No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black Horse Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, , Maidstone, ME14 3LD
17th century pub/restaurant with award winning food, fine wines and real ale. In the heart of Kent countryside, at the foot of the North Downs. Beautiful gardens with fountains, ponds and alfresco dining on the terrace. Adorned with Kent hops and a lovely open fire place in the winter. Perfect location for walks and only 10 minutes from Leeds Castle. The ideal base for touring Kent or visiting London. Thirty beautiful en suite rooms situated in an annexe, complete with courtyard and fish pond. In an area designated 'area of outstanding natural beauty' there is an excellent network of public footpaths, bridleways and byways. There are scores of places to visit and within walking distance is the Kent country showground with its year round calendar of events. We are now a Freehouse which has been run by the same family for the past 14 years.
Picture of The Black Horse Inn, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant surprise
The room was larger than expected (infact a small chalet) and ha a walk in shower in a huge bathroom. The evening meal of very high quality together with the lovely and fresh breakfast. What stood out to me were the restaurant staff, who appeared to be actually enjoying their work and being at-tentative. Overall a very well run set up.

Reviewed by
B Hill

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night business stay
Nice place 2nd time I have stayed here. Very quiet & peacefull. They cataered easily for my Gluten Free diet. Will always stay here when in the area

Reviewed by
Jerry H

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Black Horse Inn
I have said it before & I will say it again, stayed here before & will stay again if you want quality, reasonably priced, clean rooms with a really good pub then. I think you need to dip your toe in & try.

Reviewed by
S McDonald

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub, food was wonderful, service was good, the room was clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
Matt Waters

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second stay
Always a pleasure staying here, just a note to say on a cold night it would be nice if the heating was on when you got in the room .

Reviewed by
tim field

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Black Horse
The accommodation is in chalets. They were very clean, warm and comfortable with plenty of hot water. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. The restaurant, which is in the pub served excellent a la carte food. A really good base to visit some of the county.

Reviewed by
M Tennick

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much more than a Pub
Excellent dining at a Pub with rooms, set in it's grounds in lodge style blocks. Some have been there a while but the insides look very modern, and ours was clean, crisp and a delight to stay in.
A great credit to the team who manage the accommodation, so often good fittings are let down by poor maintenance, not here!!
The food was excellent, and considering we were here just before Christmas, the quality and service was all that could we could have asked. Great will, definitely consider staying here again.

Reviewed by
Mervyn D

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
A little off the beaten track but well worth a stay. Good sized room with interesting furnishings, clean and warm. Good food and helpful staff, overall a charming place to stay and good value for money

Reviewed by
John C

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Black Horse Inn
We love eating and staying at the black horse, always very friendly atmosphere, great selection of food and always very good service, great staff. Rooms are very clean and cosy, all you need for a relaxing nights stay. Back soon !

Reviewed by
Niel Khambay

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing find!
As a business traveller, it's great to search for these gems of Hotels rather than the normal Premier Grim. The Black Horse is away from the beaten track but well worth finding. The staff are excellent, extremely friendly. The rooms are all you need you need but what really makes it is the food! Simply stunning. The pub meals are fantastic and a great range of real ales as well. The breakfast was also superb.

Reviewed by
Andy C

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next