No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grasmere , Grasmere, LA22 9PR
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake Districts newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment with has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food.

The 78 rooms at The Daffodil Hotel & Spa are all equipped with King Size or Super King beds as standard (twin rooms available), flat screen televisions, air conditioning, complimentary Wifi, filtered still & sparkling water and Molton Brown products. The Dining Room serves an á la carte menus grill menu. Overlooking the lake, our dining room is a relaxed and informal space to dine, drink and socialise with friends and family.

The Spa at the Daffodil is a wonderfully luxurious haven of tranquility and relaxation. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments and skin care products from Germaine de Cappuccini. Our thermal suite will rejuvenate and reinvigorate tired bodies – a perfect way to end a day spent on the beautiful fells that surround the Spa. Please note that due to the nature of the spa, children under the age of 16 are not permitted in this area of the hotel.

Following our refurbishment the hotel is fully functional, the views are ever constant but the grounds are still under development and need time to mature. This will not hamper your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to The Daffodil Hotel and Spa Grasmere.
Picture of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Daffodil
Idyllic location, enjoyable decor, friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
john t

From Barnard Castle, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
The whole stay was outstanding, the hotel itself is a very majestic stunning building, inside the decor is modern and finished to a very high standard, the room was spacious, clean, superbly furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable, the spa. just like the rest of the hotel was fantastic and the food was to die for!
Very pleased with my stay and will definitely be doing it again!

Reviewed by
J Keighley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel in a great location for a short break
We stayed to celebrate a milestone birthday, so we splashed out on one of their top rooms with a dual aspect giving different views of the lake. The room was quiet despite the hotel being so close to the main road - although we did hear the traffic first thing in the morning. Good sized bathroom and bed, although they've skimped on the size of wardrobe.
The dining room and lounge also have views of the lake. We thought the breakfasts were spot on.
We'll be back, but probably in one of the lesser rooms and we'll be satisfied with the views at breakfast.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Hotel
Greeted on arrival by a very helpful receptionist ,bedroom and bathroom were spacious and well set out view ok considering it was on third floor and to main road very comfortable bed great nights sleep.
Dined in hotel on first night meal was okay but nothing special had better steaks breakfast good plenty of selection would struggle to dine in every night if staying for more than couple of nights maybe that's just us.
After dinner on first night went to sitting room which along with rest of hotel is done to a high standard but lacking atmosphere so decided to go outside to see if any better but no lighting on joined by another couple also looking to find somewhere nice to chill out and they said were is everyone as it was still quite early she said hotel beautiful but no soul.
Tend to agree cant figure out why a stunning hotel had such a poorly planned layout bar on first floor at back of restaurant has a couple of booths and tables but really on for using whilst waiting to be seated for dinner. lovely sitting area outside with view of lakes but if you want a drink onto the lift go to first floor and through restaurant then carry them back to lift then down and outside why when large bar on ground floor looks like this is only used downstairs function room is being used.
Overall stunning hotel but cant understand why layout spoils what could be a great place to stay and although darker nights are here better lighting and some heating with those outside views would be a stunning place to relax at night after nice day out .Spa area as with rest of hotel beautiful but be aware you cant have a swim. Would stay here again but would book through late rooms for better deals

Reviewed by
Paul Lafferty

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent with minor reservations
The hotel is modern in an idyllic setting. Staff very helpful and friendly. The quality of the food was excellent. There were some minor problems with things running out at the bar and in the restaurant - possibly it being end of season. We got the impression that they were maybe one waiter short in the restaurant when it got busy. Otherwise, things were near perfect and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
David Buckland

From Bridgend, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall great place and stay..bit more work needed
Great stay fantastic bed very big and comfy..
Fantastic view over lake
Spa pool reallt good...tho closes at 6-30 was disapointing and not told by reception, si missed out on first night..
Breakfast plentifull and good choice..though as buffet quality of hot food only average

Reviewed by
dennis b

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
excellent location, good facilities , room good size, didnt enjoy the view of a huge generator dissapointing, Food disapointing from room service £5 to deliver a tray poor when you pay £160.00 for the room!
Breakfast good

Reviewed by
m walton

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful staff, food and a fantastic spa but garden seems a "work in progress"
The staff at this hotel were wonderful - without exception, from the Reception staff, Beauty Therapy Spa staff, Waiters and waitresses, cleaning staff - they were all very helpful, polite and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The food was excellent too and the Daffodil Hotel offers an extensive breakfast buffet as well.
The only downside was the view from our room out across a flat roof with a beautiful view of the air conditioning unit! I think they need a roof top garden to hide the air-con!!! I have no complaints about the room it'self and the bed was very comfortable. I guess you get what you pay for and we could have upgraded to one of the beautiful lake or valley view rooms if we had wished to.
Although on the lakeside, the gardens appear to be unfinished and sparse (or is that maybe the modern way, I'm not sure?)
The hotel was relatively quiet when we stayed but we weren't complaining - we had the spa all to ourselves for about an hour - what a luxury!
A lovely hotel - somewhat different to other hotels in the Lakes due to it's very contemporary decor and interesting artworks, but we enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in going back. A few more plants or a large fish tank in the reception area wouldn't go a miss either as it does tend to feel a bit life-less and empty. I think this hotel will become popular with time - I get the feeling it still needs to be "discovered"

Reviewed by
Elizabeth T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3