No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street , SPARKFORD, BA22 7JH
The Sparkford Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of Somerset.

Situated in the village of Sparkford just off the A303 between Wincanton and Yeovil, The Sparkford Inn offers 11 cosy ensuite rooms. Our restaurant can seat 65 people. Which has an open fire in one part to set the perfect ambience.
Our new menu brings excitement and fresh ideas to The Sparkford Inn.

Why not enjoy a few drinks in our bar area, which also has a pool table, darts board and games machines. For the more relaxed approach.
We have a large beer garden for those beautiful summer days, why not enjoy a beer or a quick bite to eat in the sun.

Also available we have a function room, which has its own bar and stage; perfect for weddings, parties, meetings and other functions.
Looking for ideas of things to do whilst you stay, why not visit Haynes Motor Museum, just 2 minutes down the road, or even Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton airbase.

Please note check in time is from 2pm. Late check in times are available, please phone to discuss this.

Picture of Sparkford Yeovil by Marstons, SPARKFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and a warm welcome!
We were impressed by the friendliness of all the staff at this 15th Century Inn. They were extremely helpful, and we got the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant each evening and found the food and the service to be good.
The Inn is under new management who are enthusiastic and are keen to lavish some tender loving care on this lovely old pub. However, their efforts are not being helped by Marstons. The accommodation was comfortable and clean and we look forward to seeing the rebushments progress when we return later in the year. We wish you every success John & Debbie Curtis

Reviewed by
John Curtis

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Old Fashioned Country Inn
Great value for money,
a quirky,old fashioned Inn offering a clean and tidy room, cheap beer and food, ideal location for the Haynes motor Museum

Reviewed by
D Parry

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation refurb required
The room although big enough was ready to be refurbished!

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for Sparkbrook Halll and a fraction of the price!
This is an old pub with character, run with a great deal of enthusiasm.
The building is in need of some renovation, the old windows in our room were well past their sell by date, the door locks were all badly worn and difficult to open. If you stay, try turning the key the wrong way, some locks appear to be upside down and this is entertaining after a few drinks on a dark night!
The manager was very friendly and helpful, but she is working in a property that could do with a bit of modernisation, there are new rooms in the courtyard and they seemed better equipped. We had a lovely old room with a bay window. Lovely and clean, but doors and windows all needing attention.
Summary... Cheap and clean but in an old property with charm and character.

Reviewed by
Clive W

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!
dirty, horrible rundown

Reviewed by
tristan s

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and basis for an overnight stay
It was perfect for location as we were visiting family in West camel.
For use of a bed and breakfast it served it 's purpose!
I would not use the place for much longer. Not much atmosphere around!
Despite the age of the building. It could do with updating in order to attract more customers!l
The lady who served the breakfast was doing her upmost
under difficult circumstances!

Reviewed by
Eveline Davenport

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't go back in a hurry
Out side looked quaint, but unfortunately inside is needing a lot of money spent on it to come up to acceptable standard. The room was clean, had to ask for tea, coffee etc from bar man. The towels for the shower was siting on the toilet which I thought was very unhygienic, the shower shampoo container was dirty.
The bar man was extremely nice and helpful but unfortunately for him he was on his own on a bank holiday Sunday night and obviously only one person working in the kitchen. The meal at night was very poor, had to go and look for my own soup spoon and desert spoons. There was glasses and dishes on every table as too busy for the bar man to clean. What I was really surprised me was that there was dogs allowed in the bar where people were eating, one was actually siting on the lady's knee eating !!
We couldn't believe how quick the freshly cooked breakfast took to make 3 minutes!!! It was awful, the bread for toast must have been sitting out for a very long time as it was curled up and so thin it resembled Melba toast. Everything was very poor quality.
Sorry bar man as you were marvellous and defiantly deserved your salary at the end of a very busy night, but everything else was a big disappointment.

Reviewed by
C Ross

From Saundersfoot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Working in that neck of the woods I have stayed at a number of local inns. This is probably the worst. Will definately strike it off my list.

Reviewed by
Ray Heath

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked in to room 11,opened the door to find it had not been valleted. bed sheets had blood on,floor
strewn with two day newspapers.landlady not on site and had to wait to change rooms.pub side of business closed at 10pm on sunday!. landlady took until breakfast the next day to apoligise and this because i mentioned the state of the room.
would not recommend to my worst enemy.

Reviewed by
donald p

From cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing special to say. A nice one for this price.

Reviewed by
Syam G

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next