No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dunstane

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 West Coates, Haymarket, Edinburgh, EH12 5JQ
The friendliest Hotel in Edinburgh which combines country style and the tranquility of a small castle with an ideal location only minutes walk from the bustling City Centre - A magnificent mansion house - built in 1852 and renovated in 2009 - with original fireplaces - wood panelling - stained glass windows and spectacular ornate cornices - The 17 rooms are designed in restful tones to put you instantly at ease with lots of in-room facilities to help you feel completely at home - All the comfort and elegance of a Scottish country house but with the city centre of Edinburgh reassuringly close by - The Deluxe Four Poster Rooms offer that extra elegance and luxury to complement your romantic break in Edinburgh - The on-site private car parking is a rarity for city centre hotels - The Taste of Scotland was awarded to Skerries Restaurant and the Stane Bar boasts over 90 malt whiskies plus a good selection of local beers - Scrumptious bar meals and exquisite a la carte menus are available throughout the week and private dining is available on request
Picture of The Dunstane, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel although room a little small
Excellent quality hotel, but would advise could be worth spending the extra to have a bigger room as ours was rather little. Staff and breakfast were brilliant

Reviewed by
Chris T

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad value for money, very overrated.
This hotel is far from the city center. It takes 30 minutes or more to get to the old town by foot. It will take you half the time by bus. Dunstane House is very beautiful from the outside and is quite nice inside too. The staff is extremely helpful although there is no room service whatsoever, which I found abnormal for the rate we paid. The breakfast is really shameful. It costs between 10 and 13 pounds for some toasts and all the rest is packaged or canned (cheese, cereal, etc.). The bed isn't compfortable enough. There aren't any restaurants next to the hotel. This place doesn't have any "extras" like video rent, roomservice, massage, terrasse, fitness etc. Although it is a beautiful hotel, I wouldn't recommend it because you leave with a feeling of having spend way too much for a lovely but empty box...

Reviewed by
Ceyda T

From Nyon, Switzerland
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin room
We found the ensuite very small and difficult to move round with out banging our self. Also we where on the 3rd floor up a steep stairs .When we choose this hotel no mention of this was in the review. The food was excellent and staff good.

Reviewed by
S Brownlow

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I do much travelling and it is a very long time since I have been verbally so satisfied with a stay.
Food great, staff very polite and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel was really clean and well decorated and equipped. If I was to have any criticism it would be the lack of lounge space to sit and have a coffee after a fantastic meal. The lounge area is the bar and it was crowded? This did not really affect our stay and we would definitely use the hotel again and recommend it to our friends and business associates.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Berkhamsted, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for single for 1 night

Reviewed by
Alan S

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfortable and welcoming hotel ideally situated for city break..
We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Dunstane Hotel where we experienced friendly and efficient service in this comfortable hotel. We also thought it was good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
jennifer n

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable stay. exceptional food in the restaurant. lovely room-molton brown products were a nice touch. excellent customer service

Reviewed by
C Parris

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved It
The Dunstane House Hotel was excellent. The staff were very helpful, happy and nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and everything was spotless. Our room was very well decorated and had everything we needed, if I have any criticism the room was quite small. Edinburgh Princes Street was about 15 minutes walk away from the hotel but you can get a bu right outide or order a taxi. There is also off street parking which is always a bonus. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Atkinson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, room a bit dark and a bit small. Very clean and nice bathroom but also small
Stayed here for 2 nights. Thought room was a bit small for the price but nicely furnished and felt it was very dark as had one small window. Staff really friendly but breakfast was a bit slow. A nice 20 min walk into the city centre and bus stop right outside door which was great as it was snowing and great to get to and from the airport.

Reviewed by
Tina H

From Carrigaline ... County Cork, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.