No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
THE SPARKFORD INN IS LOCATED IN THE CENTRE OF SPARKFORD VILLAGE,JUST OFF THE A303,THE GATEWAY TO THE WEST COUNTRY!WE OFFER A WARM,FRIENDLY WELCOME IN OUR CHARACTER BARS AND RESTAURANT.OUR EN SUITE BEDROOMS PROVIDE VERY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION.THE SPARKFORD INN IS CLOSE TO THE HAYNES MOTOR MUSEUM OF CLASSIC AND VETERAN CARS,AND TO THE INTERNATIONALLY RENOWNED FLEET AIR ARM MUSEUM.
Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very shabby and not very chic I'd say. OK, cheap but a bit itchy!

Reviewed by
Tim T

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Stayed in outbuilding not main pub - resonable qulaity, some bulbs missing but sorted quickly.
Breakfast bit early for weekend 8-9am

Reviewed by
bryan w

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We stayed here as a couple for the wedding of our friends which was at north Cadbury court.
Perfect, not too far. Staff all friendly and v pleasant and free wifi. Our room was one of three in an outhouse behind the main building. The room was huge, loads of space with a double bed, a single bed and another camp bed in the wardrobe. It smelt a little damp and was generally a little grubby but it was such good value for money. Shame tho. For a quick lick of light coloured paint, new carpet and some laminate (not carpet), it could be a really lovely room! All in all, was a good stay! Would recommend.

Reviewed by
danny s

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet location , easy to find , just off main road. Very easy check in , professional , helpful and informative manager and staff . Room old fashioned but very roomy with modern telly and tea making kit.
Large bathroom with bath , but silicone sealant between bath and tiles dirty and discoloured , needs re doing . Evening meals good , special offers on wines and a filling good quality English breakfast.
Good car parking , just outside hotel room .

Reviewed by
MIET A

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sparkford Inn not at all sparky!!
We stayed at the Sparkford Inn for 1 night. We were not expecting the Ritz & we had read some of the reviews before we left so were realistic as to what to expect. I always suspected that some of the people who leave reviews were the type that expect 5* treatment but want to pay 2* prices & would be over critical about the tinest thing. We are not that type of people & we took the reviews that were bad about the Sparkford Inn with a pinch of salt & went in with an open mind & ready to give the place a chance.
I am sad to say that the bad reviews were right. First impressions of the Sparkford were ok. Yes it it a bit tired & in need of a paint job but it is old & actually quite quaint. We had paid a little extra for our room in order to have a 'suite' but the extra money does not mean extra comfort. The 'suite' consisted of a bathroom, lounge & bedroom. The bathroom had a salmon pink suite & the jacuzzi bath, whilst it did work was cracked & dirty so we did not use it. The shower curtain rail was held to the ceiling by a piece of wire & the shower whilst it had 20 or so shower jets in the head, only 3 worked. There were 2 soap dispensers in the bathroom but they were both empty. There were however clean towels to use.
The lounge had 1 green sofa & a TV. The sofa had white stains all over it which I do not like to speculate what that could have been & within minutes of sitting on it we were both being bitten by 'something'. Luckily we had brought a couple of blankets with us so we draped these over the sofa to try & keep whatever was biting us from not biting us again! When we went to pull the curtains we discovered that the curtain pole stopped halfway along the window so the curtain only covered half of the window.
The bedroom had a double bed, 2 wardrobes & a chest of drawers & was the nicest room in the 'suite' although that is not saying much. The bed had an iron bedstead that was banging on the wall every time we moved so we went to pull the bed away from the wall slightly only to find that the bedstead was not attached to the bed! Whilst pulling the curtains in this room we noticed that all the glass in the windows were cracked & broken & 1 window had no latch at all just a big hole where it once was. It was possible to latch the window but only be using the bottom latch which had been fashioned out a coat hanger hook! The one positive note I have to say is that the linen on the bed was clean.
Breakfast in the morning was 1 sausage, 1 piece of bacon, an egg & some baked beans which were cold. All the mugs & cutlery were dirty. The mugs were all black which is quite clever as they don't show the dirt! Thank heaven for McDonalds just down the road.
So we checked out after our night at the Sparkford Inn. And not 1 staff member had the nerve to ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Or more likely none of them cared if we enjoyed our stay or not.
We are not fussy people & having only paid £40 for the night including breakfast our expectattions were not high but we do expect to get a decent standard of accomodation & customer service.

Reviewed by
Mark Gallagher

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay one night
Good Points
Warm welcome and booking in procedure efficient, room of good size with a nice TV, coffee and biscuits in room. Sheets were clean and the area reasonably quiet.
Ate in the restaurant and it was good quality for the price, the breakfast offering was excellent with a choice of full English or continental included in the price of £36 probably cant be beaten for value.
Points that need to be looked at.
Bathroom in room i stayed in No 5 in need of upgrade, the downstairs toilet serving the bar area is dirty and needs attention in all aspects and regular inspection. If these bad points were sorted i would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Hudson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff very pleasant stay
All the staff were lovely,the room itself was spacious light and airy with a very comfy bed and lively storage,the sitting room was again light and airy although shame about the broken curtain rail,bathroom was tatty and needed a paint but shower was always hot..the breakfast was fabulous with a nice selection of cereals juices marmalade bread croissants,as well.as a huge cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
c foster

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stop over
we had a 1 night stop over after our holiday we have stayed here before and would stay here again good value for money food good

Reviewed by
R Hodgson-Reed

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic choice of room and food
Good choich of basic pub food-nice environment and room ckead and tidy.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the stay
Great value for money, excellent and friendly staff

Reviewed by
c jones

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next