No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Crown Place , Harrogate, HG1 2RZ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Crown Hotel is located in the centre of busy Harrogate, 5 minute walk from the Train Station, and surrounded by lots of shops, boutiques, bars, restaurants, also within close proximity of Betty’s Tea Rooms, The Pump Room museum and The Montpellier Antique Quarter.

All of our 114 bedrooms are fully en-suite with bath and shower, some have walk-in showers and we also have two fully accessible disabled rooms. We are now offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel.

The Crown Hotel has two bars “Henry’s” and “The Place” both offering a selection of cocktails, wines and beers. Each bar also serves “round the world coffees” which you can enjoy with a piece of homemade cake.

Should be feeling peckish there is an extensive bar menu, room service or if you are looking for something more substantial what not try our delicious Al a Carte or Table d’hote menu which can be eaten in the Thackwray Restaurant.

Public parking is possible at a location nearby(reservation is not possible) and charges may be applicable

Finally please can you contact the hotel in advance should you be bringing a wheelchair or a scooter.
Picture of The Crown Hotel, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 210 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel very convenient for the town.

Reviewed by
Gillian A

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent short break
We had a great time, very relaxing and in a central location. We laughed at the floorboards creaking in our bedroom but I suppose they are 250 or so, years old so we should not complain! The staff were attentive and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
J Dunstan

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in the perfect location
This hotel is in the perfect location in Harrogate, really enjoyable stay and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Sara H

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Had a very good stay at the Crown. Only had the breakfaster which was very good. Staff there when needed.

Reviewed by
C Davis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night at Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel is in a great position in Harrogate, very near to Valley Gardens, not far from Betty's. We got a warm welcome from reception staff when checking in. We were on the 2nd floor, everything was fine with our room.
We had our evening meL in The Place, the Brasserie. The young gentleman on the bar was excellent, lovely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. He engaged with customers and with ourselves . We had a lovely time at this hotel.

Reviewed by
P Elder

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not exactly superior
A very ordinary, dull room despite paying extra for superior. We did have wine and chocolates but there was no chest of drawers, just a hanging canvas contraption in the wardrobe. The bathroom was small with some mould round the tiles and an awkward shower over the Only one bathrobe, towels just satisfactory. A lot of noise transfer from above.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of hotel
We have stayed at the Crown for the last 5 years, but it is starting to look a bit tired, needs a major investment to bring it up to the top standard.

Reviewed by
S Griffin

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Break
Lovely Hotel. Nice big room. Courteous staff. Comfortable bed. Very clean room. What more could you want. Thank you

Reviewed by
L Brown

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception a bit slow on arrival but once seen very helpful.

Reviewed by
L Bland

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Agreed to have a room above a wedding as we were going out late; however this seems to have also been an excuse to give us a shabby warm room with no view in need of redecorating. Bed very soft and uncomfortable. Did not approach staff regarding this as planned to on check-out as only overworked weekend staff available. Appreciate we booked last minute but very disappointed.

Reviewed by
Sian Y

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next