No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Heron House Bed & Breakfast

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Canon Pyon Road Portway, Burghill, Hereford, HR4 8NG
Rural location 3 miles north of Hereford city. Ideal for touring, golf, sightseeing. Both en-suite and non en-suite rooms for non smokers. Tea/coffee making facilities. Colour televison. Ample car parking for 5 cars. Please note the car parking area is unsuitable for large lorries. Accessability to rooms after 15.00 hours.
There is only a very limited bus service into Hereford making the accommodation unsuitable for visitors with no transport.
Picture of Heron House Bed & Breakfast, Hereford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little country house.Friendly couple.

Reviewed by
barry w

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
This B&B was no good if you have to work and use the internet, the entrance smelt stale and dower , so did the room on first entrance. The late booking said £65 so I thought I was staying in a nice B&B. The cost was actually £37which brought no comfort as I had to leave at 4;45am due to the lack of internet access, so had no breakfast and ended up at work at . 5;15am. Not good in any shape or form.
In short I am niether happy with the B&B or laterooms.com for such misleading information.

ManagementResponse

This guest changed her booking from one day to another at very short notice and then arrived about two hours late on the 'correct' day. On arriving she did consider going to alternative accommodation but chose not to do so. Guests should always check with accommodation providers that the facilities they require are actually available. This guest was almost continuously attached to her mobile phone which made any form of conversation almost impossible. What a contrast to the previous guest of two days earlier who awarded us 29 points out of a possible 30!!

Reviewed by
a Coyle

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitality, cleanliness

Reviewed by
M Mohamed

From Kuwait
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights stay
Made very welcome as soon as I walked in the door, showed my room,Bathroom where whould be eating in the morning before any word was spoken about paying for my stay. will be working in town for a few weeks and rebooking in with the Huckle's

Reviewed by
t kenny

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fly bye The Heron
Affordable short stop over, which was all I required, damp smelling on entry but room was ok. A nice cooked breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
A Lee

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

HERON HOUSE - Great
Lovely place, lovely people, lovely food ...... LOVELY!
Best regards Kim & Dave Leadbeater

Reviewed by
D Leadbeater

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine, functional accommodation, comfy bed and room with good TV and nice breakfast; excellent value

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one night.
The b&b host contacted me before the date of my arrival and I was greeted well on arrival. The situation is fine, not very far out of Hereford and entirely satisfactory for my needs. There was some refurbishment in progress, which had no effect on me at all. I only required a light breakfast which was provided quickly and adequately. Generally very satisfactory for my purpose and I recommend it as good value.

Reviewed by
M Powell

From Twickenham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.