No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13 Park View Terrace New Coundon, Bishop Auckland, County Durham, DL14 8QB
The Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant is situated in the heart of County Durham and offers a warm friendly welcome at our family owned and run hotel.

Our hotel has 32 well-appointed spacious bedrooms, mainly located in a traditional courtyard setting all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and radio channels providing high levels of comfort for both business and leisure guests.

Free wireless Internet is available in our warm relaxing bar area.

Every Sunday we offer the biggest and best carvery in the county with a choice of four joints of the finest English meat, all sourced within the local area and all complemented by a wide range of locally sourced vegetables and our legendary Yorkshire puddings - the perfect accompaniment to the traditional English Sunday roast.

Relax and unwind in our beer garden whilst the children enjoy the free children’s play area. Our large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV.
Picture of Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant, Bishop Auckland, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Park Head Country Hotel
We arrived about 10pm. Not a very welcoming start as the member of staff checking us in had no conversation with us. The room was basic and had very thin walls, televisions and talking from adjacent rooms could be heard. The rooms are in need of modernising. The hotel is on a busy main road with constant traffic all night. We were wakened at 5am with a cockerel crowing in the garden of a house right next to the hotel, this carried on for a couple of hours. The receptionist/waitress was friendly. Breakfast was not worth £7.50 per person.

Reviewed by
W Sloan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Visit
Room----good size---clean-=comfortable
Staff---very friendly--helpful
Food---very good breakfast--evening--wide choice,-,well cooked

Reviewed by
R W Thompson

From Bury, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic stay
needed a hotel for an overnight stay following a wedding in the area. Nice hotel, basic room but ok for the sleep. Cannot comment on the surrounding area for attractions etc as I didn't sample these.

Reviewed by
Iain S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very special hotel they seem to have evrything well organised.
This was the first time we stayed in Parkhead Hotel,we found the staff exceptional they could not do enough for you we only had to ask for something and it would appear like magic.
We would have no worries about staying in this hotel at any time, the beds were extremely comfortable and I had the best nights sleep for a long time on your beds.
I would like to thank the management (who are involved in the running of the hotel)and the staff for making our stay in Bishop Auckland so special good luck to all and thank you.
Arthur and Ellie Smith

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Dumfries, Scotland
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was adequate for our needs as we only stayed 1 night. The room needs updating as its rather tired, The room was nice and clean and the bed was comfy. The shower was not the best as the mixer tap wasn't working properly. The only other concern that i had was that there wasn't a proper security lock on the door only a yale lock. This would have been a worry if we had stayed longer. We paid extra for the cooked breakfast, and it was very basic. It could have been better. It was well cooked just very spartan. We chose the hotel for its location i.e just off the A1.

Reviewed by
Glenda K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy stopping point
Clean, tidy, pleasant courtyard setting. Quiet and had a good nights sleep, staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Badly in need of update in rooms. Staff friendly but unprofessional. Food good but pub style.
In comparrision to other hotels in area more up market the Parkhead is epensive for facilities available. Staff didn,t have a clue how to be around guests although they were friendly they were very unprofessional. I wouldn,t stay here again as there are much nicer hotels in vicinity in same price range with better facilities. Rooms were clean but badly in need of updating. Beds need replacing and towels very worn. It wasn,t dirty but because everything was so worn it made you feel as though it wasn,t clean! Shame as it used to be a lovely motel style place.

Reviewed by
A Rowe

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly hotel !
good food and good staff all friendly , cosy rooms and plenty hot water for shower !

Reviewed by
d coates

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, pleasant, clean and very hospitable
We loved the Park Head Hotel. The receptionist, house keeping and restaurant/bar staff were truly lovely. We arrived in very cold/snowy weather and our room was so warm and cosy. The beds were very comfortable and the water in the bath/room was so hot. It was gorgeous. The room was very clean with beautiful fresh ,clean towels and bed linen. It was a little dated but that was not a problem to us. The whole place had a lovely feeling about it, not like the average check-in/check-out chain group hotels that are available at quite often a more expensive price.....and so friendly. Food at the bar was inexpensive and very nice indeed. Freshly cooked. We would recommend this lovely old hotel......without doubt. Top marks and thank you.

Reviewed by
Richard D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
I found the hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. the bar food was excellent, large portions and freshly cooked.My only gripe was that in the 21st century the hotel still uses mixer taps for the shower, with a little dribble of water from the shower head. Oh well, can't win em all!

Reviewed by
H Jones

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next