No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
The Sparkford Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of Somerset.

Situated in the village of Sparkford just off the A303 between Wincanton and Yeovil, The Sparkford Inn offers 11 cosy ensuite rooms. Our restaurant can seat 65 people. Which has an open fire in one part to set the perfect ambience.
Our new menu brings excitement and fresh ideas to The Sparkford Inn.

Why not enjoy a few drinks in our bar area, which also has a pool table, darts board and games machines. For the more relaxed approach.
We have a large beer garden for those beautiful summer days, why not enjoy a beer or a quick bite to eat in the sun.

Also available we have a function room, which has its own bar and stage; perfect for weddings, parties, meetings and other functions.
Looking for ideas of things to do whilst you stay, why not visit Haynes Motor Museum, just 2 minutes down the road, or even Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton airbase.

Please note check in time is from 2pm. Late check in times are available, please phone to discuss this.

Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give the new owner a chance
Mix up with booking, not good start. Food sent back, full refund.
Room has wires everywhere and bit cobwebby! Bedding and towels spotless.
Woman has recently taken over after running a local pub and is doing up room at a time. Marstons name deceptive as it does not resemble any pub in that chain that I have ever stayed in before.
Give it twelve months and see if it improves.

Reviewed by
J Kean

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A valentines day to remember!
My partner and I spent valentines day night at the Sparkford Inn, where we ate and slept before going to the Great Western Autojumble the following day. Upon arrival I was keen to see what laid ahead, as there have been some rather mixed reviews for this place. However, we were delighted at the friendly welcome and the place has plenty of character! The room was very large, very warm and we even had our own lounge! The staff are fantastic and very attentive, there was a small problem with my meal but it was dealt with and we were generously compensated for this. All in all we were very impressed and will definitely be going back. The reviews I had read before by no means do this place justice, it was a joy and the new management have obviously pulled their socks up to deliver a wonderful service at a wonderful country pub!
James and Georgie

Reviewed by
J Auer

From Robertsbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap room in old pub
This is not a complaint as the room was cheap at £35 and I don't mind rooms that are a little tired, with peeling wallpaper, spiders webs and a small room heater as the heating wasn't sufficient to warm the room.
But you might complain if you expect a higher standard, so don't stay in the pub itself as its old, maybe try the adjacent block which looked newer.
Staff were friendly if a little disorganized and couldn't find my booking and had to phone the manager to get more info, so kept me waiting to book in.

Reviewed by
Andy J

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Really Dismal Experience
No central heating in room and minus 6 outside. Evening food was OK but breakfast was dismal.
Dining room and bar was like the "Mary Celeste" in the morning with dirty food plates and glasses still on the tables. Nobody around to serve breakfast - eventually a cooked breakfast appeared. In the meantime two other guests left without breakfast as they could not wait any longer. On paying the bill no formal VAT receipt was issued just a scrawled receipt on a scrap on torn paper.

Reviewed by
David P

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
The landlord was very accomidating for us as we were working nights and the other staff were great The rooms were clean and also being refurbished in the near future. The food was really nice and plentiful. Over all a great stay and I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
T Flake

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our night at the Sparkford Inn
On arrival 18.30 we were told there was no food that night but we would be ok for Breakfast, served from 08.00 by 08.45 we had not seen any staff, other guests were leaving without breakfast, as we did..I had not settled our bill as we could not find anybody. We had to buy our breakfast at our onward destination (cost 2x£10) That evening I rang the Sparkford Inn to settle our bill of £57.00 less £20.00 for Breakfast purchased. I posted a cheque for £37.00. I look forward to your comments.

Reviewed by
John Hayes

From Budleigh Salterton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a place to stay unless you enjoy unheated rooms, cobwebs, holes in floor, slime in sink
As a frequent traveller I can honestly say this is the worst accomodation I have ever experienced. The room has holes in the wall and floor, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, goreen slime in the sink, a wardrobe with dusty shelves and no back. Coffee cup stains on table.The wifi does not work. The temporary Staff all state they are paid below the minimum wage, have no manager and no interest in clients or guests because the owners (Marston Brewery) refuse to carry out any repairs. Food quality was terrible. I would not ask my mother-in-law to stay here

Reviewed by
Ken Harper

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not very good
when we arrived the room was cold. The light was very poor in the room,if want to do make up, for the wedding!!! In the morning the shower was rubbish, stone cold and a mere dribble. so went to breakfast unshowered, wish i hadnt bothered.Oh the towel shelf fell off the wall. Wont be going back.

Reviewed by
M Gill

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Expectations!!!
So very very disappointed. No feeling of welcome, place completely empty.
Stair carpet threadbare, lights on landing no shade, just bulbs. Room not clean very dusty, windows unopened because jammed with rust. Bathroom musty and damp, grouting in shower black, carpet stained with congealed soap, toilet seat loose and two noisy tanks along with noisy pipes. No glass and only one cup. Needed thorough overhaul.
Everything creaked floors, beds and even towel rail.
However beds were clean as were towels so some compensation. Breakfast so so.

Reviewed by
Maureen A

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
we were very pleased that we had only booked 2 nights,I said to my husband that if we had been booked for longer I would have left. there were thick cobwebs in the corners, it looked as if no one had ever cleaned behind the toilet or sink,I know it might sound as if I am being picky but when I pay to spend time in a hotel I expect it to at least as clean as my home. Also all the food seemed to be heated in a microwave.,and was just acceptable.

Reviewed by
p Hayward

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next