No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13 Park View Terrace New Coundon, Bishop Auckland, County Durham, DL14 8QB
The Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant is situated in the heart of County Durham and offers a warm friendly welcome at our family owned and run hotel.

Our hotel has 32 well-appointed spacious bedrooms, mainly located in a traditional courtyard setting all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and radio channels providing high levels of comfort for both business and leisure guests.

Free wireless Internet is available in our warm relaxing bar area.

Every Sunday we offer the biggest and best carvery in the county with a choice of four joints of the finest English meat, all sourced within the local area and all complemented by a wide range of locally sourced vegetables and our legendary Yorkshire puddings - the perfect accompaniment to the traditional English Sunday roast.

Relax and unwind in our beer garden whilst the children enjoy the free children’s play area. Our large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV.
Picture of Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant, Bishop Auckland, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coaching inn with character
We arrived late and tired. The man on reception was friendly and helpful, showed us to a room across the courtyard and gave us a menu to look at. We ate in the bar which was cosy and relaxing and the food good. The beds were comfortable and the room warm. We negotiated with reception a price for continental breakfasts for myself and my daughter - obviously unusual for most travellers - and my husband had a very good cooked breakfast. A very pleasant stay!

Reviewed by
M Garnier

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the greeting that we received was really good most welcoming
all the staff was brilliant and we had a evening meal and the menu was not at all over the top in price and the portions were quite large

Reviewed by
chris porter

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an excellent experience thouroughly pleasing
Totally satisfied very friendly and helpful staff and wonderful surroundings in the process of being modified but caused no discomfort

Reviewed by
J Wild

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Dated
Room was dated, but they are in the process of updating them all

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff
The girls on Reception were very helpful and did everyhting they could to make our stay a good one.

Reviewed by
J WAITE

From Harrogate, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special Occasion
Rooms were very clean, but the restaurant was closed for renovation and we had to have our main meal in the bar area which could do with an upgrade itself as this was a special occasion we were not impressed.

Reviewed by
William H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Celebration Guest
The hotel was really nice and in a good setting. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Wedding Celebration was well run and the food excellent. Very informal atmosphere which was lovely, as we had an 8 year old child with us.

Reviewed by
P Hall

From Felixstowe, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room I was given in the pub part of the hotel was comfortable enough, but it fronted onto the main road and there is no double glazing, so road noise was definitely an issue. Worse still was a clicking sound like a propeller in the ceiling that slowed and speeded up but never stopped. It was like Chinese water torture and was not conducive to a pleasant nights sleep. Wasn't just me as my colleague experienced the same noise in the adjacent room. Bathroom was clean but the shower was tired and I had to tighten the shower head to stop it leaking in all directions.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably yes but not in the pub part of hotel, rather in the external courtyard rooms.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parkhead Country Hotel & Restaurant
On arrival at the Parkhead I received a very warm welcome at reception. I was invited to use the hotel facilities such as the dining room, the bar and breakfast the following morning, however given that I had had a such a long journey I decided to go and put my feet up in my room. I was booked into a lovely little chalet overlooking the picturesque courtyard and had a view of roaming fields from the rear window. Although there was a notice explaining that the rooms were undergoing refurbishment, it was comfortable, clean and fully equipped for my needs. I thoroughly enjoyed the "ye olde worlde" surroundings and the attentiveness of the staff made my stay a happy one.

Reviewed by
Helen O

From Heaton Mersey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable, but very dated and shabby

Reviewed by
lorraine malcolm

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next