Reviews - Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant


13 Park View Terrace New Coundon, Bishop Auckland, County Durham, DL14 8QB

Price From 106.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris N

  • February 2014

Great stay

Welcoming hotel with a good size room (and properly heated).

Good range of meals in a functional dining room and friendly bar. Secured car park. Staff very helpful so a good stay overall.

  • Fred H

  • January 2014

Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant

Booked late and no problems, room lovely and pub/food was perfect.

  • Brian R

  • November 2013

Why pay extortionate prices for big chain accomodation?

The staff are always friendly and helpful.

If I have one criticism, the place could do with updating, but, having said that it is always spotlessly clean and there are signs of an update taking place. The bar area has recently been refurbished and looks much brighter. The rooms do have notices in them stating that a refurb is underway. The rooms and public areas are all warm, clean and comfortable. The food is always good too. We have stayed here several times now when visiting friends and family in the area and have even held family functions here. As we live 300 miles away the help from the staff in organising a surprise party was second to none. You wont get this level of service at some of the big chain hotels!

  • j naughton

  • November 2013

Got locked out of hotel as we got back late and no buzzer to get in took ages for night porter to let us in

  • Christine B

  • November 2013

Relaxing break

  • Dave B

  • October 2013

Weekend Stay

We enjoyed staying here - the room needs updating but we were told renovation is on the way.

No tissues left in room but there was coffee and biscuits. Only really suitable for one night stay. Cooked breakfast was freshly done to order and of a good quality. Staff very friendly.

  • Sue T

  • October 2013

Needs updating

The staff were friendly and made us very welcome.

The bedroom and bathroom is in need of being updated. Bedroom looked onto the car park at the rear and was very quiet.

  • Duncan T

  • October 2013

Cigarette butts

I have never seen so many cigarette butts around a building before.

Disgusting. Outside my room door was littered with cigarettes. Why not sweep them up?