No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Street, Bramber , Steyning, BN44 3WE
Quaint 3 Star Best Western Hotel situated in the sleepy village of Bramber, near to Steyning, Worthing, Brighton and the magnificent South Downs National Park. Ideal location when visiting the many historic houses, gardens and golf courses in the local area. Free parking and free WIFI is available to all guests and customers. Award winning Carvery Restaurant and licensed to host Civil Weddings and Partnerships. Holder of the Enjoy England Breakfast Award.
Picture of BEST WESTERN  Old Tollgate Hotel, Steyning at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room ok, food?
The room was ok if a little dated. The food, carvery, was very expensive for what it was and you cannot serve yourself for anything. The restaurant staff were not that welcoming either.
Would stay again if I could find nothing else.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top quality hotel
The accommodation was of a high standard- very clean and omfortable. The Wi-Fi was good to enable contact with family.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
The breakfast each morning was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food. Again, service in the dining room was excellent.
What a treat!

Reviewed by
Sylvia E

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel - bit pricey
This was a pretty standard business travel hotel, but in a lovely village. The hotel layout was split over separate buildings which made the place feel spacious and uncramped, but I imagine would be an issue if it was raining and you had to go in the open to get to breakfast.
The rooms were comfortable and clean and of a good standard. However, they were nothing special. Having stayed in a Premier Inn or Travelodge or similar, the room didn't feel noticably better than those to warrant the higher price.
That being said, the breakfast was good. Hot and fresh and nice ingredients (you can usually tell from the sausages where the savings have been made!) even late in the serving period (we arrived just 30 mins before breakfast ended).
Overall, a nice hotel in a beautiful village, but slightly pricey for what you get.

Reviewed by
Jason M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a hotel
Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable. All furnishing etc and housekeeping excellent . The grounds were also well kept - no unsightly areas , even the bins were housed in a fenced off area.
Staff friendly and helpful even though there were lots of guests. Good selection of food for breakfast and plenty of it. Only improvement I could suggest is adding, green, peppermint of herbal teas to tea tray in bedroom but I feel sure that if I had asked for them they would have been supplied.

Reviewed by
Alan D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
Lovely Hotel but could do with a better bar area ,Hotel recepionists very obliging and helpful .

Reviewed by
E DRABBLE

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we could have needed!
We stayed here as a group of 12 women and found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise! The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and contained everything we could need. Rooms were a good size as we're the bathrooms. The best part of the stay was breakfast which was fantastic. Everything you could want was provided and there was a wide selection of food and drink. The food was delicious and service again friendly and welcoming. The staff even gave us a table in our own area so we could all sit together - a nice touch. We had a lovely stay and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Katie H

From Chatham, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three day trip
Nice hotel in very pleasant village with a easy drive into Brighton. Good sized rooms. Lots of staff, but customer service not brilliant, rather slow. However, enjoyed stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Kathryn S

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful, clean and no hassles
That this is the 2nd time we've stayed here speaks that the experience is good. The rooms are fairly spacious and provide good facilities. The location is excellent for those who prefer somewhere more peaceful than nearby Brighton. Although located in the countryside, it actually makes for easy access to many local attractions.
Whilst the evening carvery and morning breakfast buffet are adequate one does feel that they only meet a minimum standard and for what it is the carvery is rather expensive, It's obviously popular with the locals, but I think if we go back next year we will explore other dining options.
The sunken garden is a nicely sheltered spot to spend time in with a drink and company away from noise and hassles.
We'll happily go back there next year, it's a very handy place to stay for a visit to Glyndebourne that's away from the usual palaver. We know what to expect and are happy with it, just that we'd prefer to find better quality and more adventurous cuisine now that we have explored the area a bit more.

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frequent visitors
We stay at the Tolgate on a regular basis for family commitment and we are always made welcome in fact it is like home to home

Reviewed by
Carol H

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely accommodation
We have stayed here often as we visit relatives nearby. The rooms are very homely and comfortable and the staff are always very welcoming. The breakfast is varied and very good value. I am very happy to recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
Anne P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next