No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grasmere , Grasmere, LA22 9PR
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake Districts newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment with has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food.

The 78 rooms at The Daffodil Hotel & Spa are all equipped with King Size or Super King beds as standard (twin rooms available), flat screen televisions, air conditioning, complimentary Wifi, filtered still & sparkling water and Molton Brown products. The Dining Room serves an á la carte menus grill menu. Overlooking the lake, our dining room is a relaxed and informal space to dine, drink and socialise with friends and family.

The Spa at the Daffodil is a wonderfully luxurious haven of tranquility and relaxation. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments and skin care products from Germaine de Cappuccini. Our thermal suite will rejuvenate and reinvigorate tired bodies – a perfect way to end a day spent on the beautiful fells that surround the Spa. Please note that due to the nature of the spa, children under the age of 16 are not permitted in this area of the hotel.

Following our refurbishment the hotel is fully functional, the views are ever constant but the grounds are still under development and need time to mature. This will not hamper your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to The Daffodil Hotel and Spa Grasmere.
Picture of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

daffodil hotel grassmere
- excellent front of house service
- fantastic accommodation
- excellent spa facilities
- delicious food
- relaxed atmosphere
- highly recommended

Reviewed by
stephen carruthers

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Stayed here for 2 nights and made use of the spa facilities. It's one of the beat hotels in the lakes I have stayed at and great value for money. The staff are lovely and so attentive. The spa area is lovely and clean and a good range of treatments on offer too.
We just ate at breakfast time and it was livy locally sourced food. Didn't eat in the evening as the money wasn't to my boyfriends taste but it looked really nice and good value.

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
We came to the Daffodil for our own alternative Christmas Day and then immersed ourselves in the full Wordsworth experience as we were delighted to find the hotel was next to Dove Cottage which was top of our list to see. The Daffodil itself is right on the shores of Grasmere and we were upgraded to an amazing room (106 very big room/huge/comfy bed) on the corner of the building with french windows and balconies on two sides overlooking the water and the falls. Hotel service was really special. They knew who we were without having to ask and gave us a table in the restaurant dressed for Christmas, and once again at a window overlooking the water. Their regular Christmas lunch menu was beyond excellent and I took away a few recipes to try for myself. The price of just below £20 for three courses plus coffee/tea and mince pies was fantastic value. The staff in all departments were lovely. I couldnt find a fault with our stay if I tried!

Reviewed by
janet l

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
In a good location - a short walk from Grasmere. Staff are very friendly and looked after us very well. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Dianne A

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
We enjoyed our overnight stay. Meal was good. Reception staff welcoming. Room was lovely. Great view over the lake.

Reviewed by
John W

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

resturaunt needs improving .steak main course not the best.no bread offered when starter arrived asked the waitress another waiter then informed 2.25 for a .bread roll.very poor bar area 2tables@ 2 booths only.strange having to walk through dining area to get to bar. great spa and room superb but would more likely book bed @break.fast only

Reviewed by
brian m

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul and Jackie in Grasmere
Great hotel with a superb location. Good food and superb staff. Really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
PAUL MCGUIRK

From WORKINGTON, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality, friendly, medium sized private hotel in a perfect location.
The hotel is privately owned with about 70 rooms - just a nice size. We arrived to a friendly greeting and were offered an upgrade to a room with a view. We did look at the basic room and would warn people that they are close to the road and overlook the back of the hotel where there are extractor fans and large bins. The room we had was of a good size and excellent quality. There was an super king size comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and complimentary water/tea/coffee etc but no mini bar/fridge. The bathroom had both a walk in shower and a large bath. The water pressure was excellent with plenty of hot water. There were also large fluffy towels and ample Molten Brown products. Despite being near a main stair well the rooms were well insulated and were quiet. We had afternoon tea in the courtyard overlooking the lake - a beautiful location. The staff were all very friendly and went the extra mile to engage in conversation and advise you of the local area. There was a definite feeling of team working and a customer focused philosophy. The Spa was excellent. Considering it was a weekend it was not busy and was a very quiet and relaxing area. The pool temperature was perfect. The restaurant served good quality food at reasonable prices. There is a quiet lounge to relax in where waiter service is available for the bar. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and the food was of a high standard - tasty and hot. The restaurant room overlooks the lake.
Overall we really enjoyed our brief stay. The things that stood out for me were the understated quality of the hotel and professional friendliness of the staff.

Reviewed by
Stephanie C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 couples on a 3 night trip to the Lake District
Could have done with some sort of curtain over window as we were given a room at the back of hotel overlooking fans etc.

Reviewed by
J Denholm

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great facilities and a beautiful location.
Amazing views around the hotel, lovely views from the executive rooms. Breakfast selection was fantastic and all staff were extremely friendly. Spa facilities were nice and great to relax in. 10 minutes from Ambleside. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Rigby

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next