No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
THE SPARKFORD INN IS LOCATED IN THE CENTRE OF SPARKFORD VILLAGE,JUST OFF THE A303,THE GATEWAY TO THE WEST COUNTRY!WE OFFER A WARM,FRIENDLY WELCOME IN OUR CHARACTER BARS AND RESTAURANT.OUR EN SUITE BEDROOMS PROVIDE VERY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION.THE SPARKFORD INN IS CLOSE TO THE HAYNES MOTOR MUSEUM OF CLASSIC AND VETERAN CARS,AND TO THE INTERNATIONALLY RENOWNED FLEET AIR ARM MUSEUM.
Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 121 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disappointing stay
Accommodation was fairly cheap, but the room smelled strongly of damp.
Food was slow to arrive, was of poor quality and relatively expensive.
Staff although friendly to guests seemed to be struggling to provide a service.

Reviewed by
Philip L

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

health checks on food needed
Reheated food served in the bar at night.
Mouldy bread for breakfast , replaced by more mouldy bread.
Poor quality of food served.
Room ok but putty all over window panes and huge holes in the ceiling, thank goodness it was summer.

Reviewed by
anne j

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting
There were a number of poor reivies wbout this pub/hotel but it was notas bad as I had read
Alright things can always be improved but the suite was huge decor and bathroom needs to updating but at least it quiet and food was not too bad although the custard tart was dreadful
Stay here and take a chance

Reviewed by
david m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful old world inn, having external work done, but waiting for inside work approval.

Reviewed by
Shirley Fitzgerald

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we got there the room we had booked with spa bath had been given to someone else and they said they had no record of our booking but they did have a printout in their folder very poor organisation. They did find us a room which they said was better than the room we booked - no spa bath, but if the room was like the one we stayed in I would not have wanted to have used the bath anyway! General feel was damp and dirty issues with plugs at breakfast which was not that nice. We did have an evening meal at the pub which was standard pub food ok. Would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Barnes

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't recomend
Very disappointed, needs a complete refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
Thie night we stayed was a last minute decision. The accommodation is situated in a charming village just off the a303 so excellent for traveling around the dustrict. Clearly a coaching inn from days gone by. If you are looking for corporate blandness, you won't find that here.
The owner us aware of the need for an upgrade, but quite frankly that adds to its charm. It's honest.
The food for the evening meal was cooked fresh, no chill reheat like the chains. The breakfast the next morning was included in the price. With the buffet comprising of fruit juice, coffee, toast, cereals and a cooked English breakfast, it was brilliant.

Reviewed by
N Clark

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below adequate
The room was basically okay but not very clean. Quite noisy in room 2 and the room was dated. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Did the job for one night but wouldn't stay longer.

Reviewed by
S Aphale

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly. But that's where the positives end. The smell in the room was undiscribable luck had it that we had a air freshen in the car. The whole place needs a deep clean and redec. As we passed the men's toilets to go to our room the smell took our breath away, it was worse than public toilets. Value for money not and I would not recommend this hotel. Just to say this is the first bad review I have ever had to leave in all the places we have stayed. Disappointing just don't cover it. Sorry to be so negative but left feeling what a waste off money.

Reviewed by
K Nicholls

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only if you absolutely have to stay in Sparkford
The staff are friendly and helpful. The beer is excellent. The accommodation is substandard. Very tired decor. Shower did not work, bath would not fill, tv dipped in an out, as did wifi. Smallest breakfast I have seen in a long time with only powdered Nescafé on offer. If you need to be in the town, as we did, then go for it, but I can confidently predict that you will be surprised at how poorly this place compares with even the most basic standards you will have experienced anywhere else.

Reviewed by
R Miles

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next