No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
The Sparkford Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of Somerset.

Situated in the village of Sparkford just off the A303 between Wincanton and Yeovil, The Sparkford Inn offers 11 cosy ensuite rooms. Our restaurant can seat 65 people. Which has an open fire in one part to set the perfect ambience.
Our new menu brings excitement and fresh ideas to The Sparkford Inn.

Why not enjoy a few drinks in our bar area, which also has a pool table, darts board and games machines. For the more relaxed approach.
We have a large beer garden for those beautiful summer days, why not enjoy a beer or a quick bite to eat in the sun.

Also available we have a function room, which has its own bar and stage; perfect for weddings, parties, meetings and other functions.
Looking for ideas of things to do whilst you stay, why not visit Haynes Motor Museum, just 2 minutes down the road, or even Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton airbase.

Please note check in time is from 2pm. Late check in times are available, please phone to discuss this.

Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Nice Place Gone Awry
Hotel was very jaded as was the welcome. But throughout my evening in the bar I can understand why. I have stayed at Marstons before and I feel they should refurbish this place given it's historical value. Marstons take note, the staff can only work with the tools you give them and from what I saw that's precious few. So come on and spend some money !!!!.

Reviewed by
A Marren

From Stockton On Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food, friendly staff, room clean but dated!
The accommodation was clean and tidy but very dated! The jacuzzi bath was older than me and salmon pink! Shame, as couldn't fault the food or service! The whole place could do with a lick of paint and updating.

Reviewed by
c howell

From Shepton Mallet, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely lovely!
Having read previous reviews after booking 3 nights at the Sparkford Inn, my husband and I considered cancelling, but are SO glad we decided to give it a try, as the whole experience was absolutely lovely, and we had a wonderful relaxing break. We were in one of the rooms off the courtyard. It was large and very well appointed, with a very comfy double bed, lovely pine furniture, and a pair of wonderful leather armchairs to sink into and watch TV. The bathroom consisted of a large bath, loo, and handbasin, and a heated towel rail. There was an over-bath shower unit and curtain. It was all very clean and fresh-smelling, and was cleaned each morning of our 3 days stay, including topping up the tea, coffee, milk and biscuits! The (temporary) manager was helpful and accommodating, and the staff were very friendly. Bar staff Hollie, Ellie, and the lovely young man who cooked our wonderful breakfast every morning deserve a special mention. (and to those who complained about the staff in previous reviews, I would point out that conversation requires input from BOTH sides...) The food was also very good. For the price we paid, it was really very good value, and we will definitely return in the future.

Reviewed by
Kay G

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Huge room!
Huge room, very comfortable bed, nice deep bath. Building could do with a little tlc, but much better than our normal travelodge!

Reviewed by
Lynne O'Farrell

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and Cheerful
We wanted a stop over for one night. The room was quiet, spacious and clean. The pub served nice beer and fresh, reasonably priced food.
Staff were polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Blake

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and value for money
A very warm and pleasant welcome from Hollie which gave a good first impression. Food and beer (Ringwood Best - my favourite!) were all to a high standard and the overall customer service was exemplary. Yes, the building in general looks a little tired and in need of redecorating but our room was relatively quiet from road noise and the bed was very comfortable - couldn't ask for more on this brief and value for money stopover.

Reviewed by
Karl W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay at the Sparkford Inn
Our daughter (Stephanie) found this for us through Laterooms. A very mixed experience. The staff were brilliant, the pub food is lovely. The room was not quite as luxurious as anticipated - it was ok but could have been better. There had been a confusion over the booking, but the manager kindly refunded us some money as we had overpaid and been let down. That was great. The Inn would benefit from some minor improvements - paint on windows and walls of room touching up, taps attending to so they don't make dripping noises, bathroom door fixing so it can be closed from outside etc. Some deep cleaning of carpet and paintwork on way to room, though in fairness, the inn is probably used by workers as well as holiday-makers, so that is just a suggestion. We cannot fault the attentiveness of the staff, particularly in attending to the mix-up caused by a double-booking of the suite room.

Reviewed by
stephanie carbert

From huntingdon, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, but good value for money
The room could have done with re-decorating, and there was some traffic noise (faced onto the road and the windows were far from sound proof) but it was clean and the breakfast was good. Not somewhere you'd go for a romantic or luxury break, but for a one-night stop over (which is what I wanted it for) it was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
E Moore

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay

Reviewed by
PHILIP J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty and very tired accommodation
We did not enjoy our stay. The accommodation was filthy and full of dead creatures. The carpets are very worn and dirty plus the furniture tired. Everything needed a good clean. We didn't stop for breakfast as the state of the kettle and mugs in the room was enough to put you off. Really not worth paying a penny even though it was cheap.

Reviewed by
E Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next