of Salisbury Cathedral and the city centre.

Set within lovely grounds overlooking the river and the cathedral meadows. Ample car parking space. The building is a bit tired and in need of upgrading in order to attract guests. Some areas are underused, particularly the conservatory which opens out onto a lovely terrace and is partly used as a breakfast room. This area could be utilised more fully as a restaurant with a view to attracting more local trade. We had a very nice room overlooking the cathedral. Furniture a little dated but a modern bathroom with a good shower. Breakfast buffet was good and the dishes replenished when necessary. Didn't dine at the hotel so can't comment on the quality of the food. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • alan caine

  • July 2013

GRASMERE HOTEL

Excellent accomodation, helpful staff , nice evening meal, cooked breakfast, loads of it, would have preferred cook to order , as buffet style was a little bit dry

  • J Juhasz

  • June 2013

Calm, quiet and wonderful space in the garden

A pile of dirty dishes was found on the floor of the stairs on my arrival (3 pm).

I mentioned it to receptionist at 5 pm. Same pile at 11.30 pm when I came back from my business. Otherwise above my expectation.

  • Michael H

  • June 2013

Comfortable

This is a very friendly comfortable hotel especially for someone with a disability.

The situation is perfect. Wonderful views of the cathedral, river and fields. The bathrooms and bedrooms are all very large and comfortable. We return regularly. I would say that the one meal we had here was ok but average. The breakfast is quite good but I sadly didn't see any fresh fruit or couisants. I didn't wish to have the cooked breakfast so the alternatives were quite limited.