No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Appleby Manor Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Roman Road, , Appleby in Westmorland, CA16 6JB
Appleby Manor Country House Hotel is set in it's own grounds on the outskirts of the Historic Market Town of Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines. The North Yorkshire Dales, Lancashire and Tyneside are all within easy reach and the romantic border town of Gretna Green is only a 45 minute drive away.

Here are just some of our hotel features:

* 4 star AA Hotel (76%)

* 1 AA Rosette Restaurant

* Small Heated Indoor Swimming Pool

* Games Room (including Pool & Table Tennis)

* Sauna, Turkish Room

* Luxury Executive Bedrooms with views over the gardens and the fells

* Traditional Victorian Architecture

Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires in the winter, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant and indoor leisure club that offer superb views over Lake District fells .

Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and the rest of the South Lakes and explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House Hotel.
Picture of Appleby Manor Country House Hotel, Appleby in Westmorland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hotel
we had room 21, very big spacious room but is need of a bit of an update, bath was chipped, fittings very old, but a nice big comfy bed! was decent enough for what we paid though

Reviewed by
DARREN P

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suitability
The accommodation provided was outside the main hotel building,and access to our room was by a steep wooden stairway, This was difficult for my husband,80yrs old,and myself 77yrs old.The room was dark,lights had to be on all the time to provide sufficient illumination to see properly.Bathroom was old fashioned and needed refurbishing.

Reviewed by
joan hussey

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old but well maintained building, attentive and friendly staff, and the food very good.

Reviewed by
Pamela S

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visit
Our first visit to this hotel was three years ago. We decided to book again since we had thoroughly enjoyed the experience but were rather disappointed with the lacklustre decor in the Executive room which looked out onto a fire exit and shed. The bathroom had been newly refurbished and and was very clean. We found the menu rather uninspiring and not of the same quality as previously experienced on our last visit.

Reviewed by
M Wallace

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, very peaceful, gardens you had to admire.

Reviewed by
DAVID ROBERTS

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we wanted!
The weekend was all we wanted. Only problem was the pillows, they need replacing.

Reviewed by
Riana Briers

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent.
Returned to find customary high standards. Great food, great surroundings inside and out! A pleasure to stay there. (Swimming pool etc is rather small and tired though.)

Reviewed by
j giles

From inverurie, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing stay with superb food.
This is a lovely old manor house with lots of character. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The food was top quality and was served at an unhurried pace, very relaxing. A good selection of wine was available and we had no complaints at all. Breakfast was equally delicious. There are lots of places to visit in the local area and there was plenty of information available. I can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Reviewed by
J Stock

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

returned here after several visits many years ago. disappointed as rooms looking very tired . spa also needs overhauled. jacuzzi, turkish and sauna varied from cold to not working! dinner would have been enjoyable but far too salty. when we asked for liquer coffee to finish off evening we were told that there was no cream left . sadly won't be reeturning.

Reviewed by
frances m

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We have stayed here four times over the last year.
We love it !

Reviewed by
E Spark

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next