Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
73% would recommend it to a friend
This hotel was in a great location, we received a friendly welcome and the room was lovely and clean, me and my partner really enjoyed the breakfast there was a good selection to choose from to suit all tastes.
The added bonus was the carpark.
Totally chilled and relaxed
Booked a 2 night stay, but wish we could stay longer.
Ideal location, just a short walk to the lakes. Stayed in room 4 and found it to be spotlessly clean, the bed was extremely comfortable with top quality bed linen. Excellent selection with quality produce for breakfast. Was well looked after with a very friendly and professional atmosphere. Used the spa facilities available, top quality gym, spa and pool, excellent facility. Would certainly come back again.
A good value night away
Having never been to Windermere before I was more than pleased with my stay at Oakbank House.
Car park was an added plus to a busy little town where parking seemed hard to come by. Breakfast was soon presented infront of you within minutes of placing your order. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed.
Two words - Fawlty Towers
If you are easily pleased and have a sense of humour like ours then I would definitely recommend room number 10 (+ bathroom number 11) During our trip away we experienced: An iPad sized tv with a remote that didn't work (binoculars needed) A not-so-ensuite-ensuite/ fire escape The same towels for our three night stay Plenty of low and sloping ceilings to hit your head on A tight 45 minute breakfast window (don't ask for extra eggs) Crustless toast in cute triangles And our favourite...
Communal ironing and pressing station
All in all our stay, although in the attic and across the hall down an incline ('private' bathroom), was very comfortable and my god we had a lot of laughs!!. I think it would be fair to say that we wouldn't rate this guest house as 5* as advertised however we definitely would the experience it gave us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if you are easily pleased and just want cleanliness and comfort plus a good location then we're sure you will too.
Response from hotel
Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased you found the guest house clean, comfortable and well located.
I feel compelled to reply to your sarcastic comments, that you clearly believe are funny, whilst my team and I feel they display a level of immaturity and petulance.
You booked a double room with a private bathroom, not en-suite. When you checked in that is exactly what you received therefore your surprise and disappointment about the bathroom baffle me. When you booked there were other grades of room available and you chose that room or when you checked in you could have upgraded.
Your TV; It is a 24" flat screen and I apologise if you found it too small.
I am sorry your remote stopped working, the batteries ran out. If you had let us know we would have changed them immediately.
We do not provide irons and ironing boards in the rooms we have an ironing station that is located on the middle floor. I think as you travel more you will find most accommodation providers throughout the UK operate a similar system however I accept you find the facility amusing.
Your request for an extra egg, as you put it, is conveniently misleading.
You had ordered and eaten a full breakfast. When I cleared your plate I asked if I could get you any more toast or drinks and you requested poached eggs on toast. I asked if you wanted a second breakfast and you said no. We have no problem giving guests an extra egg but two breakfasts? Basil would have heart failure.
I spoke to you several times throughout your stay and not once did you mention anything was wrong. Sadly your stay now reads like a catalogue of disasters and I am left wondering which elements are genuine or are you one of those people who just enjoys using the internet as a safe weapon of attack. I would have gladly helped address your issues if you had raised them whilst you stayed but after you have left means all I can do is apologise.
stayed in room 2 very small and the shower was very poor old windows so very cold breakfast poor.
If you like a nice meal go to the angel inn just across the road.
Lovely stay thank you.
Just returned from a nights stay at Oakbank House and it was lovely.
Stayed in room 5 with a beautiful lake view. The room was lovely and clean and really nicely decorated.
The staff where very nice and very attentive.
The breakfast was really nice and very filling.
I can't wait to return.
Comfy and cosy
Just what was needed on our short stay, a comfortable bed in a cosy room.
Breakfast was delicious, plenty to choose from. Would stay again if heading up this way.
a good night's sleep
Very pleasant welcome.
Owner kindly arranged us early breakfast as I had to catch a train. Would stay here again.
Not a 5star at all
very disappointed with the night we spent here, it was advertised on Laterooms as having a pool, sauna etc to be told on arrival that the pool and other facilities are located in the Hydro Hotel 5 minutes up the road.
There were broken and loose tiles on the bathroom floor and black mould around the bath, a lot of grout was missing between the floor tiles as well. The breakfast is only served for 45mins in the morning, and is of poor quality( the sausage was awful) We were initially looking at stopping at the Hydro and after this we wish we had.