No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Street, Bramber, Steyning, BN44 3WE
Just 10 miles from Brighton, amidst glorious countryside. The BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, which has an award-winning carvery restaurant - better described as 'visual a la carte' - is within easy reach of Gatwick airport, mainline stations and motorway links. Many historic houses and gardens nearby. At the foot of South Downs hills (awaiting confirmation of National Park status) with miles of walking. Riding, fishing and golf, all nearby.
Picture of BEST WESTERN  Old Tollgate Hotel, Steyning at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a hotel
Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable. All furnishing etc and housekeeping excellent . The grounds were also well kept - no unsightly areas , even the bins were housed in a fenced off area.
Staff friendly and helpful even though there were lots of guests. Good selection of food for breakfast and plenty of it. Only improvement I could suggest is adding, green, peppermint of herbal teas to tea tray in bedroom but I feel sure that if I had asked for them they would have been supplied.

Reviewed by
Alan D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
Lovely Hotel but could do with a better bar area ,Hotel recepionists very obliging and helpful .

Reviewed by
E DRABBLE

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we could have needed!
We stayed here as a group of 12 women and found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise! The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and contained everything we could need. Rooms were a good size as we're the bathrooms. The best part of the stay was breakfast which was fantastic. Everything you could want was provided and there was a wide selection of food and drink. The food was delicious and service again friendly and welcoming. The staff even gave us a table in our own area so we could all sit together - a nice touch. We had a lovely stay and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Katie H

From Chatham, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three day trip
Nice hotel in very pleasant village with a easy drive into Brighton. Good sized rooms. Lots of staff, but customer service not brilliant, rather slow. However, enjoyed stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Kathryn S

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful, clean and no hassles
That this is the 2nd time we've stayed here speaks that the experience is good. The rooms are fairly spacious and provide good facilities. The location is excellent for those who prefer somewhere more peaceful than nearby Brighton. Although located in the countryside, it actually makes for easy access to many local attractions.
Whilst the evening carvery and morning breakfast buffet are adequate one does feel that they only meet a minimum standard and for what it is the carvery is rather expensive, It's obviously popular with the locals, but I think if we go back next year we will explore other dining options.
The sunken garden is a nicely sheltered spot to spend time in with a drink and company away from noise and hassles.
We'll happily go back there next year, it's a very handy place to stay for a visit to Glyndebourne that's away from the usual palaver. We know what to expect and are happy with it, just that we'd prefer to find better quality and more adventurous cuisine now that we have explored the area a bit more.

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frequent visitors
We stay at the Tolgate on a regular basis for family commitment and we are always made welcome in fact it is like home to home

Reviewed by
Carol H

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely accommodation
We have stayed here often as we visit relatives nearby. The rooms are very homely and comfortable and the staff are always very welcoming. The breakfast is varied and very good value. I am very happy to recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
Anne P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and finish within the building were excellent.
The evening meal was of an excellent standard with friendly smiling staff.

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most satisfactory stay
I have stayed in the Old Tollgate before and wouldn't hesitate to do so again. From the large car park to the clean and comfortable room this hotel met our needs admirably well. Service was good and the staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent, what more could you want?

Reviewed by
Peter L

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visitor
Visit Brighton several times a year and found the Tollgate last year. We stay here now on every visit. Listed as 3star should be 4star.

Reviewed by
j bryson

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next