No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haweswater Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Lakeside Road Bampton, Penrith, CA10 2RP
A Lakeside setting in a quiet country location with stunning scenery in this quiet and secluded valley of the Golden Eagle. We are ideally situated for a relaxing 'away from it all' break, walking or a central base for the rest of the Lakes and we are only 12 miles from the M6.

The Hotel offers first class freshly prepared local food, welcoming hospitality, cosy & comfortable accommodation in our friendly family run no smoking Hotel. Come and relax beside one of the roaring log fires and soak up the views and tranquillity.

The hotel ensures a peaceful stay with no televisions or telephones in the bedrooms and is totally non-smoking. Games are provided for your entertainment in the lounge and bar by the open log fires. Wireless internet access is available.
The dining room offers a choice of a two or three course dinner menu prepared with care and imagination using fresh local produce which changes daily & is complimented by a choice of wines from around the world. (it is advised to reserve your table at time of booking & inform hotel of any dietary requirements) Climb the fells by the hotel and see the only golden eagle living wild in England along with red deer and an abundance of other wildlife.
Picture of Haweswater Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
Lovely room and great location. Quiet area but great for a country getaway or rantic night away.

Reviewed by
R Loveridge

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay for that get away w end.

Reviewed by
M Rose

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
If the owner took interest in this hotel it could be fabulous. The staff tried hard but lacked any manager in charge of them. With training staff could be very good but at the moment seem demoralised. Food brilliant.

Reviewed by
TREVOR D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away
Staff were fantastic from start to finish. I cannot fault my stay in any way.
All questions and enquries were dealt with promptly and courteously.
The food was fantastic so much so that we never even bothered eating elsewhere. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
nicholas joiner

From liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent again.

Reviewed by
Tony W

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's rest on long journey
Chose Haweswater Hotel as good place to stop for the night on journey from Isle of Skye to Portsmouth. Very pleasantly surprised. Room bang up to date with spa bath and even a TV above the bath. Unfortunately we were too late for supper but breakfast was tasty with good variety. Would definitely recommend the hotel as in very quiet location with gorgeous views of hills and water and you may be lucky enough to see the resident red squirrels!

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel could do with a good decorating down stairs but our room was lovely

Reviewed by
paul southam

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NYE treat
2nd stay at Haweswater Hotel. Great location. Lovely art nouveau style decoration in lobby & lounge. Comfortable well equipped & decorated rooms. Fab views. Good food. Good value for money. Most recent stay New Year's Eve. Booked well ahead when the website made no mention of any New Years activities. The plan was a nice dinner, good bottle of red & a quiet, civilised foray into 20013.
Unfortunately the hotel had arranged, rather late in the proceedings to entertain the guests with a disco & buffet supper. Considering the type of clientele that would visit such a remote location it seemed an odd choice of entertainment, especially when it included some really bad karaoke. I think next time the manager should analyse the type of guest & have some entertainment more in keeping with the age group present. Apart from the odd choice of entertainment, none was really necessary, the hotel is lovely. All the staff are friendly apart from the young chap acting as in charge, who comes across as a basil fawlty type character in a rude & unfriendly manner. The first time we stayed he almost had a fit because we got there 1/2 hour before check in. He is a strange choice of front of house when it is obvious he has no people skills. Apart from him we found all the other staff very nice & friendly. We will stay again as it is such a lovely spot but not at new year if they continue to feel the need to entertain. Some people just want to get away from all that NYE fakery & just do nothing.

Reviewed by
J Flynn

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location to get away from it all
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, decent enough hotel food drink a bit pricy though nice enough, our room (16) had great view over the lake but was let down by tired decor and noisy plumbing at night. Would say again staff were excellent and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Terry M

From Leyland, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquility heaven.
This hotel ticked every box for me and my wife.The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and the art deco theme was a pleasant surprise.We have never been so relaxed,it was so peaceful and laid back with a beautiful bar with a coal fire and a superb restaurant with awesome food.We will return.The red squirrels outside were a joy to watch thanks to the hotel staff feeding them.

Reviewed by
max w

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next