No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
THE SPARKFORD INN IS LOCATED IN THE CENTRE OF SPARKFORD VILLAGE,JUST OFF THE A303,THE GATEWAY TO THE WEST COUNTRY!WE OFFER A WARM,FRIENDLY WELCOME IN OUR CHARACTER BARS AND RESTAURANT.OUR EN SUITE BEDROOMS PROVIDE VERY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION.THE SPARKFORD INN IS CLOSE TO THE HAYNES MOTOR MUSEUM OF CLASSIC AND VETERAN CARS,AND TO THE INTERNATIONALLY RENOWNED FLEET AIR ARM MUSEUM.
Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't go back in a hurry
Out side looked quaint, but unfortunately inside is needing a lot of money spent on it to come up to acceptable standard. The room was clean, had to ask for tea, coffee etc from bar man. The towels for the shower was siting on the toilet which I thought was very unhygienic, the shower shampoo container was dirty.
The bar man was extremely nice and helpful but unfortunately for him he was on his own on a bank holiday Sunday night and obviously only one person working in the kitchen. The meal at night was very poor, had to go and look for my own soup spoon and desert spoons. There was glasses and dishes on every table as too busy for the bar man to clean. What I was really surprised me was that there was dogs allowed in the bar where people were eating, one was actually siting on the lady's knee eating !!
We couldn't believe how quick the freshly cooked breakfast took to make 3 minutes!!! It was awful, the bread for toast must have been sitting out for a very long time as it was curled up and so thin it resembled Melba toast. Everything was very poor quality.
Sorry bar man as you were marvellous and defiantly deserved your salary at the end of a very busy night, but everything else was a big disappointment.

Reviewed by
C Ross

From Saundersfoot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Working in that neck of the woods I have stayed at a number of local inns. This is probably the worst. Will definately strike it off my list.

Reviewed by
Ray Heath

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked in to room 11,opened the door to find it had not been valleted. bed sheets had blood on,floor
strewn with two day newspapers.landlady not on site and had to wait to change rooms.pub side of business closed at 10pm on sunday!. landlady took until breakfast the next day to apoligise and this because i mentioned the state of the room.
would not recommend to my worst enemy.

Reviewed by
donald p

From cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing special to say. A nice one for this price.

Reviewed by
Syam G

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant, quiet stay which was surprising being that we were literally two minutes from the busy A303 Sparkford Interchange, and just off of the main street in the village which can be used as a 'rat run' to get on to the dual carriageway at times.
The hotel has had a checkered history by all accounts, An old inn, it has obviously been quite run down at various stages. Don't let the slightly dilapidated and somewhat dated exterior put you off. It's fair to say, it is mid-way through renovations as we speak. The current owners seem to making a lot of changes to get the place ship shape. The eating area in the pub is very clean and modern looking. The bar side is more traditional.
I got a late rooms deal for £45 including breakfast which was good value seeing as the Travel Lodge down the road was advertising at £69 with no breakfast. Most of the hotels in the area around Yeovil charge double.
Upon arrival we were informed we'd been upgraded due to a problem with the ceiling in our room. These things happen, so we were pleasantly thrilled to get a large suite, with living room, and large bathroom, replete with old style jacuzzi, - a real unexpected bonus!
The staff are friendly, the food we had was tasty and served fast. Business wasn't booming, but it looked like it could get quite busy especially as they have a large car park and venue room which they hire out for parties and weddings etc.
Basically, a pleasant stop over place to rest your head at a very affordable price. With still work to do, if they continue on as they do, they will get there. It's a nice old building, with additional converted annexe buildings for more rooms.
It's a competitive business out there for these places. The need to renovate versus retaining the rustic, country charm. Good luck to them.

Reviewed by
Daniel R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
The Sparkford Inn gives a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay. The room was pleasant enough but obviously in need of an over haul. The bed was comfortable and the en-suite clean so what more do you need really? The staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was ok.
Would probably stay again.

Reviewed by
Lesley S

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sparky
pleasant stay,hosts were very friendly and accomadating. breakfast well cooked and evening meals excellent. would stay again.

Reviewed by
d parry

From cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice spacius room , lovely staff.

Reviewed by
i kovacs

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not very good!!
we stayed 3 nights never again! No room cleaning, even to replace tea/coffee. No bed made,or bathroom even looked at. everything old and tired, including sheets.

Reviewed by
C Newman

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions were good, landlord very helpfu. room ok not enough milk or sugar in the room. could not get access in the morning for breakfast, we left at 8.10 very disappointed with nothing to eat or drink overall not impressed.

Reviewed by
rowan tombs

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next