No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crossways Guest House York

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
23 Wigginton Road, , , York, YO31 8HJ
There is a warm Yorkshire welcome for those who bed and breakfast in our beautiful three story Victorian town house. Fantastic City Centre Location just 10 minutes walk from the Historic York Minster. We offer visitors excellent 4 star accommodation and being situated so close to the city centre gives the perfect base for exploring some of Britain's most famous attractions - the Minster, Stonegate and the Shambles to name a few.Guests are encouraged to use the pretty garden for relaxation after visiting the sights. Breakfast, whether continental or full English, is varied, hearty and delicious - special dietary requirements can be catered for. We make our own Home-made marmalade and preserve.. Our 4 star guest house located in the historic city of York a perfect base for exploring some of Britain's most famous attractions - the Minster, Stonegate and the Shambles to name a few, all within a short walk. •All rooms have LCD Freeview TV •Fantastic City Centre Location . 10 minutes walk to the minster •Bus stop at end of garden path that takes you directly into the city centre •Ground Floor Twin Room •Superior Double . Superior King Bedded room •Extras can be arranged: flowers, chocolates or wine / champagne for those special occasions. Please book a week prior to arrival •Discounts for long stays •Large Fluffy towels •Free Wireless Broadband- please be aware we are a Victorian Town house, so connections can vary •Full English Breakfast from 8.30am - 9.15am . Homemade jam and marmalade. •Guests are encouraged to use the lovely garden in summer months for relaxation after visiting the sights. . We have cycle parking bars to lock up bikes. "WINTER OFFER £150 for 3 night stay" Check in from 10.30am - 8pm Saturday & Sunday 10.30am - 2pm Check out by 10am. WE ASK YOU TO STATE A TIME OF ARRIVAL PLEASE
Picture of Crossways Guest House York, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York city break
Crossways was very suitably located within walking distance of the city centre and ideal for a city break. The accommodation was very cosy and the owner of the guest house was very friendly. I was very impressed with the amount of information available for all the local attractions and we were also got some information from the owner. Although the room was small and the shower was not as powerful as I am used to, I did not mind since it served the purpose.and it was nice to be in the loft room with the a beautiful view of the sky. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a television in the room as well as tea, cofee and biscuits. We enjoyed our breakfast and were very pleased to have service with a smile. We would definitely stay at this guest house again.

Reviewed by
S Shah

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crossways - average
Owner, very friendly and polite lady. Only staff member a lady, also friendly and polite. Parking, a bit awkward as you have to use specific parking bays on side streets. Room, small and pokey, double bed took up most of space. I had to remove the chair from the room as there was no space for it and it was just in the way. Bathroom, equally small and pokey. No space provided for setting out toiletries. The mini shelf above the sink was too low down for face washing. Broadband, signal really poor on the top floor, due to "thick walls", I had to sit on the steps outside the room for some signal. No in-house telephone available, I had to nip to the local hospital which the owner guessed had a payphone. This was essential as I needed to make an important call which would have been expensive on a mobile. Dining room, only available in the mornings for breakfast. It would have been nice to have access to it at other times of the day or have access to another common room to be closer to the broadband box. Breakfast, okay for me, partner enjoyed his. Overall, average.

Reviewed by
V Williams

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely quiet guesthouse, close to city centre attractions, very clean and excellent customer services

Reviewed by
Mark Hartley

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An ok place for an overnight but not over impressed.
We were slightly dissapointed to find out after booking that parking in a nearby street was an extra cost on top of the hotel room. This should have been cler before booking. We booked the better of the two rooms that were available and were not particularly impressed. The described luxuary towels were not. Very friendly and warm welcome on arrival. The hotel was a little bit further from the center than we expected well over a 10 minute walk to the walls. A bit dissapointed with the size of the breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Blake

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
Just perfect. Emma, the owner was ready at the door to give us a very warm welcome. Our room (superior king) was spacious, light, but very warm and cosy. There was even home made scones and butter on our tea tray. The guest house was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfy, crisp clean bedding and large fluffy towels.
Crossways is within walking distance (between 1 to 1.5 miles) to York Minster, the Shambles and the Railway Museum, but there is a bus right outside the front gate for anyone needing transport.
A perfect place to stay for exploring York.

Reviewed by
Helen C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant weekend
Just enjoyed a wonderful experinece at this guest house. Close to the centre of York, well worth the money. We were in Room no.1 which was clean, comfortable and nicely presented. No different to any of the good hotel rooms on offer elsewhere for more money. Breakfast set you up for the day. and had plenty of choice. The breakfast room overlooked a well manicured garden. Although on one of the main roads leading into York it is well set back and therefore there is no traffic noise.
We had a really comfortable stay and would definitely recommend as a place to stay rather than the city centre accommodation.

Reviewed by
Sheila Gibbon

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crossways
Nice little hotel and the lady running the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel was generally in good order. Communication prior to the visit was excellent.
There is limited parking near the hotel, however you should be able to get a space if you see the owner as there are permit spaces set aside for the hotel. The hospital is on the other side of the road and it's very busy FYI. There was some larger rooms in the hotel, which I presume would have cost more - we were in a very small room at the top of the hotel (we booked a double en suite) - its the smallest double en suite we have ever been in and you barely had anywhere to put your bag. It would not have been ideal if you were stopping more than one night. Other rooms are probably bigger so its each to their own and we would have liked a larger room. I wouldn't let this review put you off though as the positives far outweigh this negative.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
We had a fantastic stay here, Emma could not have been a more attentive hostess. We stayed in the lovely Executive Room.

Reviewed by
L LENDERS

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Warm Welcome
Emma was an excellent host and gave a very warm welcome. Our room was small but adequate for our one night stay and the beds were very comfy. The guest house was only 10 mins from the city centre or 20 mins to the railway station, so location was ideal for us. The stay overall was very good value for money - there were other guest houses asking a lot more money for a lot less so I was very satisfied with my choice.

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent homemade jam

Reviewed by
sharron smith

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next