Reviews - BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

3

The Street, Bramber, Steyning, BN44 3WE

Price From 159.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alan Hather

  • August 2015

Review of our stay

Pluses:- Very comfortable and clean air-conditioned room.

Staff helpful and friendly, service very good. Breakfast as you would expect from this grade of hotel. Well kept gardens ideal for afternoon tea in dry weather. Minuses:- If raining can get very wet going from building to building. Dinner, carvery OK for 1 or 2 nights but not for more, very little choice if you don't want it. Could do with steaks or fish other than salmon. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

  • Angie R

  • May 2015

Pleasant stay

Stayed overnight as on business nearby.

Large room, a little dated but very clean. Staff friendly. Carvery set up a bit weird, didn't see hot starters until after main course (due to positioning), staff serve meat as per normal carvery but also serve your veg, gravy etc, then carry it to your table (unsure why this is necessary for the majority of customers I saw there). Plus I was lucky as I love carvery but am unsure if there was anything else on offer as no menu.

Breakfast was a bit of a free for all and the queue formed in the doorway making it tricky to get in and out to your table. Overall though a pleasant stay, staff friendly and I would stay again

  • Stephen burton

  • April 2015

Great food but cold shower

The food was superb both dinner and breakfast

But the room shower needs updating because it ran mostly cold

  • Stuart M

  • November 2014

Room ok, food?

The room was ok if a little dated.

The food, carvery, was very expensive for what it was and you cannot serve yourself for anything. The restaurant staff were not that welcoming either. Would stay again if I could find nothing else.

  • Sylvia E

  • November 2014

Top quality hotel

The accommodation was of a high standard- very clean and omfortable.

The Wi-Fi was good to enable contact with family. Reception was friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food. Again, service in the dining room was excellent. What a treat!

  • Jason M

  • October 2014

Nice hotel - bit pricey

This was a pretty standard business travel hotel, but in a lovely village.

The hotel layout was split over separate buildings which made the place feel spacious and uncramped, but I imagine would be an issue if it was raining and you had to go in the open to get to breakfast. The rooms were comfortable and clean and of a good standard. However, they were nothing special. Having stayed in a Premier Inn or Travelodge or similar, the room didn't feel noticably better than those to warrant the higher price. That being said, the breakfast was good. Hot and fresh and nice ingredients (you can usually tell from the sausages where the savings have been made!) even late in the serving period (we arrived just 30 mins before breakfast ended). Overall, a nice hotel in a beautiful village, but slightly pricey for what you get.

  • E DRABBLE

  • August 2014

very good

Lovely Hotel but could do with a better bar area ,Hotel recepionists very obliging and helpful .

  • Alan D

  • August 2014

A gem of a hotel

Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable.

All furnishing etc and housekeeping excellent . The grounds were also well kept - no unsightly areas , even the bins were housed in a fenced off area. Staff friendly and helpful even though there were lots of guests. Good selection of food for breakfast and plenty of it. Only improvement I could suggest is adding, green, peppermint of herbal teas to tea tray in bedroom but I feel sure that if I had asked for them they would have been supplied.

  • Katie H

  • July 2014

Everything we could have needed!

We stayed here as a group of 12 women and found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and contained everything we could need. Rooms were a good size as we're the bathrooms. The best part of the stay was breakfast which was fantastic. Everything you could want was provided and there was a wide selection of food and drink. The food was delicious and service again friendly and welcoming. The staff even gave us a table in our own area so we could all sit together - a nice touch. We had a lovely stay and would recommend.

  • Kathryn S

  • July 2014

Three day trip

Nice hotel in very pleasant village with a easy drive into Brighton.

Good sized rooms. Lots of staff, but customer service not brilliant, rather slow. However, enjoyed stay and would stay again.