No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quay Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
DEGANWY QUAY , CONWY, LL31 9DJ
Set on the banks of the Conwy Estuary, The Quay Hotel and Spa offers 74 en-suite luxury rooms most with private balconies or terrace areas overlooking the Zen court yard, Deganwy marina or the Conwy estuary. The Award winning 2 AA Rosette Grill Room restaurant offers a wide choice of dishes made with the finest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy Traditional Afternoon Tea or light snacks in the Grill Bar.

Take a seat on the Vista terrace, a fantastic place to relax and enjoy alfresco dining, it also offers the most breath taking views of the Estuary and nearby mountains. A fine place to watch the world go by. Private dining is also available in one of our magnificent banqueting and conference suites. The largest can hold up to 240 guests. There is an on-site Spa, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym. There is also plenty of free car parking on site and free Wi-Fi in all areas.

The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breathtaking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Conwy Golf Course, North Wales links Golf courses and Maesdu golf course. A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff and more, it really is a hotel that easily accessible from all areas.

Picture of Quay Hotel & Spa, CONWY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location, great staff
a stunning location- the sunset view from the terrace bar is breath taking. Like pink Floyd track. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bar great, food very good and staff accomadating with specific requests.

Reviewed by
a macnamara

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service, poor food and overpriced
Very disappointing. I grew up in North Wales and was looking forward to a relaxing night away with my partner. We usually stay in the Chester Grosvenor when we travel up North from London but we decided to visit the Quay. The staff clearly couldn't cope with a wedding and a busy bar which left us feeling neglected!! At one point a drunk wedding guest was leaning on my chair, surely the guests had their own function room and bar! Drinks were slow and the evening meal was awful (rare not medium steak and onion ash potato which tasted like lumps of charcole!!). The pool was cold and jacuzzi even colder! Quite upsetting really as this was a rare night without our son so we were looking forward to a relaxing experience. Sorry to say we won't be visiting here again...

Reviewed by
R H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way
Great hotel very friendly staff made us feel at home as soon as we enterd the hotel, the room was great spotless comfortable and spaciuos. the returant was excellent great choice, qualitty and presentation could not have been better, only a short stay this time but felt I did not want to leave will be back.

Reviewed by
G Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
Beautiful location, comfortable, modern and welcoming hotel. Relaxing yet a short walk to Conwy, and in striking distance to visit Anglesey.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid - over priced, very average food and service. Nice location and room
This was a real disappointment. The food was incredibly bad. I had the 'fish' burger. This was supposed to be a salmon fillet. It was half of one if that. It said it came with salad. It came with 1 piece of manky lettuce and a slice of tomato. So called spicy sauce was supermarket style sweet chilli sauce. I asked for boiled potatoes instead of chips. I got 3 minute potatoes slathered in butter. 3! They were almost embarrassed on the plate plus they didn't get the point about the diet I mentioned. This was all for just under 20 pounds. On too of that it made me feel physically sick and I almost vomited after. That was the food which could have been a bad day for chef and if they had recited in any way then I probably wouldn't have posted.
Service or almost lack of interest was what really annoyed me and which has prompted me to write something online for first time. When I asked where the salad was the waitress pointed at the lettuce leaf! When I asked if you thought it was good value for 20 pounds she shrugged. Then the manager or more senior person came over and asked if I enjoyed it. I asked if he really cared what I thought, he didn't respond. Then I told him that it was not nice and also over priced. You would get better at Wetherspoons 2 for fiver. I also saw other peoples food and it looked very average. Bear in mind my dish was one of the cheaper end available after 7. The manager didn't react at all. He didn't apologise, ask if he could replace, make right or do anything. Basic customer service. He just walked away. Then unbelievably another waitress came over and asked me if I liked it, I said no. Again nothing was done. I felt nauseous at this point so I went to my room.
Then the next morning at Breakfast, I ordered poached eggs on toast. 30 minutes later I asked where they were. They were rude and it was as if I was in the wrong for asking for my breakfast (bare in mind restaurant was very quiet as off season)! It turned out they had forgotten to order so I then had to wait some more.
Then checking out, they asked if I enjoyed stay. Again I said no and the reasons why! There was no reaction, no effort to appease. I was in town on business. However, if I was on a holiday I would have exploded. The apathy encountered was incredible across the board. I will never return there and I if everybody was treated as I was then I will assume that nobody will return in due course.

Reviewed by
J Dawson

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay at the Quay Hotel and Spa
Both me and my wife had a relaxing spa break at the Hotel - the staff were pleasant, the facilities were great and my wife had a great spa treatment!

Reviewed by
Z Jiva

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous

Reviewed by
charles bond

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation not as good as expected
Sadly disappointed with the room. Entrance to the accommodation was dusty with dead spiders left on the floor for the whole two days of stay. Bedroom - the bed was too big for the room and would not allow the curtains to be opened or the wardrobe to be opened properly. NO AIRCONDIONING. Mini bar not stocked. No privacy due to the kids playing outside the room. The hotel is more like a Costa Del Sol family hotel not what I would normally call a stylish 4*. Basically the staff were very friendly and helpful and made up for the functional failings. The accommodation was sadly lacking in design for functionality and lacked privacy with communal gardens allowing children to play outside when trying to relax. I did try to find a manager but had to go out and never got to speak to anyone.

Reviewed by
Alun Parry

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good stay
The only down side was the spa pool was cold and unwelcoming.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, but some points to bear in mind from a Grumpy Old Woman
A superb outlook from the terrace and very courteous staff. I had hoped for a first floor room, ours was on the ground floor overlooking the end of the courtyard consequently it felt very public with other guests wandering about and sometimes calling loudly to each other. The weather and the room were stifling and we were reluctant to sleep with the patio door open - it just didn't feel secure. Fortunately a fan was provided when we asked. Thank you reception staff.
The bar and terrace were always very busy but staff were very prompt and pleasant in their attention.
I did not give full marks for cleanliness only because there was gunk around the bath handle joints and corner of the shower screen. Yes, I know I am pernickety but there we are! And isn't it better to know?
The main difficulty for us, was when there was a conflict between different guests' needs. There was a wedding party on the Saturday afternoon and evening and I did not appreciate one small boy's idea of fun which was to pour water over the first floor balcony onto customers beneath. I was not alone in feeling annoyed. Nor did I like loud pounding beats coming through speakers onto the terrace during both evenings; although I am sure that for other guests, this added to their enjoyment.
Breakfast was good and well cooked. I am probably alone in thinking it could have been hotter. We had dinner both evenings which was fine and had a variety of price scales. Drinks were expensive but I guess that's the case in most places like this.
Would I stay again? Maybe, if I knew I was not sharing space with another wedding!
Would I recommend it to a friend? Well, that really would depend on the friend; some of my friends would love it but others would prefer a quieter ambience. The question fields following this review are not entirely appropriate given my comments. I would have like the option of maybe, well that depends.............

Reviewed by
Joyce C

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next