No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Kings Head Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10 Market Place, Richmond, DL10 4HS
BEST WESTERN Kings Head Hotel in Richmond encapsulates all that is great about Britain. With history and style in abundance, this wonderful ex- gentleman's townhouse is packed with charm and full to the rafters with 18th century character. Of course we've added a number of modern finishing touches to the place since 1717, which means guests can enjoy the very best of the past and present luxury. Fine Georgian architecture blends with modern appeal to offer warm and cozy surroundings and a relaxed atmosphere. Little wonder that the artist J.M.W. Turner described the hotel as, "The finest in Richmondshire!" Perfectly placed in the historic town of Richmond, the hotel overlooks the beautiful cobbled marketplace, which is reputed to be the largest in Europe, and is within walking distance of the stunning Theatre Royal, Richmond Castle, and river walks by the Swale. This means you have as much to feast your eyes upon outside the hotel as you do inside!
Picture of Best Western Kings Head Hotel, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good position but due to water pressure they had disconnected most of the showers which was a bit of a blow. Also our room was in the front and was very noisy due to late night revellers, finally got to sleep at 2.00 am. Good place to stay if you don't mind th above.

Reviewed by
Sandra S

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, with only one blemish.
Everything was clean and well presented. The only problem we found was that our room lacked a shower, it only had a bath. In this day and age it is hard to justify a hotel room lacking this basic washing facility.

Reviewed by
D Hart

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location brilliant right in the market square
Staff were very helpful providing excellent information about the area and things to do
We booked the superior bedroom which was very comfortable and spacious only one complaint the shower wasn't the best had I been stopping longer than 2 night I would have probably got them to look at it
Overall a very enjoyable stay we will be back

Reviewed by
Alan Hill

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in beautiful town
Stayed here before. Smaller room this time but very comfortable. Food good and exactly as ordered. Staff great.

Reviewed by
nick b

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely warm friendly hotel

Reviewed by
A Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Right in the centre of Richmond, within easy reach of shops, bars and restaurants. Very friendly staff available 24 hours. Having daily papers available in the comfortable lounge area would be appreciated. Well cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
eileen s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top hotel, professional staff, good food
We really enjoyed our Easter weekend stay. The staff were extremely professional and the food was excellent. Hotel was very classical in style with lively high ceilings and ornate decoration. Bathroom was a little tired but more than adequate. There were quite a lot of creaky floorboards so we might have disturbed anyone staying in the room beneath us.

Reviewed by
Andrew Carter

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place in a lovely town
This is a really nice place. My reservation hadn't come through from Laterooms and they had no more double rooms. I showed them my email and they gave me an upgraded room.
All you need to realise is that given the location and the "traditional" windows there is noise from outside.

Reviewed by
nick b

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Matt H

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richmond weekend
The staff very helpful and polite at all times. nothing was ever to much trouble, always willing to help. very polite and courteous at all times. a lovely warm welcome.

Reviewed by
Julie Smith

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next