No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13 Park View Terrace New Coundon, Bishop Auckland, County Durham, DL14 8QB
The Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant is situated in the heart of County Durham and offers a warm friendly welcome at our family owned and run hotel.

Our hotel has 32 well-appointed spacious bedrooms, mainly located in a traditional courtyard setting all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and radio channels providing high levels of comfort for both business and leisure guests.

Free wireless Internet is available in our warm relaxing bar area.

Every Sunday we offer the biggest and best carvery in the county with a choice of four joints of the finest English meat, all sourced within the local area and all complemented by a wide range of locally sourced vegetables and our legendary Yorkshire puddings - the perfect accompaniment to the traditional English Sunday roast.

Relax and unwind in our beer garden whilst the children enjoy the free children’s play area. Our large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV.
Picture of Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant, Bishop Auckland, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant
Booked late and no problems, room lovely and pub/food was perfect.

Reviewed by
Fred H

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why pay extortionate prices for big chain accomodation?
The staff are always friendly and helpful. If I have one criticism, the place could do with updating, but, having said that it is always spotlessly clean and there are signs of an update taking place. The bar area has recently been refurbished and looks much brighter. The rooms do have notices in them stating that a refurb is underway. The rooms and public areas are all warm, clean and comfortable. The food is always good too. We have stayed here several times now when visiting friends and family in the area and have even held family functions here. As we live 300 miles away the help from the staff in organising a surprise party was second to none. You wont get this level of service at some of the big chain hotels!

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got locked out of hotel as we got back late and no buzzer to get in took ages for night porter to let us in

Reviewed by
j naughton

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs updating
The staff were friendly and made us very welcome. The bedroom and bathroom is in need of being updated. Bedroom looked onto the car park at the rear and was very quiet.

Reviewed by
Sue T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
We enjoyed staying here - the room needs updating but we were told renovation is on the way. No tissues left in room but there was coffee and biscuits. Only really suitable for one night stay. Cooked breakfast was freshly done to order and of a good quality. Staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
Dave B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cigarette butts
I have never seen so many cigarette butts around a building before. Disgusting. Outside my room door was littered with cigarettes. Why not sweep them up?

Reviewed by
Duncan T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coaching inn with character
We arrived late and tired. The man on reception was friendly and helpful, showed us to a room across the courtyard and gave us a menu to look at. We ate in the bar which was cosy and relaxing and the food good. The beds were comfortable and the room warm. We negotiated with reception a price for continental breakfasts for myself and my daughter - obviously unusual for most travellers - and my husband had a very good cooked breakfast. A very pleasant stay!

Reviewed by
M Garnier

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the greeting that we received was really good most welcoming
all the staff was brilliant and we had a evening meal and the menu was not at all over the top in price and the portions were quite large

Reviewed by
chris porter

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an excellent experience thouroughly pleasing
Totally satisfied very friendly and helpful staff and wonderful surroundings in the process of being modified but caused no discomfort

Reviewed by
J Wild

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next