No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quay Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
DEGANWY QUAY , CONWY, LL31 9DJ
Set on the banks of the Conwy Estuary, The Quay Hotel and Spa offers 74 en-suite luxury rooms most with private balconies or terrace areas overlooking the Zen court yard, Deganwy marina or the Conwy estuary. The Award winning 2 AA Rosette Grill Room restaurant offers a wide choice of dishes made with the finest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy Traditional Afternoon Tea or light snacks in the Grill Bar.

Take a seat on the Vista terrace, a fantastic place to relax and enjoy alfresco dining, it also offers the most breath taking views of the Estuary and nearby mountains. A fine place to watch the world go by. Private dining is also available in one of our magnificent banqueting and conference suites. The largest can hold up to 240 guests. There is an on-site Spa, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym. There is also plenty of free car parking on site and free Wi-Fi in all areas.

The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breathtaking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Conwy Golf Course, North Wales links Golf courses and Maesdu golf course. A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff and more, it really is a hotel that easily accessible from all areas.

Picture of Quay Hotel & Spa, CONWY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at The Quay
Lovely break in this perfectly situated hotel. great spacious room and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
v marr

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough place, let down by indifferent staff and lack of attention to detail
My partner and I stayed here for his 33rd birthday, arriving on NYD. We were pleased that it was easy to find and there was plenty of free parking. The location is reasonably good, since it is within walking distance of Conwy (30 mins) and an easy drive to the wonders of the national park (30-45 mins depending on where you're going). It has pretty views of the estuary, boats and hills, and good facilities including a warm and relaxing pool, gym, steam room etc. There is also a little pub on the hill just a short walk away if you want a break from the hotel bar - which is not cheap and had no ale on for the whole duration of our stay (much to the dismay of my boyfriend!).
There was a long wait on arrival to get checked in, but we were early, and they text us to say when the room was ready, which was appreciated. Most of the staff were polite and friendly, in particular the breakfast team. The breakfast selection was good too...although I did have a dirty spoon one morning. In fact a couple of times we had dirty bits of crockery.
We only ate in the restaurant once and I was pretty disappointed by the service. Our booking was at 20:30 but it was 21:10 by the time our wine arrived. In addition to this, the side dish I ordered never arrived and there was no apology from the disinterested waitress. It's little things like that that let this hotel down a bit for us, like when I asked if the wine I’d ordered from the bar one night had been open a few days (it tasted off) and was told ‘it’s probably just crap wine.’
The room was spacious and comfortable which is the most important thing; it was quiet and had good black out curtains so we slept very well. The room also had nice views and a little patio with a table and chairs which would have been nice had the weather been warmer.
All in all, we had a mostly pleasant stay, although if I came back to the region again, I'd probably look to stay somewhere more cosy and a little less corporate feeling, somewhere a little closer to the action - although sadly that may mean sacrificing the pool and spa. I also wouldn't advise coming in January, the wind was blowing a terrible gale and the rain and cold meant we could not make the most of the outside area and views. I imagine this hotel could be better appreciated in summer months.

Reviewed by
s saunter

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
This was just an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast and unfortunately we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities. We were much struck by how friendly and helpful all the staff were. The room was lovely and the food excellent. Very pretty location.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful, attentive staff in a beautifully appointed hotel

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aniversary
Staff exelent cusromer service. Food lovely next time recomend eating in the bar not the restraunt.
Restraunt food very expensive. bar meal more choice.
Accomodation very comfortable. Shower could do with a re-vamp shower had loose fittings and did not have enough power to water the plants in your window boxes. Overall it was a welcoming atmospher and will visit again

Reviewed by
C Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in a beautiful setting but the restaurant is disordered
This hotel is kept really well and is in a stunning setting. Sitting with a drink overlooking the bay was a total delight. The room was very nice and well maintained. The staff were very friendly. The gym is small but perfectly adequate and has everything you need and I loved the hydrotherapy pool. My wife and I also had a massage which was lovely. However, the organisation in the restaurant is a shambles. On one night our deserts were still frozen and on another they lost our booking then it took them ages to take our order and bring the food and certain basics such as bringing some condiments when we asked for them or a steak knife after we ordered steaks were missed. That said, the breakfasts were really very nice. So apart from the restaurant it was a great stay!

Reviewed by
Philip C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location in Deganwy.
The bedroom was lovely,and the bed large enough and long enough to almost lose your partner!
My only critism was that we found it hard to enter our delightful room.The card system was not all that efficient and we had to call for help several times.
The whole area was truly delightful and to gaze at Conwy castle and the mountains an unforgettable experience.You have a truly unforgettable hotel.

Reviewed by
B Doherty

From Bishops Stortford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location, great staff
a stunning location- the sunset view from the terrace bar is breath taking. Like pink Floyd track. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bar great, food very good and staff accomadating with specific requests.

Reviewed by
a macnamara

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service, poor food and overpriced
Very disappointing. I grew up in North Wales and was looking forward to a relaxing night away with my partner. We usually stay in the Chester Grosvenor when we travel up North from London but we decided to visit the Quay. The staff clearly couldn't cope with a wedding and a busy bar which left us feeling neglected!! At one point a drunk wedding guest was leaning on my chair, surely the guests had their own function room and bar! Drinks were slow and the evening meal was awful (rare not medium steak and onion ash potato which tasted like lumps of charcole!!). The pool was cold and jacuzzi even colder! Quite upsetting really as this was a rare night without our son so we were looking forward to a relaxing experience. Sorry to say we won't be visiting here again...

Reviewed by
R H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way
Great hotel very friendly staff made us feel at home as soon as we enterd the hotel, the room was great spotless comfortable and spaciuos. the returant was excellent great choice, qualitty and presentation could not have been better, only a short stay this time but felt I did not want to leave will be back.

Reviewed by
G Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next