No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Charnwood Arms by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BEVERIDGE LANE , COALVILLE, LE67 1TB
A former country house outside the market town of Coalville and 2 miles from the M1, The Charnwood Arms Hotel is a great location for exploring the lovely Leicestershire countryside. Visitor attractions including the National Space Centre and Twycross Zoo are within easy reach.

Leicester and Loughborough are both less than 10 miles away and Nottingham, Derby and Burton on Trent are all easily accessible, making The Charnwood Arms an ideal base for doing business in the East Midlands, or planning a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is ideal for business meetings and away days too.

The hotel has 34 en-suite bedrooms including chalet-style, family and twin rooms, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a family friendly Fayre & Square pub restaurant on site.
Less than 12 miles from East Midlands Airport and close to Leicester, Donington Race Track and Mallory Park, the hotel is conveniently located just 2 miles from junction 22 of the M1, on Beveridge Lane off the A511.
Picture of Charnwood Arms by Good Night Inns, COALVILLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy with the choice of hotel
A friendly welcome. The room was clean and comfortable but the bed did dip a bit in the middle. Despite being a Saturday night there was little noise to be heard from our room. Breakfast was very good but using the toaster was a lottery and my toast was warm bread. I would use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Barry G

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Had a very comfortable stay at the Charnwood Arms. The room was well-equipped with plenty of room for a family of 4. Extremely good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
L Woolley

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had to find somewhere to stay at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised at quality of service, accommodation, welcome and food on offer at the Charnwood Arms, as well as the great value for money.









Reviewed by
Diana G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cavaliers
The hotel is situated in a prominent position near a busy roundabout, and has a lot of trade as a popular local restaurant in its own right. The reception was friendly, and the accommodation good value, The rooms are based on the slightly old fashioned motel layout. This was good for us as our room was, secluded, relatively private and the re was no intrusive noise, We were able to load our car without a long walk. However a room directly open to the car park felt less secure than a more closely integrated design, Service was nevertheless friendly, welcoming and professional. It was good value for the price.. We were staying for a camping event at Strawberry fields, and noticed that several members of our association subsequently booked in at the hotel, having abandoned attempts to camp for the Bank Holiday weekend.
We used the restaurant once.. The meals were tasty, well cooked and the tables clean with friendly helpful staff, the service was a little slow though because of the busy turnover in a large pub environment used by a regular local clientele.

Reviewed by
John O

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stop, don't read the ( few ) negative reviews !
Booked as an overnight break in our journey as we had a very early start the following day .
A little dubious after reading the less than positive reviews and had considering cancelling.
However, pleased we didn't , we were pleasantly surprised.
It had everything required for an overnight stop-over, the room was well equipped , clean and well maintained .
Our chalet style room was set away from main pub / restaurant and was quiet .
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the excellent value restaurant in the evening .

Unfortunately we had to leave before breakfast was served so unable to review that .
( Thank goodness for the "Golden Arches " fast-food chain nearby ! )
DON'T be put off by the few less than positive reviews , we experienced friendly, helpful staff and clean accommodation , what more did we want ?
Happy to return and stay again if our circumstances require.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Inn !
This Inn was a great find, clean, value for money and really friendly staff, nothing was to much trouble. The bed and pillows were so comfy we even asked who supplied them !! Will definitely be staying there again when we visit our friends. Food was of a good standard and hot! Thanks

Reviewed by
G J

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldnt stay here again
The rooms are straight onto a car park like a motel, the lock didnt work on the door which made me feel very unsafe. The room smelt damp and generally dingy.

Reviewed by
E Jeffery

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for an overnight pitstop!!
I have stopped in many different accommodations around the UK on business.
This is a cheap and cheerful and does the job.
The WiFi was poor so didn't help if you need to do business mail and it is in a GPRS area no 3G.
The room had all the normal accoutrements to make a comfortable stay, the rooms have been refurbished recently.
The food at the adjoining Fayre & Square left a lot to be desired. So much so I opted for a McDs breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fine
Booked the night before so had to pay more than probably should have. More of a Motel than a Hotel. Small but usable rooms. great for business. Restaurant (foursquare Group) average food but quick service.

Reviewed by
A Garret

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing to shout about
2 used contraceptives found in the bathroom bin....not what you would expect!
Guttering leaking above door so you cant avoid a shower when you leave the room.
1 out of 3 meals satisfactory - stale (garlic) bread, cold steak.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next