No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grasmere , Grasmere, LA22 9PR
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake Districts newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment with has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food.

The 78 rooms at The Daffodil Hotel & Spa are all equipped with King Size or Super King beds as standard (twin rooms available), flat screen televisions, air conditioning, complimentary Wifi, filtered still & sparkling water and Molton Brown products. The Dining Room serves an á la carte menus grill menu. Overlooking the lake, our dining room is a relaxed and informal space to dine, drink and socialise with friends and family.

The Spa at the Daffodil is a wonderfully luxurious haven of tranquility and relaxation. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments and skin care products from Germaine de Cappuccini. Our thermal suite will rejuvenate and reinvigorate tired bodies – a perfect way to end a day spent on the beautiful fells that surround the Spa. Please note that due to the nature of the spa, children under the age of 16 are not permitted in this area of the hotel.

Following our refurbishment the hotel is fully functional, the views are ever constant but the grounds are still under development and need time to mature. This will not hamper your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to The Daffodil Hotel and Spa Grasmere.
Picture of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic hotel in an excellent location. Customer service, value for money and the quality of the food is all first class

Reviewed by
Rachel R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would be superb if they sorted out the niggles
Overall we had a good visit, but there are some failings which must be sorted.
The spa was lovely, very relaxing and had the best pool I've ever been in, but the water was so powerful it splashed other guests on the loungers.
The food was absolutely superb, but the Friday evening dinner service, junior female staff was surly and needed training. She plonked my food in front of me, seemed offended when we asked for the candle to be re-lit, then when laying up for breakfast service, dropped loads of cutlery on the floor and then laid the table using it without cleaning it first. My wife says the service mgr witnessed this.
The bar staff were friendly, but too busy I think as our drink service was a bit too leisurely.
Other staff around the hotel were some of the most attentive I've come across.
Our Room (321) was well specified , clean and had a very classy bathroom, but the room itself was badly laid out with an offensively large tv screen in the middle of it which made the room very claustrophobic. Other rooms looked much better laid out and I'd make sure I had one of those, with a lake view room. The views would be fantastic. Sadly Room 321 looked over a flat roof and fire escape
The hotel decor is in tip top condition with interesting pictures (for sale) everywhere.
The location is brilliant.

Reviewed by
A Reed

From Near malpas, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and view was gorgeous, the bar was nice but the staff were quite rude and wouldn't serve us and some other people we had been speaking too after 11:30 but served other people. The breakfast the next morning was okay but not great.

Reviewed by
Alice B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Potentially good... but not achieving.
Very nice building , very clean , nice location, but... no atmosphere , service in restaurant lamentable , over priced , staff not trained ... an expensive price for nothing special.

Reviewed by
M Maguire

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace quiet and luxury
a smile from the staff on book in kept going with other staff all through our stay. It was just what we wanted peace quiet and luxury in this great place. The food was fantastic and served on hot plates always a plus with me.

Reviewed by
David Townsend

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and not so good
Decided to take a break over Valentines with my partner, who wanted the Spa experience. Hotel was in a great position overlooking the lake, however despite having requested lake views they gave us a view over the car park ! Very modern hotel, looked almost new so I cannot fault the accommodation or the staff. My partner wanted some treatments but was told they were fully booked for the whole week and tt we should have booked weeks ago. When I booked this no-one mentioned this. So I ended up in a premium hotel without the benefits !

Reviewed by
Steven R

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel for a romantic getaway!
We had a wonderful time at The Daffodil. The staff were very friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was amazing (one of the best meals I've ever had!) The hotel was absolutely spotless and stunning - it is clear that a lot of money has been spent on the refurbishment. The location was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet with gorgeous views but not too far away from everything. Would definitely recommend to couples looking for a romantic break.

Reviewed by
L Cook

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Daffodil
Idyllic location, enjoyable decor, friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
john t

From Barnard Castle, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
The whole stay was outstanding, the hotel itself is a very majestic stunning building, inside the decor is modern and finished to a very high standard, the room was spacious, clean, superbly furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable, the spa. just like the rest of the hotel was fantastic and the food was to die for!
Very pleased with my stay and will definitely be doing it again!

Reviewed by
J Keighley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel in a great location for a short break
We stayed to celebrate a milestone birthday, so we splashed out on one of their top rooms with a dual aspect giving different views of the lake. The room was quiet despite the hotel being so close to the main road - although we did hear the traffic first thing in the morning. Good sized bathroom and bed, although they've skimped on the size of wardrobe.
The dining room and lounge also have views of the lake. We thought the breakfasts were spot on.
We'll be back, but probably in one of the lesser rooms and we'll be satisfied with the views at breakfast.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next