No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black Horse Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, , Maidstone, ME14 3LD
17th century pub/restaurant with award winning food, fine wines and real ale. In the heart of Kent countryside, at the foot of the North Downs. Beautiful gardens with fountains, ponds and alfresco dining on the terrace. Adorned with Kent hops and a lovely open fire place in the winter. Perfect location for walks and only 10 minutes from Leeds Castle. The ideal base for touring Kent or visiting London. Thirty beautiful en suite rooms situated in an annexe, complete with courtyard and fish pond. In an area designated 'area of outstanding natural beauty' there is an excellent network of public footpaths, bridleways and byways. There are scores of places to visit and within walking distance is the Kent country showground with its year round calendar of events. We are now a Freehouse which has been run by the same family for the past 14 years.
Picture of The Black Horse Inn, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Black Horse Inn
We love eating and staying at the black horse, always very friendly atmosphere, great selection of food and always very good service, great staff. Rooms are very clean and cosy, all you need for a relaxing nights stay. Back soon !

Reviewed by
Niel Khambay

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing find!
As a business traveller, it's great to search for these gems of Hotels rather than the normal Premier Grim. The Black Horse is away from the beaten track but well worth finding. The staff are excellent, extremely friendly. The rooms are all you need you need but what really makes it is the food! Simply stunning. The pub meals are fantastic and a great range of real ales as well. The breakfast was also superb.

Reviewed by
Andy C

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country hotel
Could not fault this hotel at all. The friendly, welcome from receptionist was the start of a really good overnight stay here. Room was very clean and comfortable with good en-suite.
Food and beer in evening were both very high quality, as was the breakfast and service.
I would not hesitate to recommend The Black Horse to anyone.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing characterful pub woth good food!

Reviewed by
Mike F

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem
I stay in a lot of hotels as I travel with work a lot.
I loved this one.
The room I was in had a day bed, which meant you had a sofa to sit on and watch TV, instead of like many rooms where you have to site on the bed.
The staff were really friendly and the food was amazing.
Breakfast was great too.
I cant really find anything to fault, maybe if your not that mobile you'd ask for a room near the top, as there is a slight hill, but the walk as good for me to work off all the lovely food I'd eaten.

Reviewed by
Kirsty M

From Thrapston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful
This gave us exactly what we needed - a quiet base for visiting places from. We asked for a quiet room and so were actually given one in the far corner of the site with windows facing out into the wood. It was therefore a little dark, but very good. The lighting in the room was a little low, but the room was spacious and had an extra bed settee in, which was very comfy. Instructions for the remote controls were short, precise and good!!!! Breakfast was completely adequate and fine. Slightly pricey for the night, but it is the south east after all!

Reviewed by
S Walton

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Lovely place to stay - accommodation was roomy - food was excellent. Went on a couple of walks - the only criticism is that the walking guides provided needed updating as they were apparently done about 6 years ago and landmarks such as a village post office were no longer in existence. When we mentioned it to the receptionist she endeavoured to get her walking boots out at the weekend to check the routes. Both receptionists we had dealings with were very friendly and helpful. A website (not theirs) mentioned that they hire bikes as we did think about doing a couple of cycle rides - however they no longer hire them. The location of the pub is within reach of Leeds Castle, Rochester and Maidstone so lots of things to do and see.

Reviewed by
pamela g

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Lovely country style pub with a good selection of Real Ales. Good quality food served in the bar and a nice breakfast to boot (would have preferred the bacon un-smoked though). Biggest plus point was working wifi without having to sell your soul to gain access. The room was a comfortable size and in a nice setting, the bed was a little uncomfortable but got quite a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
K BROOKS

From WISBECH, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleased
We were amazed at the size of the room we had. For the price, it was excellent and we loved the fact that we could park the car right outside the room.
The food was lovely and the service was wanderful.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhere that isn't a Premier Inn
Having grown tired of the same old same old, and a change of job to boot ?? I thought I'd change to something different. Am so glad I did. Super everything, already booked another room for next visit.
Room was clean, quiet and well apportioned. The Inn itself was superb and the food exceptional.
Only drawback !! Peroni £4.95 a pint. Never get that back on expenses ......ah well can't have it all.

Reviewed by
Craig Y

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next