No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakbank House

5AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3BU

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Countryside & Romantic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

We are a 5 Star AA accredited Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking the lake. Eleven of our rooms are en-suite all with showers and four have both a bath & shower.
Seven bedrooms have views over Lake Windermere & the fells beyond. Our bedrooms are individually styled & decorated to a high standard. Rooms have flat screen TV, Wifi, beverage tray, hair drier & luxury toiletries.
We provide free parking for all our guests.
Our award winning breakfasts are served in our breakfast room that overlooks Lake Windermere. We source as much produce as possible locally & cater for most tastes. Special dietary needs can be accommodated on request.
We are located centrally in Bowness & there are more than 30 restaurants within two minutes of our front door. We are close to the Pier and near many of the attractions in South Lakeland.
Windermere railway station is under a mile away & local bus services run through town. Taxis are available locally or on request from the guest house.
Picture of Oakbank House, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 5star at all
very disappointed with the night we spent here, it was advertised on Laterooms as having a pool, sauna etc to be told on arrival that the pool and other facilities are located in the Hydro Hotel 5 minutes up the road. There were broken and loose tiles on the bathroom floor and black mould around the bath, a lot of grout was missing between the floor tiles as well. The breakfast is only served for 45mins in the morning, and is of poor quality( the sausage was awful) We were initially looking at stopping at the Hydro and after this we wish we had.

Reviewed by
d mason

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
outside could do with a make over, parking atrocious and Gym in the nearby hotel verged on dangerous, shabby etc

Reviewed by
Seamus O'Reilly

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent exsperiance
Excellent warm welcoming, great hosts and very polite staff.great breakfast menu service could not have been any better by all.very helpfull with info and a great location.will defiantly paying a vist in the future many thanks for a great time

Reviewed by
Robert Hardaker

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a thoroughly fantastic stay at Oakbank House. From the initial welcome through to our departure. The view from Room 4 over the lake is stunning and was a real treat for my partner who was visiting the Lake District for the first time. Oakbank House is ideally situated for exploring Bowness and taking advantage of the many restaurants and shops, - we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Reviewed by
v b

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 2
Stayed in room 2
Was very small and basic this has never seen 5 stars I've been in better 3 star don't know how it has been called a 5 star hotel a 3 star b&b is more like it
People was very nice and helpfull food was very nice but wouldn't stop there again

Reviewed by
Melvyn P

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Gary S

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd Stay At The Oakbank
This time we had Room Six, a superior room, and the views of the lake were breath taking. The breakfast selection is very good and the produce used is fantastic quality. The house grill is a gr8 way to start the day and will keep you going. Danny,"the owner, is very friendly and clearly takes pride in his business. I have nothing negative to say and on a return trip to the lake district, I'll be booking The Oakbank again.

Reviewed by
g whalen

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay for our honeymoon
Would definitely recommend Oakbank House. Everyone was very welcoming, the food was lovely and the views of lake Windermere from the hotel are amazing.

Reviewed by
d manship

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Oakbank house was clean, comfortable and in a fantastic location.
Staff couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast was wonderful. Would certainly recommend for a nice trip to Windermere.

Reviewed by
Emma F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel with a pleasant view of the lake from many areas. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Reviewed by
Pat L

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next