No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
The Sparkford Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of Somerset.

Situated in the village of Sparkford just off the A303 between Wincanton and Yeovil, The Sparkford Inn offers 11 cosy ensuite rooms. Our restaurant can seat 65 people. Which has an open fire in one part to set the perfect ambience.
Our new menu brings excitement and fresh ideas to The Sparkford Inn.

Why not enjoy a few drinks in our bar area, which also has a pool table, darts board and games machines. For the more relaxed approach.
We have a large beer garden for those beautiful summer days, why not enjoy a beer or a quick bite to eat in the sun.

Also available we have a function room, which has its own bar and stage; perfect for weddings, parties, meetings and other functions.
Looking for ideas of things to do whilst you stay, why not visit Haynes Motor Museum, just 2 minutes down the road, or even Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton airbase.

Please note check in time is from 2pm. Late check in times are available, please phone to discuss this.

Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
we thouroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sparkford Inn, the staff were friendly the food was lovely. at the end of the day you get what you pay for and we felt the stay exceeded that.

Reviewed by
a russell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sparkford needs some spark
Dirty room, grubby bathroom, bedroom furniture not properly assembled, curtain rail needed fixing, old saggy mattresses and dirty extra pillows.
New Housekeeper urgently required !!!

Reviewed by
Fredi L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sparkford Inn
Bathroom had no light switch so light was permanently on.
Kettle needed replacing, mainly because the cable was dangerous.
Bed not particularly comfortable, and pillows were horrible.
Good TV
Whole place needs a bit of money spending to bring it up to standard - needs repainting inside and out, new carpets, etc. At the moment it is as it was when I last went there, 25 years ago!.
But the quality of staff and customer service is excellent.

Reviewed by
frank pursey

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor accommodation needing a complete makeover
The hotel/bar entrance was grubby. Carpets old and dirty. Windows in room were of rusty metal and not at all clean. Secondary glazing and area between the two windows was unclean. Two dripping taps needing new washers and toilet cistern did not flush properly. The bath water was brown. The bed was comfortable and had clean white linen and the white towels were also new and fresh. There was a shortage of staff who seemed to have to do everything. Most had to be found outside where they congregated to smoke. This was an inexpensive hotel, but in this day and age, one expects a certain standard and expects to find clean accommodation.

Reviewed by
K Gilbert

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Staff
Just a one night stop over in the area. The room was fine, but very tatty and in need of some tlc or decoration though. Windows were in need of some rust remover and paint. Bed was comfy and it was a good nights sleep, quiet location. Staff were very good and always around to help, bar staff very friendly. Wi-fi was available which was good. Breakfast was ok, and for £40 B&B it was a reasonable stop over place.

Reviewed by
ROBIN F

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Having styed in a Marstons Hotel previously I was very dissapointed with this hotel. We had a drink in the bar on arrival, there were stains on the chairs and dust on the window seals. The bedoorm was large but the window frames were rusty, the bathroom was disgusting. We run a bath but the water was a disgusting colour so we didn't bath.

Reviewed by
Roy Smith

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay prior to Glastonbury festival
Sadly the hotel appears to be suffering from a lack of guests and is beginning to look a little run down. We stayed in the room with the Jacuzzi, very old fashion decour in need of a refresh, but comfortable. Very good value for money and breakfast was included as well.

Reviewed by
John Leeson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Untidy rooms
The room on arrival was unclean, smelt of smoke and had dust at different sections of the room.
For the first night the sheets on the bed had large holes in them. After complaining the first night at breakfast the following morning they did change the sheets & clean the room. However there was still dust and cobwebs around certain parts of the room. The smoke smell still lingered in the room however the smell was no longer on the bed and pillows.
The room and the bathroom was carpeted and there was different items such as gum etc. stuck and imbedded in the carpet.
I would recommend not staying at this hotel. It is not value for money and I have stayed at much cleaner hotels and at cheaper prices. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Reviewed by
J Barber

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would NOT stay here again even if you paid me. Mould in the bathroom. Blood stains and fleas on the bed. Just a general feeling of ingrained dirt that made my skin crawl. I reccomend the YHA instead much cleaner cheaper and better alternative!

Reviewed by
c f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Accommodation

Reviewed by
Malcolm Ledger

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next