Reviews - Quay Hotel & Spa



Price From 206.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Alan W

  • October 2015

A very welcoming two day break in a fine Hotel the staff looked after us superbly and very polite

Would be very intrested in any offers in the future

  • Carl W

  • August 2015

Great hotel

  • Sharon P

  • May 2015

Stunning views, luxury hotel

Stayed for the night of a friends wedding.

Our room overlooked the estuary, the views were stunning with a veranda to sit out and enjoy them. Staff were lovely and several of them couldn't do enough to help. It is not cheap to stay here (B&B) and neither are the services or food and alcohol, as the best man's speech inferred at £5 a pint, it was a good job the groom was only doing it once. That being said we will be going back at some point.

  • H Griffiths

  • April 2015

Birthday surprise

I booked a surprise night for my husband's 40th so was hoping for something we'd both remember.

I chose an Executive room because of the views and Eeeeve not disappointed - infact we couldn't have wished for better. From the moment we walked in to the hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. We went up to our room and it was fantastic - spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with a huge super king sized bed. I'd requested a balcony as it was a special occasion and not only did we get a balcony my husband had a card and 2 birthday cupcakes waiting for him, a lovely gesture from the hotel. We really couldn't fault the room and we were so lucky with the weather - perfect view to enjoy a glass of prosecco. We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Great service and lovely food - especially the dessert. Breakfast was fantastic. So much choice and again great service. We left feeling extremely full. We would stay here again without a doubt and have already recommended to friends and family. Thank you for a fantastic stay - wish it had been for longer.

  • William H

  • April 2015

A relaxing break in a lovely hotel

The Quay Hotel is a lovely hotel set in magnificent surroundings.

Having stayed now on several occasions, it never disappoints but there are a few things need tweaking. The car park seems to be awash with broken car window glass - many parking bays are simply unusable for fear of destroying tyres and during our stay no-one ever brushed the pieces up. The rooms are excellent (we have always ensured that by executive room/suite choice we have always had a river view. Room service is very expensive and £4 charge makes a burger & chips nearly £20. A few little niggles but overall an excellent hotel.

  • Nerys J

  • March 2015

A hotel in Wales?

This hotel is in the heart of Welsh speaking Wales.

The managers are losing an important opportunity to include any use of the Welsh language within the hotel in the form of bilingual signs/ menus etc. The staff who could speak or understand Welsh seemed reluctant to use it with the numerous Welsh speaking guests that were staying there. For those who did not speak Welsh, the use of the Welsh for 'thank you' and any other common social phrases would have displayed a respect for the language of our country with those of us who were clearly Welsh speakers. I would stay here again in the hope that the suggestions made here were given serious consideration and adjustments made accordingly.

  • s saunter

  • January 2015

Nice enough place, let down by indifferent staff and lack of attention to detail

My partner and I stayed here for his 33rd birthday, arriving on NYD.

We were pleased that it was easy to find and there was plenty of free parking. The location is reasonably good, since it is within walking distance of Conwy (30 mins) and an easy drive to the wonders of the national park (30-45 mins depending on where you're going). It has pretty views of the estuary, boats and hills, and good facilities including a warm and relaxing pool, gym, steam room etc. There is also a little pub on the hill just a short walk away if you want a break from the hotel bar - which is not cheap and had no ale on for the whole duration of our stay (much to the dismay of my boyfriend!). There was a long wait on arrival to get checked in, but we were early, and they text us to say when the room was ready, which was appreciated. Most of the staff were polite and friendly, in particular the breakfast team. The breakfast selection was good too...although I did have a dirty spoon one morning. In fact a couple of times we had dirty bits of crockery. We only ate in the restaurant once and I was pretty disappointed by the service. Our booking was at 20:30 but it was 21:10 by the time our wine arrived. In addition to this, the side dish I ordered never arrived and there was no apology from the disinterested waitress. It's little things like that that let this hotel down a bit for us, like when I asked if the wine I’d ordered from the bar one night had been open a few days (it tasted off) and was told ‘it’s probably just crap wine.’

The room was spacious and comfortable which is the most important thing; it was quiet and had good black out curtains so we slept very well. The room also had nice views and a little patio with a table and chairs which would have been nice had the weather been warmer. All in all, we had a mostly pleasant stay, although if I came back to the region again, I'd probably look to stay somewhere more cosy and a little less corporate feeling, somewhere a little closer to the action - although sadly that may mean sacrificing the pool and spa. I also wouldn't advise coming in January, the wind was blowing a terrible gale and the rain and cold meant we could not make the most of the outside area and views. I imagine this hotel could be better appreciated in summer months.

  • v marr

  • January 2015

Great stay at The Quay

Lovely break in this perfectly situated hotel.

great spacious room and friendly helpful staff.

  • Linda H

  • December 2014

Overnight Stay

This was just an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast and unfortunately we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities.

We were much struck by how friendly and helpful all the staff were. The room was lovely and the food excellent. Very pretty location.

  • Mike W

  • November 2014

Helpful, attentive staff in a beautifully appointed hotel