No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Crown Place , Harrogate, HG1 2RZ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Crown Hotel is located in the centre of busy Harrogate, 5 minute walk from the Train Station, and surrounded by lots of shops, boutiques, bars, restaurants, also within close proximity of Betty’s Tea Rooms, The Pump Room museum and The Montpellier Antique Quarter.

All of our 114 bedrooms are fully en-suite with bath and shower, some have walk-in showers and we also have two fully accessible disabled rooms. We are now offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel.

The Crown Hotel has two bars “Henry’s” and “The Place” both offering a selection of cocktails, wines and beers. Each bar also serves “round the world coffees” which you can enjoy with a piece of homemade cake.

Should be feeling peckish there is an extensive bar menu, room service or if you are looking for something more substantial what not try our delicious Al a Carte or Table d’hote menu which can be eaten in the Thackwray Restaurant.

The Carpark is located at the front of the hotel, alternative parking is nearby at the pay & display or off road parking, please ask at reception for further details.

Finally please can you contact the hotel in advance should you be bringing a wheelchair or a scooter.
Picture of The Crown Hotel, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 223 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, vfm and service with a smile
Had a lovely time in a beautiful place. Nice clean room on the front. Good location for everything on offer. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Gerard O

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harrogate stop over.
The hotel is a splendid building with a long history and many original features. It is situated in a very convenient position for all the main shops, restaurants, bars and the theatre.
The room was adequate but very clean. Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice of cold buffet and well cooked food served in beautiful surroundings.
The issue with the hotel is inadequate parking. My husband is disabled and all parking spaces were taken during our stay and we had to park in a car park close by On closer inspection we found that allocated disabled spaces were occupied by delivery vehicles and none diabled permit holders - not very helpful!
Regardless of this small setback we would return again to this hotel - good value for money.

Reviewed by
Carole B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Few Days Away
When do the floorboards get fed? That apart our stay was a really pleasant experience, a very authentic older hotel.
The star of our weekend was Harrogate itself with Crown being ideally located.

Reviewed by
A Wilmot

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great nights stay
Great old hotel but well looked after. If you pondering whether to go with or without breakfast definitely go for it!!
Would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
C Peacock

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at The Crown Hotel
I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at The Crown. It was much grander than I'd imagined. A very pleasant overnight stay was had.

Reviewed by
C Kelly

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic quality and value for money
It really couldn't have been much better. We will be staying again.

Reviewed by
GRAHAM H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restful stay in impressive and conveniently placed Crown
Very pleasant room and spacious bathroom at the front overlooking the gentle bustle of Harrogate. Food good and staff pleasant and attentive. Two delightful visits to Aunt Betty's and walks in the parkland after!

Reviewed by
gregory jackson

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed at the Crown on numerous occasions and will do so again. Although the room was a little tired this did not distract from the overall experience and enjoyment of staying at the Crown. The food was good and all the staff were most helpful and obliging. Car parking can be a bit of a bind when the hotel is busy but overall the hotel is good value, has a cosy and comfortable feeling and the staff all help to make for a pleasurable stay.


Reviewed by
M Sadler

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
Great stay- very central to shops, parks , restaurants etc will def come again

Reviewed by
A Wilson

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived at the hotel to find there was a beer festival to be held there for 3 days. We arrived at 11am and the hotel were happy for us to park on the car park until we could check in at 3pm. We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel on the first floor which was right above the entrance to the hotel. By 9.30pm the beer festival was in full swing, as was the noise below our room. We spoke to reception and asked to move from our allocated room to somewhere which was quieter. the staff were friendly and helpful and actually upgraded our room for the inconvenience. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, with plenty of choice.
The hotel itself was okay but was a bit out-dated and also the sash windows didn't close properly so you could hear the noise of the traffic outside your room.

Reviewed by
S Shuttleworth

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next